Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 14:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 118 of 250 [3742 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 09:44    Post subject:  

Mavrothal has followed the aufs3 udba=reval mailings.

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/forum.php?thread_name=98D8B015D09D1241A15FD54BA7EAFF150646AEAF%40ttsrv02.tetrade.ch&forum_name=aufs-users

All started with these posts about: Remount command with option udba=reval is hanging:
http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.linux.file-systems.aufs.user/3744

I have noticed the problem addressed there but I didnt know the fixing patch has been applied to the latest aufs 3.2 version which has been released. Cut from aufs mailing list:
Quote:
> > By the way, I am going to release the new version of aufs which contain the patch I've sent. I know the problem is not solved yet, but you can also try the new version.

I have tested with kernel 3.2.9 and your new AUFS release. Now the
remount times are good again.
Here with "find /usr":
# mount / -o remount,udba=notify; find /usr -type f &>/dev/null; time
mount / -o remount,udba=reval
real 0m0.196s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.030s
And with "find /":
# mount / -o remount,udba=notify; find / -type f &>/dev/null; time mount
/ -o remount,udba=reval
real 0m0.301s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.107s

/usr/local/petget/installpkg.sh has this for aufs:
Code:
#now re-evaluate all the layers...
 if [ "`lsmod | grep '^aufs' `" != "" ];then #100426
  busybox mount -t aufs -o remount,udba=reval unionfs / #remount with faster evaluation mode.
  [ $? -ne 0 ] && logger -s -t "installpkg.sh" "Failed to remount aufs / with udba=reval"
 else
  mount -t unionfs -o remount,incgen unionfs /
 fi
 sync
fi


I suppose that recompiling the 3.2.8 kernel with this latest released aufs 3.2 would be good idea. I will start today.

Last edited by pemasu on Mon 12 Mar 2012, 17:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 12:17    Post subject:  

Kernel-3.2.8-saluki has been recompiled by using latest aufs 3.2 version. No other changes.
Aufs3-util should be compiled using latest git also.

Download link: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/Saluki/kernel-3.2.8-preemptive-fixed-aufs/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 302
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 12:31    Post subject:  

i have one problem .thumbnails does not survive a reboot.
the issue is i go to a folder with pictures in it then saluki caches the thumbnails then i close the folder and reopen thumbnails are cached.
i reboot saluki and try folder again thumbnails are gone and have to be recached.

i have some folders with a extreme amount of pictures in them it takes a long time to look through these folders without cache working properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 12:58    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Kernel-3.2.8-saluki has been recompiled by using latest aufs 3.2 version. No other changes.
Aufs3-util should be compiled using latest git also.

Download link: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/Saluki/kernel-3.2.8-preemptive-fixed-aufs/


Cool. I'll use the new one for the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 13:01    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
i have one problem .thumbnails does not survive a reboot.
the issue is i go to a folder with pictures in it then saluki caches the thumbnails then i close the folder and reopen thumbnails are cached.
i reboot saluki and try folder again thumbnails are gone and have to be recached.

i have some folders with a extreme amount of pictures in them it takes a long time to look through these folders without cache working properly.


The snapmerge script omits them to speed up saving.

If you want you can edit /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy.

Go to line 135 and change

Code:
grep -v -E -i '\.thumbnails|\.cache|\.trash|trash/|\.part$'


to

Code:
 grep -v -E -i '\.cache|\.trash|trash/|\.part$'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 302
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 13:14    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
scabz wrote:
i have one problem .thumbnails does not survive a reboot.
the issue is i go to a folder with pictures in it then saluki caches the thumbnails then i close the folder and reopen thumbnails are cached.
i reboot saluki and try folder again thumbnails are gone and have to be recached.

i have some folders with a extreme amount of pictures in them it takes a long time to look through these folders without cache working properly.


The snapmerge script omits them to speed up saving.

If you want you can edit /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy.

