Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 07:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 34 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 12:18    Post subject:  

For Testing - Latest Versions

Srware Iron 16 -> ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/iron-16.0.950.0-slacko.pet
Built with Chromium open-source code disabling some "privacy intrusions" that are in Google Chrome. Chrome versus Iron -> http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron_chrome_vs_iron.php

Google Chrome 16 -> ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/google_chrome-16.0.912.63-slacko.pet

Chromium 18 -> ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/chromium-18.0.996.0-slacko.pet The development version of the Chromium code base

TOR-Project Browser bundle -> ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/tor-browser-2.2.35-3-slacko.pet For anonymous browsing, complete with Firefox 9.0.1, HTTPS: Everywhere, and No Script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 16:35    Post subject: Re: USB Install - Also Dual Boot  

linbie wrote:
Hello,

I am newbie - tried Puppy a couple of years ago and still have it as a dual boot with WIN XP on an old (1999) laptop. However would like to experiment a little further with the latest release. My knowledge of linux remains at the novice level.

I have read through most of this thread but still can't get things right.

1. Live CD - No problems works well

2. USB install - cannot get this work. The motherboard has options to install using USB-FDD, USB-HDD or USB-ZIP. Have used the universal installer from the live - CD boot to build the USB flash drive specific to all of the above and have set the bios first boot load option as the USB. Also ensured that the partition on the USB had the boot flag ticked. On all occasions the system just hangs with no error message.

3. Would love to have a dual boot system on my desktop which has two hard drives (C and D). I would like to frugal install Puppy onto the D drive but dual boot from the C drive which has WIN XP. As mentioned my knowledge is at the novice level and I cannot figure out the syntax that would be required for the menu.lst file with respect to the lin'n'win method.

Would using unetbootin (for usb) and the windows installer package available through these forums be useful for the above tasks?


I was never able to create a bootable Puppy USB flash drive until I followed the directions at this wiki:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/InstallationFrugal

I format my flash drives with 2 partitions: 1) ext 4 for Puppy Linux & puppy_save file 2) FAT 32 for data I need to share with both Linux & Windows. I do a frugal-manual install to the flash drive.I use Grub4Dos because I haven't gotten others to work for me. To make your first Puppy USB, you may want to just format the entire drive to ext4 and worry about Windows after you get the hang of creating the flash drive; you can always erase & start over. Make sure you are writing GRUB to the flash drive, not your hard drive. Some people have reported issues with larger flash drives; I use 2Gb & 4Gb flash drives. Best of luck!

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 20:00    Post subject:  

Aitch wrote:
linbie

Run puppy live CD with the flash drive inserted after booting, you should see an icon down the bottom of the desktop sdb1 with a usb symbol on
Go to the menu/system/gparted, and check that the flashdrive sdb1, is formatted fat32, and the flag is set to bootable [It often isn't, if not set it]
Then, back to desktop, and check to see the Puppy files on the usb drive by clicking on it - rox will open, see if there is a grub4dos, grub or menu.lst there
after, rt click on the drive to unmount it, if it doesn't unmount when closing rox
If OK, then reboot to usb drive, by removing the CD

Aitch Smile


OK - This is what I have tried so far without success

Universal Installer - auto formatting with selecting either USB-HDD, USB-FDD, USB-ZIP or USB-Composite. All of these just hang except USB-ZIP which displays a line quickly (unreadable) before hanging. In the all cases selecting the appropriate setting in BIOS (in fact I have tried all permutation of BIOS settings with the above formats)

Manual formatting with Gparted with Fat 16, Fat 32 and NFTS (in all cases setting the boot flag). Then creating a new directory "puppy" and placing the three frugal install files (from live-CD). Unmounting the USB drive and running grub4DOS. Rebooting with BIOS set to either USB-HDD, USB-FDD or USB-ZIP. In all cases get a response no grldr (it is present on the flash drive) found on any drive with instruction to cntrl/alt/del to restart.

The above have been tried with a 4GB and 2GB flash drives.

The Grub4Dos menu.lst has one entry pdevice=usbflash is this a problem should it something like pdevice=usbhdd (????) - I am just guessing.

Worth trying ext2/4 formats?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 06:54    Post subject:  

Well I've given up with USB booting - tried all suggestions with no luck.

Have installed as a dual boot on C drive using the windows self installer - working fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 09:11    Post subject:  

linbie wrote:
Well I've given up with USB booting - tried all suggestions with no luck.

Have installed as a dual boot on C drive using the windows self installer - working fine.


It's nice to know the Lin'N'Win approach (as used by the Windows self installer) worked in the end.

You solved it before giving me enough time to answer your original query of the menu.lst mods for a Lin'N'Win install on a second D drive.

If I installed to a second D drive I would move the puppy files of the Live CD into a folder /slacko531 on the D drive. Then I would use the following in my menu.lst:

title Slacko Puppy Linux 5.3.1
kernel (hd1,0)/slacko531/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=slacko531
initrd (hd1,0)/slacko53/initrd.gz

It's the (hd1,0) and sdb1, rather than (hd0,0) and sda1, that make it refer to a new drive D.

