Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 08:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 170 of 250 [3742 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 19:24    Post subject:  How do I get gtkhash to run in 18 so I can check 19?  

I'm having a hard time today.

I am so excited to try 19 with all the new bling!!!!

However, I wanted to start out right by checking the md5 with gtkhash.

I know gtkhash is installed in Saluki.

But:
I do not see it in the control panel.
I don't see it in "run a program".
I don't see it on any of the regular menus.
I don't see it on right click when I click on the iso.

When I search for gtkhash, I find it. , Smile
But none of the files will start the program. Crying or Very sad

Could someone please take me by the hand and show me how, or where, or what to do,
or tell me another way to check the md5 that is not tooo geeky?

Many thanks for your patience.

Pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1362
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 19:47    Post subject: Re: How do I get gtkhash to run in 18 so I can check 19?  

Pete22 wrote:
I'm having a hard time today.

I am so excited to try 19 with all the new bling!!!!

However, I wanted to start out right by checking the md5 with gtkhash.

I know gtkhash is installed in Saluki.

But:
I do not see it in the control panel.
I don't see it in "run a program".
I don't see it on any of the regular menus.
I don't see it on right click when I click on the iso.

When I search for gtkhash, I find it. , Smile
But none of the files will start the program. Crying or Very sad

Could someone please take me by the hand and show me how, or where, or what to do,
or tell me another way to check the md5 that is not tooo geeky?

Many thanks for your patience.

Pet


Pete, right clicking the file in properties "Digests" will give the option
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   28.68 KB
 Viewed   819 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:04    Post subject:  

Did a test manual upgrade from 018 to 019..... no apparent difficulties.Think I'll now delete the save file and try a fresh start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NZCyrus

Joined: 20 Mar 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:24    Post subject:  

tried to upgrade from 018 to 019 and also tried a fresh install by wiping my drive, but something does not load on boot and i cannot automatically log in. Saluki is the only OS on my laptop. md5sum of 019 was OK.

After the install, all is well and the desktop runs as normal, but when I reboot I am taken to a screen that says automatic login, etc but I am at #. When I type startxfce4 it takes me to the desktop but the screen freezes. Possibly my older hardware, ThinkPad R51 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:29    Post subject:  

Geoffrey,
thank you for the picture. Under the 4th tab, I could have missed that.

Humm, something IS wrong. When I press properties,
This is what I get this instead.

I wonder why mine is different.

Pete.
Properties for 19.png
 Description   
 Filesize   53.53 KB
 Viewed   774 Time(s)

Properties for 19.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:31    Post subject:  

Pete22 wrote:
Geoffrey,
thank you for the picture. Under the 4th tab, I could have missed that.

Humm, something IS wrong. When I press properties,
This is what I get this instead.

I wonder why mine is different.

Pete.


It's different because you are running ROX, which is probably not recommended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:32    Post subject:  

NZCyrus wrote:
tried to upgrade from 018 to 019 and also tried a fresh install by wiping my drive, but something does not load on boot and i cannot automatically log in. Saluki is the only OS on my laptop. md5sum of 019 was OK.

After the install, all is well and the desktop runs as normal, but when I reboot I am taken to a screen that says automatic login, etc but I am at #. When I type startxfce4 it takes me to the desktop but the screen freezes. Possibly my older hardware, ThinkPad R51 ?


I'm not sure why you are getting dumped to the console, but the proper command is 'xwin' not 'startxfce4'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:40    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
Really nice experience so far .

Many many new things to explore like adrv.sfs ...

Whow !

One thing for pgprs-setup :

Without the standard connect button not easy to find Laughing

[Don't actually know why it is hidden and pupdial so much propagated .]

Funny theme and a stylish background fitting to that , I like it .

Woof is apparently not the newest, pgprs-setup is missing the gettext's

This is some code to add a PUK line to pgprs-setup :

Code:
> RGPIN="AT+CPIN=\"$PIN\""
> if [ "`echo "$PIN" |grep ','`" ];then
> PUK=`echo "$PIN" |cut -f1 -d','`
> PIN=`echo "$PIN" |cut -f1 -d','`
> sed -i "s/$RGPIN/AT+CPIN=\"$PIN\"" /etc/ppp/peers/pgprs-connect-chatmm
> fi
> [ "$PUK" ] || PUK="\"\""
77a78


This is to filter devices not attached to modems ie USB to SERIAL adapters :

Code:
> DMESG=`dmesg`
81c82
< for DEVICE in /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/usb/ttyUSB0 /dev/ircomm0 /dev/ttyUB0 /dev/rfcomm0 /dev/ttyS0
---
> for DEVICE in /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/ttyUSB1 /dev/usb/ttyUSB0 /dev/ircomm0 /dev/ttyUB0 /dev/rfcomm0 /dev/ttyS0
85a87
>    if [ "`echo "$DMESG" |grep "${DEVICE##*/}" |grep -i -E 'GSM|modem'`" ];then   
87a90
>    fi