Go to line 135 and change

Code:
grep -v -E -i '\.thumbnails|\.cache|\.trash|trash/|\.part$'


to

Code:
 grep -v -E -i '\.cache|\.trash|trash/|\.part$'


Thanks a lot jemimah.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 13:36    Post subject:  

I want to try grub4dos, but don't know what will happen:). Is it possible to install grub4dos in place of old grub? What are the benefits of grub4dos to compare with old grub
_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 14:05    Post subject:
Subject description: ati graphics
 

jemimah,

Installing the ati fglrx driver is still failing here. First I installed QT from PPM. With the ati pet from PPM when restarting xwin after modprobing and aticonfig, X fails to start every time. Running xorgwizard and choosing fglrx boots to a desktop, but always with the vesa driver.

Here's where it gets really strange. With QT installed, devx loaded and an otherwise new clean save file I attempted to install the proprietary ati-xx.run which has always succeeded with the other Pups I have on this rig. It brought up the installer gui and seemed to install just fine. Dropped down to the command line and did the aticonfig --initial and that went normally too. Upon reboot I can see the driver is being used now and I try to change the screen res with amdcccle. The config gui shows the current preferred res as 4000 x 4000 and the refresh at 170, with no other choices available. The screen isn't running at those figures (I wouldn't be able to see it) but nevertheless I don't know what the heck it is really doing. Video acceleration is not working for sure! I repeated both the pet and proprietary installs two more times with a fresh Saluki frugal and save file with the same results.

I'm stuck. Is there an optional xorg or whatever pet that I should be installing first? Other drivers interfering?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 14:32    Post subject:  

Ati proprietary driver pet was manually patched, kernel has changed since that compile.
I would wait until Saluki stabilizes with kernel. Aufs 3.2 needs testing before it is time to really go for third party kernel modules...like graphics drivers.

Last edited by pemasu on Mon 12 Mar 2012, 15:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 15:16    Post subject:  

Thanks pemasu

The ati proprietary *.run installer (not the pet) compiles it's kernel driver at install time, but I will wait until things settle down. Maybe the kernel headers were mismatched or something.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 15:31    Post subject:  

If ati installer *.run works now...it means that there has been update and the installer is now 3.2.8 kernel compliant. It wasnt when I did run *.run ati installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 15:40    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
I want to try grub4dos, but don't know what will happen:). Is it possible to install grub4dos in place of old grub? What are the benefits of grub4dos to compare with old grub


The main benefits are that it "just works" with frugal installs and full installs, on any filesystem (well ext*, vfat, and NTFS).

You should be able to overwrite a grub install with a grub4dos install. It'll save a backup copy of the mbr in case you need to restore grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 15:49    Post subject:  

Grub4dos also searches every frugal install folder in usb and hdd and creates automatically working menu entry for them and you get windows OS menu entries also.
When I boot with usb hdd, I get all above menu entries. Not bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 17:38    Post subject:  

Jemimah, (or anyone else who knows)

I was going to try and compile Kazehakase Web Browser, which can use either Mozilla Gecko or WebKit rendering engines, but it requires a newer gtk. Sad

How do I add QtWebKit to the PKG-CONFIG_PATH environmental variable? I've been trying to compile uzbl web browser, but it can't find webkit-1.0 when I run make. Does that mean, I have to replace "webkit-1.0" with "QtWebKit-4.9" in the makefile?

There is no DOTconfigure file for it..only a makefile.

There is a thread for Uzbl here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71665

EDIT: okay, I found where to add the environmental variable..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 17:51    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
antiloquax wrote:
I have been working on a pet for Python3 with Pygame. I have a problem in that if I include SDL_image, I get an error when I build. But if I leave it out, Pygame can only import .bmp images.
I did get it to work in Racy 5.2.2 - just need to remember how!


I think the package is bad. I'll upload a new one tonight.


Ok, I think I've fixed this. Update the ppm then download the packages again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 118 of 250 [3742 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1414s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0546s) ][ GZIP on ]