Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 16:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Retro Commodore based on Linux Mint
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1914

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 07:24    Post subject:  Retro Commodore based on Linux Mint  

Commodore USA has just released a distro, based on Mint, which caters for fans of their old machines. Have to admit that at first sight I'm tempted, especially for Christmas;
Quote:
"Commodore OS Vision is a community driven Linux distribution for Commodore enthusiasts that is designed to unleash your creative potential and help you enjoy your computing experience to the fullest. Commodore computers were well known for their unique operating environments, so we seek to do the same, by providing a distinctive, attractive, advanced and fun operating system experience. Its look is inspired by the Commodore 64 and original Commodore Amiga Workbench user environments but with a modern spin, which includes many slick graphical effects which showcase the capabilities of our new Commodore machines."

http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_OS_Vision.aspx

And here's the machine it runs on;

I don't think it runs on a normal PC, and the more capable machines it does run on look expensive (the top one is nearly $1500). Still, it's good to see an old face making a comeback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1779

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 07:47    Post subject:  

Speaking of which:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1627945518&t=66626
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 19:37    Post subject:  

I installed it on VBox and everything seems to work fine (but slow), so far.
Unfortunately, there's no KERNEL & KickStart ROMs included (for Vice and UAE) due to copyright issues.

What's on board:
- Vice & UAE, DeluxePaint Clone, MilkyTracker, GoatTracker, SID Player...
- Picasa, Blender, GIMP, Inkscape...
- Firefox, Evolution, Pidgin...
- Libre Office...
- Audiacity, Openshot, VLC, RhytmBox...
...and much more (ISO = 3.77 GB).

Looks like I'll be very busy for next few days Very Happy

Greetings!
CommodoreOS.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.59 KB
 Viewed   1762 Time(s)

CommodoreOS.jpg


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 712
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 02:38    Post subject:  

I WANT ONE!

Used to have an Amiga 2000 and gloated over the integrated animated graphics, whilst the 486 PCs required graphics cards/drivers....ugh Wink

_________________
The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 06:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
Used to have an Amiga 2000


We still have one somewhere . . .
The Commodore OS is a modified Linux Mint. It runs on my 64bit dual core and very nice too.

The included Openshot is only 1.2 not even 1.3 (1.4 is out) Crying or Very sad

I am running as a live DVD
Do I install in a partition?
I just don't know. I would probably be better off with Mint or Pinguy 64 (which I occasionally use).
The OS has a weird clone version of deluxe paint.
It also has emulators (but I think you need special chip emulators to run them) - maybe the hardware will provide that?

The hardware looks very professional and solid.
Good luck to them Smile

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 08:32    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
It also has emulators (but I think you need special chip emulators to run them) - maybe the hardware will provide that?


[EDIT]I hoped that I will be able to use Vice, but later there were some problems with running it under non-root account... Yes, surely only their hardware provides better compability.[/EDIT]

I doubt that I'll install it as regular OS too, but as a nostalgic toy it's wonderful!

BTW: Second ISO contains tons of software, music, games, etc. (not only for emulators).

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.

Last edited by SFR on Sun 13 Nov 2011, 11:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JohnMurga
Site Admin


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 593
Location: Far to the east

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 08:47    Post subject:  

russoodle wrote:
I WANT ONE!

Used to have an Amiga 2000 and gloated over the integrated animated graphics, whilst the 486 PCs required graphics cards/drivers....ugh Wink

I still have two A500s and a CD32+SX1 at home Smile

If there was one I could get it would have to be this one :
http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_VICSlim.aspx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2085
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 15:32    Post subject:  

Never did get an Amiga. Or a 128, for that matter. Sad But I do have a C64. (Did anyone ever get Linux working on a 64? Not that I'd want to try it, offhand - I'd probably have to get that 1541<>PC cable built just to try and get it on a 5" disk. Very Happy)
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 17:59    Post subject:  

Hi Makoto.

I've been thinking about it too.
And I found this: http://hld.c64.org/poldi/lunix/lunix.html
Quote:
[LUnix]... is an experimental operating system for the Commodore64/128 without additional hardware. [...] The features of LUnix are: UNIX-like environment and command shell, multitasking, multisession. LUnix is free software!

Multitasking??? Confused Very Happy
Anyway, I didn't try it yet.

Regarding 1541<>PC cable - my friend bought XE1541 interface + Star Commander few years ago and thank to him I was able to transfer all my C64 data into PC.
There are also schematics how to build it yourself:
http://www.richardlagendijk.nl/cip/article/item/xe1541/en
But the real problem is how/where to get brand new 5.25" DD disks today, isn't it? Wink

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2085
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 00:11    Post subject:  

I'd been meaning to get around to buying a 1541/PC cable or building it for years. Embarassed

As for disks... well, most or all of mine have probably blanked themselves by now, so I'll just use those. Laughing

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 712
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 01:35    Post subject:  

JohnMurga wrote:

I still have two A500s and a CD32+SX1 at home Smile

If there was one I could get it would have to be this one :
http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_VICSlim.aspx

I had an Amiga A500 first, before i upgraded to the 2000, and a Star NX1000 dot matrix printer with a colour ribbon, which i thought was pretty cool... Very Happy

I like the VICSlim too but the other one has an HDMI input, which i rather fancy....all in my dreams, of course!

Where's Santa when you need him?? Laughing

_________________
The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 02:25    Post subject:  

russoodle wrote:
Where's Santa when you need him?? Laughing



_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 712
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 04:31    Post subject:  

Thanks Lobster, i'm optimistic of my chances now Laughing

PS: that's a really cute pic, btw..

_________________
The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 574

PostPosted: Sun 25 Mar 2012, 06:16    Post subject:  

Wow, it is amazing, although on my computer it was super slow, it took at least 5 minutes to boot and about the same to power down.

It did feel like a C64 with cassette as some of the programs loaded really slowly, but I was able to multitask while some stuff was loading.

I guess it's possible to remove some stuff and make it lighter, but that would defeat the purpose as it has lots of really cool stuff. And I haven't even burned the second DVD.

I really want to install this but I don't have a free machine at the moment, I wonder if it will run faster than the live DVD. Anyone installed this yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 574

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 03:48    Post subject:  

I just installed it and it really rips. It's now fast and boots fast. I'm not sure it's based on Mint, it could just as well be based on Ubuntu but I'm not really familiar with Mint. In any case it's light years away from any Ubuntu.

Can't wait to burn and install the second DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0674s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0137s) ][ GZIP on ]