Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 00:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy try out: how do I get online with cable connection?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
primetime
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 11:28    Post_subject:  Puppy try out: how do I get online with cable connection?  

I have been looking around for a program to try out Linux and run on to puppy. I downloaded the ISO file and then burned a DVD with the file. I rebooted the PC with the DVD and up came puppy. Played around with the program for a minute or two and liked it, but could not get connected to the internet as I have a always connected Broadband Cable connection. I hope Mr. Kauler keeps working on it as I would like to see it develope.
Also, I read down through the Best Freeware article and think he might like to try Avant Browser, a IE alternative at ( htp://www.avantbrowser.com ) and an e-mail program that I use extensively, Incredimail at ( http://www.incredimail.com ). Here's hoping for a Puppy Linux we all can use soon. Regards;
primetime
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 11:36    Post_subject: Re: Puppy try out  

A kind thought Smile

The two programs you mentioned do not run on Linux
Here is a freeware project I started which includes freeware that runs on different OS including Linux and Windows

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Freeware

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 13:24    Post_subject:  

Did you run the ethernet wizard? I have a high-speed cable connection too and that's what I had to do to get online. I'm not in Puppy at the moment but if I remember, it's in Start->Utilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 13:38    Post_subject:  

Start > Setup

Or Start > Setup > Wizardwizard does it too
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0420s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]