Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 14:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Lucid Puppy on Asus Eeepc: no sound
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
homeblend

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 16:22    Post_subject:  Lucid Puppy on Asus Eeepc: no sound  

Hi,

I have just installed the latest version of Lucid Puppy on an Asus eeepc 1011px - http://www.asus.com/Eee/Eee_PC/Eee_PC_1011PX/

Everything works perfectly except sound. I don't even get a sound icon in the system tray. I have tried alsawizard and it just throws up errors.

The sound card is:
Quote:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)


Thank for help in advance amazing people

Luke
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3434
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 18:21    Post_subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71023&start=30

Last 2 posts.

Of course Fatdog 64 won't run on that.

""""

" if you are having any problems with sound."

playdayz has a pet fix???...last post.

Wary 5.13 may work as well.

"""""""""""""

Also this is what i did in Fatdog.

Sometimes you have to experiment.


" At boot to the desktop >> Nothing happens...
Is Fatdog a barker?

So in Alsa Equaliser Mixer
I changed to >> default >> and it is now showing
>> Conexant Cx20590

Once again...why isn't the >> multiple sound card there
in multimedia?? Another choice.

yet it's there in >> usr/bin

Try my test mp3...as there is no bark.

= xine engine error
Input plugin failed to open mrl /mnt.

Alsa Equaliser control is off...>> I turn it on.
Alsa Mixer shows...But mp3 fails again.

Chipset says alsaequal

Hit F6 >> highlight says >> enter device name

I select >> Default

Card >> HDA Intel PCH

Chip now shows >> Conexant CX20590

Hit F5 >> give Master a few more hits upwards

Esc...Still errors. bugger bugger

But Xine plays off my usb...yeah.

But not off my hard drive SDA2.

Open up Pmusic to add the mp3 from SDA2.
It decides to play. "

""""""""

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 18:39    Post_subject:  

My guess is that the kernel in lupu-528 is too old.

FatDog may indeed work, the processor is dual core..

Either Slacko version should work (but wait a bit .. 531 is comming very soon Wink )

Racy would likely work

Dpup Exprimo would likely work.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
homeblend

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 10:13    Post_subject:  

Thanks guys!!! I have been in work lock down mode for the past few days thus the lack of reply.

Just to clarify: is the reason lupu doesnt work because the hardware is too 'new'?

I will give slacko a go (probably at the weekend) and let you know how I get on,

Thanks again,

Luke
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3463
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 14:24    Post_subject:  

See this post, and previous posts by me and playdayz regarding the problem with sound in Lupu-528.

In my case...
It seems to be caused when:
Using a pupsave held on a USB device, and...
With more than one sound system [on-board plus sound card?]

A fix seems to have been found...
And incorporated into test02-lupu-528x.iso, which I've been testing.
It's working fine, so playdays says he intends to issue a new-release ISO including the fix. Very Happy Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
homeblend

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 19 Dec 2011, 16:25    Post_subject:  

I have a system installed on an internal hard drive.

I have tested slacko and it is AMAZING! All works fine, I think it was a case of lupu having too old a kernel.

The only annoyance is alt-tab doesnt seem to have a list when pressed, so you have to filter through every window. Alas, that is something for a different thread!!

Thanks for all your help! One happy pup!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0557s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]