Developing FirstRUN for Puppy CD's initial boot

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
gcmartin

Developing FirstRUN for Puppy CD's initial boot

#1 Post by gcmartin »

Its no secret that I am a big fan for the Puppy effort(s). It is fabulous to see a community come together and achieve so much. Its a testament to mankind in the kind of innovation thru cooperation Puppy achieves.

I am NOT a developer nor am I a distro builder. I am an implementer and user of technology for practical purposes.

Having been associated with Unix-Linux (and a host of other OSes) over my years, I quickly "got" (meaning "understood") what Shinobar was offering us when I first saw it. FirstRUN.

Linux has added and moved to X from its beginning with text base, There are 4 things that traditionally plague all users over the planet:
LAN, localization, sound, and video.

In the past, users were forced to stop along the way in answering boot-time questions about these things. And, if you got it wrong, you had to search the system for some tool to fix that (probably easy for system developers), or you started all over.

Shinobar fixed this. For the first time, he gave all distro owners a method to allow any user the opportunity to select and change these basis needs in a single screen "FirstRUN" after reaching desktop without having to stop at various times along the way.. He made it so that you no longer had to stop and answer questions just to get to the X desktop. This was a major and "startling" change in booting of today's OS. Just insert CD and go straight to X! FirstRUN completes the tailoring in one place and user begin the system, immediately.

Since the outset, that single screen has had a name change across most distro which employ it now as "Personalize Settings"

For example when this invokes to the desktop, a user knows
  • sound works, when they hear "woof-woof"
  • the name of the PC and They can set it for their needs
  • Time zone needs
  • keyboard needs