Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 18 Sep 2019, 13:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Talking Clock
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2011, 21:16    Post subject:  

Updated the script to fix problem running in Slacko53

see first post for new saytime-1.1.pet

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2011, 22:30    Post subject: installed Talking Clock but GUI locks the desktop  

Running SLACKO 5.3.

Downloaded the Tlaking Clock.PET. But, when Menu > System > Set Time Config brings the GUI onto desktop, clicking "Play" or ... locks the destkop.

Not sure why?

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 05:03    Post subject: Re: installed Talking Clock but GUI locks the desktop  

gcmartin wrote:
Running SLACKO 5.3.

Downloaded the Tlaking Clock.PET. But, when Menu > System > Set Time Config brings the GUI onto desktop, clicking "Play" or ... locks the destkop.

Not sure why?

Hope this helps


Strange thats what happened with me , thats why I updated to version 1.1, it's working for me.
I'm using Slacko to post this and the clock is working fine, originally it didn't work from the menu but worked by going to the install directory and running it there.
I'll have to test it on a clean boot again, oh! you didn't say which version you installed , you may have got the old one before I updated it.

Anyway I'll sort it out.

Geoffrey

edit: I just tried it again with a fresh boot, working fine with version 1.1, I assume that you must of used the old version 1.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8707
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 08:29    Post subject:  

Hi Geoffrey

Working fine here.. guess what pup I'm running? Smile

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 12:14    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hi Geoffrey

Working fine here.. guess what pup I'm running? Smile

Cheers


Hi 01micko,

Good, yeah I didn't think it was broken again, I had to put ampersands on the end of the button commands to stop the lockup,

which I neglected to do in the previous version, I also put a system link in /usr/bin, I didn't put a great deal of thought into it originally,

I've had few more Ideas for it, but need to see how things pan out before implementing them.

Apart from the wav files I'm trying to keep so that nothing else is needed other than what is in puppy already.

Well what I am looking at doing is different sound file packages that can be selected,

as well as a spoken format change to make more pleasing to the ear, this may take a while to do

Now Sean Connery would be a nice sounding clock, does anyone know him Laughing

Geoffrey

PS: this what I was thinking of

Words required for a talking clock:

THE TIME IS NOW
AM (optional for other functions)
PM (optional for other functions)
NOON
MIDNIGHT
IN THE MORNING
IN THE AFTERNOON
IN THE EVENING
AT NIGHT
OH
ONE
TWO
THREE
FOUR
FIVE
SIX
SEVEN
EIGHT
NINE
TEN
ELEVEN
TWELVE
THIRTEEN
FOURTEEN
FIFTEEN
SIXTEEN
SEVENTEEN
EIGHTEEN
NINETEEN
TWENTY
THIRTY
FOURTY
FIFTY

If only I had good voice Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 15:24    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
If only I had good voice
I know several women for that job; would you like Professional or "Slinky". And, which language.

As for Sean Connery, I have several friends who could do an impersonation for this. Would you want the English or the Australian version.

Talking Clock
I used the version you had suggested to me a week ago (1.0 I believe). I'll get the latest today. and try that

Check your PM.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 04:03    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
I know several women for that job; would you like Professional or "Slinky". And, which language.

As for Sean Connery, I have several friends who could do an impersonation for this. Would you want the English or the Australian version.

Talking Clock
I used the version you had suggested to me a week ago (1.0 I believe). I'll get the latest today. and try that

Check your PM.


gcmartin,

I think a Professional sounding English voice as I'm guessing some other languages syntax would have to be applied differently

To make it Australian one only needs to put the word mate at the end of every sentence, a joke Laughing

For instance, Google translate tells me English the time is now 5:07 in the morning to German Jetzt ist die Zeit in den Morgen 05.07

If the language needs to be applied in a different way then that means a modified script specifically for that language is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 07:39    Post subject:  

Updated first post with a new version of the talking clock, for testing.

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 09:48    Post subject:  

Hi Geoffrey,
converted 1.2 to a .pet and installed - all seems to be working fine for me on Exprimo 5x9 (no cron job added though?) different voices and effects work - i like the effects sounds like a train station Smile

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 10:38    Post subject:  

Hi stu90,

yeah , just noticed, it needs the pinstall.sh from version 1.1 to be added to the pet.

here is a copy, just remove the .gz, it may need to be made executable, hope you find it interesting, I found it hard to find any
voice files online and I have nothing here to make a decent recording with, though I will find someone to do it I'm sure.

