Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Oct 2018, 18:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Remastering doesn't work in 525 or 528
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
jonrpick


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 18:17    Post subject:  

Karl, lots of good info... I'll be looking into this momentarily and reporting back.

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 19:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
12) CREATEPUPSAVE2FS="/pup_rw";CREATEPUPXXXSFS="/pup_ro2"
OLDFILESMNTPT="/pup_rw";NEWFILESMNTPT="/pup_ro2";UMNTMAIN="/pup_rw=rw:/pup_ro2=ro";;
13) CREATETMPFS="/pup_rw";CREATEPUPSAVE2FS="/pup_ro1";CREATEPUPXXXSFS="/pup_ro2"
OLDFILESMNTPT="/pup_ro1";NEWFILESMNTPT="/pup_ro2";UMNTMAIN="/pup_rw=rw:/pup_ro1=ro+wh:/pup_ro2=ro";;

I have confused something :

On flash you are running Pupmode 13 , on HDD it is Pupmode 12 .

So your RAM should be /initrd/pup_rw NOT like i said your PUP-SAVE-FILE.2fs .

Your pup-save would be /initrd/pup_ro1 .

The only common is pup_ro2 for the main pup.sfs .

OLDFILESMNTPT/NEWFILESMNTPT are for version upgrades : Looking into the pup-save to get version information and mount the new-pup.sfs to override the entries in pup-save .

#

So snapmergepuppy would cp /initrd/pup_rw into /initr/pup_ro1 .

pup_ro1 is actually always mounted rw afairc ,
just to merge everything into tmpfs /initrd/pup_rw for 30 minutes first makes pup_ro1 virtually ro .
The mount command would always show pup_ro1 as mounted rw .

/usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy does not mount -o remount,rw /initrd/pup_ro1
AND mount -o remount,ro /initrd/pup_ro1 after it finishes , nor pup_event_frontend_d seems to do it looking into the codes .

#

So
Code:
cp -a --remove-destination  /initrd/pup_ro1/* /mnt/home/puppyfilesystem

should cp the content of your save file into the build dir !!

I have forgotten about this due i boot pfix=ram and mount the save-file by clicking on it . The old puppy scripts from one year ago detect this and start snapmerge though pupmode=5 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonrpick


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 13:21    Post subject:  

Ah, thanks...

I was just about to post that it didn't work again. I'll try that in a few minutes. I'm just starting my day and have to handle a few things before I can sit down.

In my down time yesterday, I was at least successful in figuring out how to edit the Xfce menu. : Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonrpick


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 16:16    Post subject:  

Success!!!

I loaded the new .sfs onto a flash drive, booted and chose not to load a save file. It booted into JWM by default, which I thought was kind of weird, but all the software was intact. I exited to a prompt and typed "xwin startxfce4" and Xfce loaded up exactly as I'd left it.

Very Happy

My only question now is what to modify within the new SFS file so that it goes straight to Xfce by default.

Thanks, so much! ::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 16:58    Post subject:  

the configuration file is /etc/windowmanager .

Code:
cat /etc/windowmanager


should reveal it .

If you remastered using JWM /etc/windowmanager should contain "jwm" with no newline .

xwin can be invoked with one argument : the name of the windowmanager[-start-script] like "xwin jwm" OR xwin enlightenment_start OR xwin startxfce4 .

the variable $1 for xwin is different for each windowmanager .

Two possibilities i could think of : xwin at boot is launched by busybox init launching /etc/inittab which contains a line with something like autologinroot OR mingetty -login root .

The login would automatically source/parse /etc/profile which actually starts xwin at its very end .

This would involve to alter /etc/profile from
Quote:
else
#want to go straight into X on bootup only...
#if [ ! -f /tmp/bootcnt.txt ];then
#touch /tmp/bootcnt.txt
# aplay -N /usr/share/audio/bark.au
if [ -z "`cat /proc/cmdline | grep -i 'nox'`" ]; then
exec xwin
fi

[which i have configured for my needs]
to
exec xwin startxfce4

OR simplier to edit /etc/windowmanager from jwm to startxfce4

NOTE : if /tmp/bootcnt.txt would exist in your remaster sfs , the straight to desktop would fail !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonrpick


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2012, 23:03    Post subject:  

Wow... this all continues to improve. I'm very happy with the system at this point, and think remastering is the solution to all of my problems.

I plan to run a *very* small save file, and don't plan on saving much after the initial setup. This will also have the benefit of killing Chrome/Chromium's only truly annoying feature, which is browsing history, whether you want it or not.

My last big problem with remastering: My extra .sfs files (LibreOffice, Java, VLC) are not being included in the remaster. They are in the /mnt/home folder, along with the save file, and they are currently "loaded", so I don't know why they're not being added into the newly remastered file.

Ideas?

Edit/Update: I was loading VLC and Java as SFS files. I decided to install the Pets instead, so the only SFS file I have outside of the main file is LibreOffice. Though, I do want to remaster with it being part of the main file. I prefer the added speed of loading it during boot. Plus, of the 3 computers I'll use this on, one has 3GB of RAM, the other two have 4GB, so I won't be running out of memory any time soon... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jan 2012, 11:22    Post subject:  

for each sfs loaded at boot there should be an /initrd/pup_roN directory .

in case pupmode 13
pup_ro1 save file
pup_ro2 main sfs
pup_ro3 devx perhaps
pup_ro4 libre office perhaps

.
.
.

You would need to cp them everyone inito the build directory .
I am not really clear over which should be first and which should be last .
And if the removal of the hidden .wh. files would be necessary in the build dir .

I once made an attempt to remaster main.sfs with an astronomical pet of mine of around 20MB and the devx to boot on 1GB , and caught a kernel panic then .
I am not sure if this had been related due to little ram , some .wh. files-dirs , not cp the needed sfs in the right order or using wrong cp syntax that time .
One thing to watch out : /bin/busybox has to be intact .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonrpick


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jan 2012, 13:52    Post subject:  

I'll just double-check which one is mounted when I get home. I don't have Devx loaded, so it'd probably be r03...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
leotan

Joined: 02 Sep 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 03 Sep 2013, 00:09    Post subject:  

I'm late but this was caused by a bug in remasterpup versions 2 & 3.
There's a botched regex in the handling of the VIRTUALCD variable.
To fix it, replace where it says:

Code:
   
sed -e 's/on[ ].*+//'   


with this:

Code:
   
sed -e 's/on [ ]*//'   


(mind the blanks).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 02:49    Post subject: it has to be done with files included in pupsave  

Remastering does not work for other puppies too 2018 because it cannot be done on pup_rw a scheduled in scripts, it has to be done with files included in pupsave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0621s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0248s) ][ GZIP on ]