Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1 Released
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 19 [283 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 21:21    Post subject:  

playdayz's tor pets run in any puppy I've tried. tor browser bundle will run oob in any puppy I've tried with only one character changed in it's code.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71706

tor always changes your ip and you can add this line "ExitNodes {de}" in the tor torrc configuration file to even specify what country {country code}for your ip.

tor does not recommend running as root as it is easy to break it's provided safety by users adding browser addons.

running as root is supported inside tor as seen in the exert of commands below.


"Shell source file that creates wrappers for convenient usage of tor.

This script creates aliases and wrappers for network programs to direct them through the tor (the onion router) network for anonymity. Since 14th December 2005 this is especially useful in the EU. Just source this file from your ~/.bashrc (add the line ’. tor_aliases’) and continue to use your programs as usual.
Currently these commands (not program suites) are ’torified’:
- telnet
- ssh, scp (not slogin, sftp...)
- BitTorrent (the official one, written in python, not BitComet...)
- irssi
- everything that uses the HTTP_PROXY or http_proxy environment variables:
- KDE
- gpg
- wget
- curl
- svn"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 03:31    Post subject:  

5.3.1 -scsi-main is a considerable innovation. Doesn't require an X restart to activate Flash - nice! No problems so far.
Too much BS about /root /user. Agree with Lob - it's my kit, it's my risk. These control freaks should MYOB. Access to root running is mandatory if there's a lot of file manipulation and transfer to undertake and many of the majors, even including post-9 version of Mint, disallow this. Utterly crazy. Are these guys too indolent to bend down and switch off their router?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 03:40    Post subject:  

Indolent... cool. loadsa syllables. Much nicer than 'lazy' Smile Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 05:04    Post subject:  

Huh! You a mind-reader, DS? Guess which word I chose for the first draft...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 07:03    Post subject:  

I trust them are not lazy, them feel utterly responsible so
allowing us to be root goes against their conscience something.

The way I "install" ubuntu now allow me to do anything even without
doing sudo su or any of that stuff. Okay to reboot I may have to write
sudo reboot but that could be due to me not knowing gnome or kde

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 07:04    Post subject:  

Anyway, the lost sound did not happen to me even after
several reboots so I trust it is related to USB and not
frugal install on NTFS hdd.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 08:35    Post subject:  

NTFS? What's that?
Do we have a Sverige spy in our midst?
Min doter har en Puppy PC.
Hej!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3387
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 14:01    Post subject:
Subject description: Compiz in Slacko?
 

I have tried to get Compiz working with Slacko and run into a bind.
I have installed the Nvidia factory driver for my Nvidia GeForce 6150SE card and installed the packages from Brainwavecentral in Mikes directory of compiz.
With a link to get it to recognize a library file, I got xfce4 going.
But when I boot, Compiz never exits the splash screen to xfce4 with xfce4 being up, but evidently behind the compiz splash screen.
I see it momentarily if I exit to a prompt with alt-ctrl-bkspace.
The menu buttons for edit to prompt and restart x server do not work and the reboot one does not either.
I am evidently missing something here.
But I am beginning to wonder if I was trying to use files for Lupu that may be causing me problems.

Could some one that has got compiz and the fancy graphics working in Slacko steer me to the files I would need.

I have not had compiz working since I installed it in Puppy 3.01 on another computer that is now history.

I do not want to download yet another ISO that promises compiz only to find that it was not set up with an Nvidia graphics card.

I have also tried to boot Slacko from a 16gig USB flash drive on a laptop that came with Windows 7 64 bit and evidently something is trying to use the flash drive for extra memory and messing up the boot.
I can boot from a 4gig flash drive without any problem.

But I should also mention that the 4 gig is set up to boot with no menu.lst file and the 16gig is set up to boot multiple puppies using a menu.lst file.

The same 16gig flash drive boots fine on my desktop that has windows vista on one drive and all puppy files on a second hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 17:10    Post subject:  

Hi 8-bit

just be careful using lucid packages in Slacko.

I usually open a lucid pet and run an ldd on the bins to see what's already in Slacko.

I see the symlink needed is libpcre.so.3. Be aware that native Slackware libwnck would be better and also the lucid package overwrites libxcb-atom and libxcb-event, refresh them from the ro filesystem.

I'm having a bit of a look at this. Compiz doesn't at all depend on xfce, but jwm is definitely not up to it. Actually, you can run it without specifying a wm, a dummy like rxvt can work, proven by dinky with Ripple, just need a compatible oanel, maybe tint2 would work. We'll see what comes of this eh?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3387
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 18:06    Post subject:  

When I saw that dependency, I just made a system link to libpcre.so.0.0.1. I think I got that name right. but that did get me further.
I also installed mesa, but when I would run the nvidia-settings app, it said it could not find SDL to querry for what was installed.
So I may have to revert to Lupu and give it another try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 19:34    Post subject:  

Openshot 1.4 working from JWM
http://puppylinux.info/topic/openshot-14

GROWL security updated to 1.6
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=335216#335216

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 22:11    Post subject:  

8-bit/Mick
Jay is trying to get Compiz working in Lupen, too

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 114
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 23:05    Post subject:  

im sorry every body,
i want to ask a question.
how can i run the .deb package that it can walk in lupu tobe in spup?
maybe some addition library?
i'm a newbe on linux.
thanks your answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 05:59    Post subject:  

All fine on a FS lapy with a 1.7ghz and 1.2 mb ram except for the tapping on touchpad,
i edited the files on /etc/x11 but no go.
Any hints?
Frugal install.

Last edited by bignono1 on Wed 14 Dec 2011, 06:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 06:13    Post subject:  

When installing Legacy GRUB, message 'This is not Linux' appears at first ask. Go 'OK'. Second attempt - no failure message, but GRUB not installed. Third attempt, failure message again, fourth attempt, no failure message, long delay, GRUB directory filled with 'stage' files but no menu.lst.
Phenomenon is reproducible, different systems, usual start-up precautions, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 19 [283 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0799s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]