Here's a list of words and associated wav files that would be needed to make it fully functional.

the files are all RIFF (little-endian) data, WAVE audio, Microsoft PCM, 8 bit, mono 8000 Hz

Code:

O'CLOCK                     oclock.wav

THE TIME IS NOW       announce_time.wav

IN THE MORNING        morning.wav

IN THE AFTERNOON     afternoon.wav

IN THE EVENING         evening.wav

AT NIGHT                   night.wav

NOON                        noon.wav

MIDNIGHT                  midnight.wav

PM                             pm.wav

AM                             am.wav

OH                             0.wav

ONE                           1.wav

TWO                          2.wav

THREE                        3.wav

FOUR       and so on

FIVE

SIX

SEVEN

EIGHT

NINE

TEN

ELEVEN

TWELVE

THIRTEEN

FOURTEEN

FIFTEEN

SIXTEEN

SEVENTEEN

EIGHTEEN

NINETEEN

TWENTY

THIRTY

FORTY

FIFTY
pinstall.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pinstall.sh.gz 
Filesize  94 Bytes 
Downloaded  331 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 09:09    Post subject:  

If a keyboard key is wanted to activate say time here is a binding for the right windows key.

Go to /root/.config/openbox/ and edit the rc.xml, look down the file to <keyboard> and add this code
Code:
<keybind key="Super_R"><action name="Execute"><startupnotify><enabled>true</enabled><name>saytime</name></startupnotify><command>say_clock_time</command></action></keybind>


you can change that to the left key, key="Super_L"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 07 Nov 2011, 03:17    Post subject: How to best install V1.2  

In the Opening Post, 2 images of Talking Clock are shown. How did you get the [b]saytime.jpg[/b] (it shows V1.2?

I installed the PET. Then I expanded the TAR and copied it to /USR replacing the files in the bin and share folders. But, the Menu does NOT launch the Window you show.

What must I do? Wouldn't a PET take care of the need for any manual steps?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2011, 10:21    Post subject: Re: How to best install V1.2  

gcmartin wrote:
In the Opening Post, 2 images of Talking Clock are shown. How did you get the [b]saytime.jpg[/b] (it shows V1.2?

I installed the PET. Then I expanded the TAR and copied it to /USR replacing the files in the bin and share folders. But, the Menu does NOT launch the Window you show.

What must I do? Wouldn't a PET take care of the need for any manual steps?


You shouldn't have installed a pet, that's the old one, it needs to be uninstalled, the structure is different with this version,

I wasn't going to bother with it as it was only to test, I plan on uploading a new one by weeks end, this will be a pet package hopefully with a surprise if all goes to plan,

but if you wish to try 1.2 you need to remove the old version possibly manually remove /usr/share/talking_clock and the system links in /usr/bin/ before installing 1.2,

the next version will be slightly different again so that it makes it easier to uninstall,

the way it is now is that it leaves the directory structure intact because of the wav files that are left in the data directory,

I'm new at this and make a few mistakes along the way, but bare with me, I'll sort it out,

well it is a project, so there is bound to be a few errors along the way, but nothing that can't be fixed easily. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 798
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2011, 22:16    Post subject: 4-bit  

Geoffrey wrote:

can anyone tell me if there is anything available for linux to do the convertion to 4bit ?


In my cloud-App.pet I have this site listed. Have used it often for various conversions and it works very well!

http://www.online-convert.com/

At their site they say:

This free online file converter lets you convert media easy and fast from one format to another. We support a lot of different source formats, just try. If you can't find the conversion you need, please let us know and write us an e-mail. We probably can help you...

I believe this team might be able to help you out? "Good Luck."

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2011, 23:59    Post subject: Re: 4-bit  

sszindian wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:

can anyone tell me if there is anything available for linux to do the convertion to 4bit ?


In my cloud-App.pet I have this site listed. Have used it often for various conversions and it works very well!

http://www.online-convert.com/


sszindian,

I had a look but no 4bit wav conversions, I was looking for this clock app just trying to reduce the size a little more,
but I did find somewhere else to do it but aplay won't play them because they use compression and the size difference was of no benefit,
so bit of a lost cause really, but thanks for the thought.

The thing that made me look at trying this is the fact that I have a CD with all the Beatles albums on it in 4bit wav file audio,
complete with a frontend and album covers that plays in windows., it must be from the early 90's before mp3s caught on.

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0655s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]