Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 05:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
How to install VMware workstation 8 in Dpup Exprimo 5.X.9?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 11:43    Post subject:  How to install VMware workstation 8 in Dpup Exprimo 5.X.9?  

HI,
I'm running Dpup Exprimo 5.X.9.
Went to install VMware - half way through the install I get message
"No rc*.d style init script directories were given to the installer.
You must manually add the necessary links to ensure that the
vmware service at /etc/init.d/vmware is automatically started and stopped on startup and shutdown."
What do I do and how please ?

BP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Wed 07 Dec 2011, 19:18    Post subject: How to install VMware workstation 8 in Dpup Exprimo 5.X.9?  

OK, after googleing for hours I have found a script work a round for this.
IF I can complete the installation will post it Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 613
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2011, 03:25    Post subject:  

In my experience, VirtualBox is, in the last versions, easier to install and to handle than VMware. VirtualBox is also GPL 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Thu 08 Dec 2011, 06:22    Post subject:  

emil wrote:
In my experience, VirtualBox is, in the last versions, easier to install and to handle than VMware. VirtualBox is also GPL 2.

It might be but as far as I'm aware it can't use virtual machines made by VMware Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Dec 2011, 02:24    Post subject:  

theblackpig wrote:
emil wrote:
In my experience, VirtualBox is, in the last versions, easier to install and to handle than VMware. VirtualBox is also GPL 2.

It might be but as far as I'm aware it can't use virtual machines made by VMware Sad

Oh, it can use them, just not always very well. Many work without any fuss, but others- like pretty much every ReactOS VMware image I've ever tried out- are a nightmare in VBox.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0452s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]