Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 12:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
gtk2desklet 3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
akash_rawal

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 232
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

PostPosted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 13:16    Post_subject:  

recobayu wrote:

1. Can gtk2desklet do the transparent in vbox when i use scrollable="true"? how?

When you set scrollable=true, gtk creates a new X window for the contents of the vbox. This foils the transparency and I cannot think of any workaround.

recobayu wrote:

2. Can gtk2desklet do the blur transparent? so it's like unity in ubuntu.

I'm too lazy to do that Embarassed , and even if I enable it, it isn't going to work with real transparency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Sat 28 Sep 2013, 15:37    Post_subject:  

Well inspired by your drive icons for puppies 5+ I then find this little beauty so I played with my version of pmount and came up with a drive icons widget.... does the usual...yellow for 'locked' drives, play media buttons, hide empty optical, eject and no script polling....mut provides a binary backend so cpu usage is erm like nothing registered. (the original had 10% spikes every 2 seconds...)
Made for 4.12 to have one 4k script instead of ..well you know. Yet to try but should be ok for even older gtk2desklet permitting as its not using udev (bleeding stubborn that was)

so erm thanks for useful stuff.... Smile

mike

a piccie..ignore the frame text..I only added the drive names to have something there Very Happy
icons.png
 Description   
 Filesize   66.26 KB
 Viewed   623 Time(s)

icons.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Sun 29 Sep 2013, 07:45    Post_subject:  

Ah.... a reread found those transparent buttons .... oh yes Smile

A couple of questions.....
yad works but stays on top of other windows... not sure if you are familiar with it but I have the sources to play with.

I was testing on older pups ... they set the background using xsetroot so I added the _XSETROOT_ID variable to your source which detected the background pixmap but then gdk complains its only 1 bit depth and displays a highly skewed transparancy.
If I add Esetroot and imlib2 and set wallpaper with that all works correctly but its a bit of overkill and not so portable.

Oh and in transbuttons.rc...how do I change the button text colour...nothing I do seems to work...one has gtk mental blindness syndrome

regards

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Sun 29 Sep 2013, 13:09    Post_subject:  

Ok in gtk 1 rox puppies it seems the wallpaper is stored as is...a binary copy of the jpg or whatever.... that is then displayed as wallpaper via gtk....performed by puppybackgroundsetter....xsetroot is similar. Such data is meaningless to such as gtk2desklet even if the needed variable giving the location of the image is set.. I found the wallpaper setter extracted from WindowMaker does the job nicely keeping the wallpaper and apps using gtk2desklet happy.
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Sun 29 Sep 2013, 15:12    Post_subject:  

Ah ha...thats better...now translucent backgrounds for the text on the now dummy buttons.....
icons2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.91 KB
 Viewed   576 Time(s)

icons2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Tue 01 Oct 2013, 12:49    Post_subject:  

Refinement... the CD gets a 'play' button but this machine has no optical drive..
butties.png
 Description   
 Filesize   39.03 KB
 Viewed   639 Time(s)

butties.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 19:09    Post_subject:  

OOoo works on puppy 2.12 too Smile
retro bunny with naughty drive icons.....
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
brokenman

Joined: 20 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jun 2014, 00:00    Post_subject: openbox gtk2desklet on bottom layer
Sub_title: gtk2desklet breaks openbox layers
 

When using gtkdialog in openbox I can assign a certain dialog to a bottom layer in the openbox rc.xml file. This would look like this:

<application title="MyWindow">
<layer>below</layer>
<desktop>all</desktop>
</application>

When opened, this gtkdialog app (with <window title="MyWindow">) stays on the bottom. All other windows will cover it and clicking on it does not bring it to the foreground. This is the behaviour I would expect from a desklet. However, when I use the same gtkdialog window started with --gtk-module=gtk2desklet then the layer command is ignored and the application comes to the front. The dialog has no decorations and is transparent. Any idea how I can keep this on the back layer in openbox? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
brokenman

Joined: 20 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 22:32    Post_subject:  

Ok please forget that. I see your code:

gtk_window_set_keep_below(GTK_WINDOW(win), TRUE);

The problem appears to be on my end. Probably between the seat and the keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8696

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 15:50    Post_subject:  

Quote:
The problem appears to be on my end. Probably between the seat and the keyboard.

Very Happy yes I seem to have a problem with that component too....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2014, 22:23    Post_subject:  

Hi,

When using --geometry option, trans button doesn't work

Thanks

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0703s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]