Code:
>     <text tooltip-text=\"Only needed if need to unlock SIM card\">
>       <label>Phone PUK:</label>
>     </text>
>     <entry>
>       <default>${PUK}</default>
>       <variable>PUK</variable>
>     </entry>
>   </hbox>

>
> <hbox>
164c178

Code:
>    if [ ! "$PUK" ];then
209a225,227
>    else
>    wordreplace /etc/ppp/peers/gprs-connect-chatmm "$RGPIN" "AT+CPIN=\"${PUK},${PIN}\""
>    fi
211c229,233


and this is to stop the pupmessage always popping up :

Code:
<    xmessage -center -title "$(gettext 'PGPRS SETUP')" "$(gettext "Connect to the Internet using 'PGPRS Connect' in the 'Network' menu.")"
---
>    if [ -f "`which pgprs-shell`" ];then
>    if [ -x "`which pgprs-shell`" ];then
>    chmod a-x "`which pgprs-shell`"
>    xmessage -center -title "PGPRS SETUP" "Connect to the Internet using 'PGPRS Connect' in the 'Network' menu."
>    fi;fi


*

One problem with pupdial seems to be the entry
"ABORT ERROR"
in /etc/ppp/chat-script .

Unblocking the SIM and failing to connect mostly works at second attempt, but unblocking the SIM a second time always gives ERROR and the connection can only be tried again if the eeepc internal modem is reset by reboot,poweroff or suspend (to ram) . pgprs-connect also shows the ERROR message but has no "ABORT ERROR" in /etc/ppp/peers/gprs-connect-chatmmm .

*

Saluki performance overall is little slower but vacation for the mind !
Great piece of work , jemimah !

*

[by the way anyone knows how the trash bin can be placed outside the desktop ?]


Hmm, no one has mentioned pgrps since I got rid of the connect icon in like saluki-004. It must not be terribly popular.

Saluki is synced with Racy 5.2. I will try to sync it with 5.3 for the second release, but it's going to be a pain since everything is so different now my patches need to be applied manually.

If you make your patches with 'diff -u' it's easier for me to figure out. Better yet, send me the whole patched script and I'll add it to the next release.

There's a trashbin for the panel. Then you can turn of the desktop trash in the desktop settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 21:02    Post subject:  

Oohhh, I see. Finally found in thunar!

Even more interesting.

The MD5 did not match. So I am glad I persisted.
I will download it again.

On gtkhash, it showed me the number,
but I had to manually check it with the md5.txt.

I thought if the md5.txt file was in the same directory,
it would automatically check it for me.
Is that wrong?


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 21:11    Post subject:  

Deleted savefile so fresh frugal install of 019. No problems to speak of.Looking good......

# report-video
Saluki, version 019 on Sat 14 Apr 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1)
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
Saluki-019.png
 Description   
 Filesize   207.92 KB
 Viewed   762 Time(s)

Saluki-019.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1399
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 02:36    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Dont forget kernel source sfs from the first page so...that you can compile kernel module drivers also.... Very Happy Very Happy


Hi Jemimah / Pemasu

I think the kernel sources link has gone missing from the front page.....is it k3.2.8-preemptive-fixed-aufs of 12 March?? There are other earlier k3.2.8-preemptives still there....

Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Sun 15 Apr 2012, 04:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 03:07    Post subject:  

BUG, 19, frugal install. Sound re-sets to default setting at re-boot, personalised settings are not persistent.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 03:20    Post subject:  

I can only guess which kernel Jemimah used...but the latest one is in this folder:
http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/Saluki/kernel-3.2.8-preemptive-fixed-aufs/

Oh yes...and for pae kernel:
http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/Saluki/kernel-3.2.13-pae/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 04:08    Post subject: 10alsa  

DaveS wrote:
BUG, 19, frugal install. Sound re-sets to default setting at re-boot, personalised settings are not persistent.

I think the /etc/init.d/10alsa on Saluki-19 is outdated.
The woof-120226 has recent one, but i have another which is based on the Japanese versions.
Code:
# 7dec2011 shinobar: wait loading modules, conditional saving asound.state (merged form the Quickset Wary, wary-511-01q)
#111210 shinobar: refresh asound.state at restart
#120103 karl godt: fix unloading modules. refer: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71767&start=390
#120222 revert 111229. 120223 shinobar: better fix.
#120226 01micko: added 'Master Front' entries. 120318 bumped it up, 75% to 100%.
10alsa-shinobar.gz
Description  extract, rename, add excutable, and place at /etc/init.d/10alsa
gz

 Download 
Filename  10alsa-shinobar.gz 
Filesize  1.81 KB 
Downloaded  133 Time(s) 

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 04:19    Post subject:  

Partition alphabetical order is not right in Saluki...which is not so apparent due to missing drive icons.
But I believe the /sbin/probepart is about same in Saluki since I use Jemimah's patched version.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620159#620159
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 170 of 250 [3742 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1527s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0561s) ][ GZIP on ]