Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 02:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-521 (October 12, 2011)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 11 [162 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3645
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 20:23    Post subject:  

@Hans. You may want to post your .srt so that we can test.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2011, 05:33    Post subject: vlc-1.1.11 pet
Subject description: no srt subs
 

Thanks for the help gcmartin,

Attached is the srt of the first tutorial, in fact, it is a downloaded srt from 'back to the future II ' and I filled it with my own text later on after I tested it, same result though. And as I found out later it does not matter, an srt kan be a simple text file renamed to 'same-name-as-mpeg.srt', placed in the same folder as the mpeg.

Works well in all but 1.1.11

I hope you find the culprit!

cheers,
Hans
01-Wat gaan we doen.png
Description  rename to '01-Wat gaan we doen.srt' due to extension restrictions of the forum
png

 Download 
Filename  01-Wat gaan we doen.png 
Filesize  3.21 KB 
Downloaded  185 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2011, 14:44    Post subject: Request for usb_modeswitcher  

I have discovered a request in the beginner's forum for the usb_modeswitch utility for hybrid USB modems. I have a package ready to go for 32-bit puppies, but I gather that it should not be used in the 64-bit environment. Since I do not yet have a 64-bit PC to work on, could someone in this thread compile it and make it into a dotpet package? I see that the instructions are already provided by fatdog.

The source package is here:
http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/usb-modeswitch-1.2.1.tar.bz2

The data package for it is here:
http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/usb-modeswitch-data-20111023.tar.bz2

To compile the modeswitcher, the only command needed is:
new2dir make install
From inside the source package. Then use dir2pet to create the package. To keep the naming clean, before running dir2pet, change the source directory name to append "-src" and change the generated directory name to match the original name of the source package.

Do the same with the data package, although nothing in it is actually compiled, just installed.

Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2011, 16:54    Post subject: Belated Thank You Billtoo for Wbar  

Hi All, and especially Billtoo:

Thanks Billtoo for the wbar pet. I especially appreciate that it included a config icon and routine for easily installing my own favorite programs. I think your wbar enables giving Fatdog a very "business-like" appearance by reducing desktop clutter. I've enclosed a screenie as an example.

Billtoo's wbar and required imlib2-1.4.5-x86_64 pets can be found here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=573815#573815.

Just a couple of notes to help those interested. When first installed, wbar did not link to fonts on my system nor have a menu entry. I tried to start wbar from the terminal, which is how I discovered the absence of the link to fonts. So I called up rox and browsed to and clicked /usr/bin/wbar, which started it. I then opened another rox window to ~/Startup and created a symlink as I would want wbar to start immediately and also didn't want to take the time to create a desktop-file/menu entry.. With wbar now on my desktop, I clicked the config icon, and then the preferences tab.Noticing that the fonts designation had not been made, I clicked its browse button and set it to one of the fonts at /usr/share/fonts/default/TTF.

Although I'm a big fan of Openbox/fbpanel, especially with DaveS' Launcher pet, I've noticed fbpanel and launcher sometimes have difficulty with applications "installed" to mnt/home, even when a script to call them is created in /my-applications/bin. Wbar doesn't. What's especially handy about the config routine you created are that in installing new icons/apps into it, the icons used can be defined by dragging & dropping them from any opened window, and it is sufficient to define the command to call the application by its name if typing that name into a terminal would start the application.

One last thing: "Happy New Year" everyone.

mikesLr
mydesktop.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  mydesktop.jpg 
Filesize  116.79 KB 
Downloaded  219 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2011, 19:06    Post subject:  

mikeslr

I see you like a partition or 2, then?... Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 00:34    Post subject:  

@ rerwin, first hurdle

./usb_modeswitch_dispatcher /usr/bin/tclsh: bad interpreter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 00:45    Post subject: Avidemux, Roxterm pets
Subject description: looking for a pet
 

Has anyone ever made Roxterm and Avidemux for Fatdog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 18:04    Post subject:  

Aung,
Thanks for working on usb_modeswitch. Maybe we can resolve the interpreter problem. First, check for a tcl interpreter in fatdog64. I assume none is there. To find out, enter:
which tclsh

Assuming there is none, please compile the "Jim" mini tcl interpreter used in puppy. I found it in the puppy source repository:
http://bkhome.org/sources/alphabetical/j/jimtcl-0.63.tar.gz
(puppy, linux).