Notes:
1) this is for a new drive NOT a new partition.
2) I also add 'video=640x480' to the kernel line in order to get a bigger text display at the command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4121
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 18:49    Post subject:  

linbie wrote:
Well I've given up with USB booting - tried all suggestions with no luck.

Have installed as a dual boot on C drive using the windows self installer - working fine.
I think you noted that you were successful in using a Live CD/DVD. I have be a user of this approach for several yeas.

SLACKO offers a suitable use for me and it has been great for saving any PPM packages and any system changes I make. Its extremely fast (RAM based) and its stable (except for glitches I seem to always have with Abiword)

Notable is that I have been running one SLACKO for about 2 weeks constantly. It seems to sleep well, waking up when I need it.

I understand about the problems you have run into. Even though I cannot provide a solution for that, but, if you want a reliable desktop that won't touch your hard-drive, except of course if you want to use its storage, this MAY meet your objective.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 00:21    Post subject:  

Hi folks. I mentioned a Slacko driver issue in a thread on the Beginners forum, and someone suggested that you might want to know about it here in this thread as well.

The device is the Tenda W311U wireless-N USB adapter. It works in Lucid 5.28 but not in Slacko.

Lucid tries to load the rt2800usb module. That one doesn't work. But if you prevent rt2800usb from loading, Lucid also loads the rt2870sta module - and that one works fine when configured with the Network Wizard.

But in Slacko, neither module works. In the Network Wizard, it fails when you click to Scan for wireless networks. The error message is:

Error!
Failed to raise interface wlan0.
Failed command was: ifconfig wlan0 up
Error returned was:
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted



Simple Network Setup shows the wlan0 interface on the list (using either rt2800usb or rt2870sta) but gives the "Failed to activate interface wlan0" error window as soon as you click the wlan0 button.

Hopefully that's enough information to mean something to somebody. I'm also trying out other modules, but so far none of them will run the device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 11:35    Post subject:  

linbie wrote:
Well I've given up with USB booting - tried all suggestions with no luck.

Have installed as a dual boot on C drive using the windows self installer - working fine.



Well I don't give up usually!

Doing the google thing I came across a video demo of how to install a linux version onto a USB. There was nothing new in the video that has not already been mentioned here and on other forums EXCEPT the presenter said he could NOT get the install to work on 5 out 8 USB sticks of various sizes. He also said the he had no explanation as to why!

So going back to my old desk drawers I found an old COBY branded 1GB USB stick. Started Puppy used universal installer on the 1GB stick - presto puppy loads from the USB stick.

Everything works EXCEPT Seamonkey. I can connect to the wireless network. I even get the pop up about installing Flash but cannot get Seamonkey to open (blank screen). Have no idea about this one.

Not content I try to see if I could install another linux distro onto the USB. Tried a bare bones one - SliTaz (quite good for a 30MB iso). I had no luck with the original 2GB (Sony) and 4GB (Imation) USB drives but when loaded onto the 1GB (Coby) - SliTaz also booted from the USB.

I suspect its my motherboard that does not support USB larger than 1GB. Now to sort out the Seamonkey issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5006
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 14:51    Post subject:  

menu->setup->Bootflash install Puppy to USB
Installing Puppy to USB. That is what it is for. That is what it does.
Most computers with any age to them, are looking for a USB flash drive formatted in VFat, (Fat16 or 32) for booting from USB.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fodendaff

Joined: 07 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 18:04    Post subject: slackopuppy5.3 video card crash  

i had a problem with slacko 5.3 maybe this is not relevant as it is no longer a current version but may well be.if not then disregard this post. i had enquired at irc.freenode.net#puppylinux and was pointed here. i would have posted sooner but had trouble with email validations.
i have been running lupu 528 for some months with a creative craphics blaster exxtreme graphics card
Sat 7 Jan 2012 Operating System: Lucid -528 Linux 2.6.33.2
4.0 VGA compatible controller: Texas Instruments TVP4020 [Permedia 2] (rev 01)
oem: Creative Graphics Blaster Exxtreme

X Server: Xorg Driver: glint
X.Org version: 1.7.6
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (313x232 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.60GHz
Core 0: 2591 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
anyway i found that i had to run xorgwizard and follow the menus in a certain order, under lupu528 otherwise the computer would dump me back to the console and not start x server.
the x server would only run with the glint driver and when i tried slacko 5.3 it would not startx at all. i noticed it had no glint driver so i started slacko mounted the lupu_528.sfs file on a directory and copied the glint_drv.so file over to the corresponding directory on slacko5.3 and instead of booting to the x server it would make the computer hang with a green screen and the computer would not reboot from the keyboard only with hard reset. i was advised to transplant the xorg.conf file also which i tried with no improvement and then i copied over the rest of the files in that directory with no improvement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 18:01    Post subject:
Subject description: SCSI support SOLVED
 

I have Slacko 531 scsi downloaded and I did a frugal install of it.
I have a 250 meg SCSI ZIP drive attached to an Adaptec controller that I know Puppy is supposed to have drivers for.
But when I boot the PC, the SCSI device is shown, but when I continue to boot into Slacko 531 SCSI, no drive is found and no SCSI driver gets loaded.
So, do I have to compile a SCSI driver and manually install it?
Something is not right if I do.
Puppy contains or at least is supposed to contain the aic7XXX.ko driver for this SCSI card.
Am I missing something here, or is support for SCSI not included in this release?

