Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 15 Dec 2019, 16:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
PupSysInfo-2.8.6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13000
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 03:37    Post subject:  

radky wrote:
bigpup,

To show total RAM and all prefetchable RAM on one single line, could you test the attached func file.

Thanks


Here is what I get with this new func file.

Quote:
VGA controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] [10de:1b81] (rev a1)
• Kernel Driver: nvidia
• Memory Used by Driver: 16108.00 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.19.12/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko
• Driver Version: 410.78
• Description: N/A
• Video RAM: 8192 M total, 256M 32M prefetchable

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2019, 13:49    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

Here is what I get with this new func file.

• Video RAM: 8192 M total, 256M 32M prefetchable

Thank you!

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2019, 13:52    Post subject:
Subject description: Pup-SysInfo-2.8.5
 

Pup-SysInfo-2.8.5
- Adjust CPU report: switch from dmidecode to direct parsing of /sys/devices for Min/Max Speed, and /proc/cpuinfo for assessment of Core Count and 64-bit capability
- Adjust Video report: call glxinfo to assess total video memory, and lspci to determine prefetchable video memory

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 965
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 16:04    Post subject:  

On the same Optimus machine, I have tried PupSysInfo in Slacko64-6.3.2.
This is what it gives for display device:
Quote:
====> Video <====

Display Specifications:
+ Screen Dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (341x191 millimeters)
+ Screen Depth: 24 bits (planes)

Xorg Startup Log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
+ Xorg Driver in use: intel
+ Loaded Modules: dbe ddc extmod fb fbdevhw glx int10 kbd mouse shadow vbe vesa
+ X.Org version: 1.14.3

OpenGL 2D/3D Rendering:
+ Direct Rendering: Yes
+ Vendor: Mesa Project
+ Renderer: Software Rasterizer
+ Version: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.7

VGA compatible controller:
+ Intel Corporation Device 1916 (rev 07)
+ Video RAM: 256M prefetchable
I have tried both the original 2.6.3 version and 2.8.5, same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 18:27    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
On the same Optimus machine, I have tried PupSysInfo in Slacko64-6.3.2.

+ Video RAM: 256M prefetchable

Hi foxpup,

PupSysInfo-2.8.5 calls glxinfo to show video memory as part of the extended renderer information defined by GLX_MESA_query_renderer (if supported).

In legacy slacko64-6.3.2, glxinfo does not show extended renderer information, so total VRAM does not appear in the video report of PupSysInfo.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 965
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2019, 13:17    Post subject:  

Hi radky

Thanks for explaining.
I already thought it has to do with other version of glxinfo and/or lspci.
Just thought it was good to mention though.

PupSysInfo is a supertool! Like many others from your hand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2019, 12:48    Post subject:
Subject description: Pup-SysInfo-2.8.6
 

Pup-SysInfo-2.8.6
- Add support for detection of lm85 chipsets in sensors report (assuming kernel support for same)
- Adjust compatibility with recent changes in Woof-CE -- properly parse WOOF_VERSION and os-release in Distro Specs report

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2019, 07:43    Post subject:  

PSI shows always the same current (MAX) speeds for both cores.
FST shows always various current speeds (see screenshot).

So my question is why PSI is showing those values. Is options like eg. Mainboard/CPU or Devices/Sensors are consuming so much CPU power or those values are collected once when PSI starts?
FST_12.30.59.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   115.59 KB
 Viewed   171 Time(s)

FST_12.30.59.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2019, 21:51    Post subject:  

puppy_apprentice wrote:
PSI shows always the same current (MAX) speeds for both cores.
FST shows always various current speeds (see screenshot).

@puppy_apprentice,

The code for assessing CPU 'core speed' is similar in PupSysInfo and wcpufreq (a.k.a CPU Frequency Scaling Tool).

However, PupSysInfo also integrates the 'core speed' with dmidecode data and this may add slightly to the overall CPU load as the report is generated. Possibly, for entry-level processors such as your Celeron N3050, generating the report may result in a transient spike to maximum cpu frequency.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2019, 17:25    Post subject:  

OK. I was afraid that powersafe governor not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0463s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]