From its readme file I see that to compile it ready for creation of a dotpet requires only this:
Code:
./configure
new2dir make


Let's hope that is all it takes to get going.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 06:44    Post subject:  

@rerwin, ,needed tcl as well as jimsh, used ubuntu .deb's. It maybe 'switching', the CD icon dont appear on the desktop. But there is nothing in resolv.conf and no connection. Cant show you 'pupdial' started from a terminal untill I have Roxterm. Here is a small bit from xterm, ./pupdial : line 483 4655 terminated
strange thing, 4655 is my area code.
Aung

ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: TCT Mobile International Limited
ttyUSB1<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: TCT Mobile International Limited
ttyUSB2<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
===============
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","dodolns1"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","dodolns1"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid login name.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid password.
==========g

Last edited by Aung on Sun 01 Jan 2012, 08:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 08:01    Post subject: term copy paste  

Aung wrote:
I cant copy from Fatdog terminal into Geany or Leafpad, whats the trick. shift + insert dont work. Bacly needing Roxterm!! Aung


from geany to term shift + insert does work
from term to geany shift + insert does not work

default under linux:
-markup text and click middle mouse button, works both ways and is very comfortable to work with.

The shift + insert combination is new to me and I also would like to now if there is an alternate command for 'term to geany'.
On a laptop you have to click both mouse buttons simultaniously and that works a bit awkward. Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 08:26    Post subject:  

@ Hans, hello,
clicking left and right buttons together doesnt make it happen (xterm to geaney) I an sure it used to work in previous Fatdogs. Is there some thing in xorg conf, mouse, that can be changed to fix it. (to emulate middle mouse button, I have a track ball) Aung
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 14:02    Post subject: copy from/to term  

Hello Aung, that's weird, I've been through allmost all fatdog-releases(full-install) and was allways able to use the touchpad-buttons of my laptop to copy from/to term.

And for the trackball...never owned one so no experience on that, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 23:27    Post subject:  

Aung,
Quote:
--> Modem initialized.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid login name.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid password.
Do you have "Stupid Mode" selected? That should prevent pupdial from using the logon and password.

Quote:
needed tcl as well as jimsh, used ubuntu .deb's
Jimsh is a cut-down, simplified version of the tcl interpreter. So you should not need the full tcl. You can use either one. But installing both could confuse things, since they are both "tclsh".
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 09:18    Post subject:  

@rerwin
Do you have "Stupid Mode" selected?
Yes, it seams that message is caused by clearing the username and password.
I have tclsh sorted, yes, dont need tcl, but need a short cut from jimsh in usr/sbin to usr/bin then rename to jimsh.
Here is the quirkiest quirk of all quirks, if I unplug the usb modem then replug the modem it wont switch. Have to load XP and load its program, no need to go on the net, unload the program, turn off the modem from the tray properly, then the modem will switch properly in Fatdog.
Now all I need is etc/resolv.conf to do its job. I know from fooling with Puppy 421 that I wont go nowhere until that is 'resolved'. Aung
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 12:07    Post subject:  

Aung wrote:
Here is the quirkiest quirk of all quirks, if I unplug the usb modem then replug the modem it wont switch. Have to load XP and load its program, no need to go on the net, unload the program, turn off the modem from the tray properly, then the modem will switch properly in Fatdog.
Now all I need is etc/resolv.conf to do its job. I know from fooling with Puppy 421 that I wont go nowhere until that is 'resolved'.
I do not know what version of the "hotplug" function is in fatdog. Maybe it is not doing its job. Rebooting with the modem plugged in, though, should trigger the mode switching. And pupdial should handle the setting of /etc/resolv.conf.

I plan to acquire a low-end 64-bit PC soon, so that I can troubleshoot fatdog.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 11 [162 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0838s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]