I switched to the himem version and it found my SCSI ZIP drive, So I guess all is well.

Beside the point, Slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso is not recognizing my SCSI ZIP drive. So I am assuming that the scsi stuff was inadvertently left out.
It works in the HIMEM version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4121
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2012, 13:26    Post subject:  

Linbie wrote:
... I suspect its my motherboard that does not support USB larger than 1GB. Now to sort out the Seamonkey issue. ...
Although you may have already done this, you might want to click the SlickPET icon on your desktop, go to Pets on its menu-bar, and click the 2nd item in the drop-down. After it completes, you should again in Pets, click the first item, PPM, and there, you will have opportunity to upgrade/fix SeaMonkey under the Internet heading.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 08:47    Post subject:  

Well not only have I got Slacko 5.3.1 booting from a flash drive on an old desktop I have now successfully installed slacko on an old eee PC 701 (4GB) with a 2GB SD card.

Also, have deleted the original linux on the eee PC 701 and replaced it a frugal Slacko 5.3.1 on the SSD.

Details here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=75078
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 21:21    Post subject: SFS Utility problem
Subject description: Sfs-get and SFS-Grabber are too restrictive
 

Hi 01micko,

Sorry if this is a bit off-topic but playdayz suggested that I raise it in this thread, as you are the originator of the Sfs-Get in the Lupu Quickpet.

This isn't an urgent matter, I offer this suggestion in the interest of still further improving the usability of Puppy.

If you are operating without a pupsave file, whether running live or with a frugal install to flash, the sfs-get in 5.2.8 Quickpet will not work. (There are probably other circumstances where it will not work without a pupsave, these are the instances I know about).

The warning message I got with the usb frugal install was that I couldn't do it without being installed. Of course, I was installed. It was the lack of a pupsave that was the real objection.

If this restriction is really necessary, may I suggest that a more precise message would be less confusing to the likes of me?

However, I believe that it would be much better if the restriction could be eliminated altogether. I'm not able to grasp the logic of preventing an sfs download when running without a pupsave. Sfs-get is run with the principal intention of downloading the sfs and placing it in mount/home. Surely you don't need a savefile for that?

Loading is a separate issue. Even then, it is perfectly possible to load on the fly without having a pupsave. It is only the setting up of an sfs to load at boot that usually needs a pupsave file. Only if this is attempted does there need to be any sort of a check.

Some users prefer to run without a pupsave always. There are a number of other situations where it is occasionally useful to do without a save. As things stand, there is no user-friendly way to download sfs files from the 5.2.8 repository when in that mode. There is always a work-around but, IMHO, that's a klugey way to do it and doesn't sit well with 5.x.x's polish. If the restriction isn't necessary, why have it?

PupControl -> PupApps -> SFS Utilities -> SFS-Grabber has the same problem as sfs-get. It appears that the underlying problem is that both utilities want to both download or otherwise grab an sfs file and then, without further ado, schedule the sfs for loading on boot. If the option was given to stop after download, the problem wouldn't arise. If there wasn't a savefile at that stage, stopping appears to be required. (I'm not sure why the bootmanager won't run under pfix=ram. presumably there is a reason?)

May I suggest that eventually these two utilities could converge, together and also with the sfs part of boot manager. Initially, there would be a choice of selecting a file, or a url, or the quickpet repository. Next, the destination directory, obviously in mnt/home, would be chosen or a default accepted. After the get/grab stage was completed, the user could chose to exit, or to load, on the fly and/or on reboot.

To cancel boot loading, the sfs part of the boot manager might also be available from the opening window of the new utility. Having the sfs part of the boot manager available from an sfs utility would also be more user-friendly than having it under a completely different tab in PupControl, as is the case at present.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 04:04    Post subject:  

Finally got around to replacing my full install of Slacko 530 with a fresh install of 531. No problems.
Installed the Nvidia driver and Conky and upgraded SeaMonkey to 2.6.1.All good so far.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.1

Chip description:
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

Driver used by Xorg:
nvidia

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: " 1440x900 " Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
11530 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2305.866 FPS
11810 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2361.890 FPS
11326 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2265.100 FPS
11154 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2230.700 FPS
11711 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2342.121 FPS
11514 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2302.723 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1034MB (124MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 11 Jan 2012 02:02:49 AM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235
Slacko-531.png
 Description   
 Filesize   62.05 KB
 Viewed   3830 Time(s)

Slacko-531.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 34 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1271s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]