Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
simple GUI ramdisk script
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 18:56    Post_subject:  simple GUI ramdisk script  

This is just a simple little GUI program for creating a ramdisk. Somebody requested that I throw one together, so here it is. I didn't bother making a .pet package or a menu or desktop icon for it. It's just a gzipped script.

Usage:
    1) Click it.
    2) Input the size of the ramdisk you want, then press "Okay".
    3) It mounts the ramdisk and opens a window inside it, as well as a dialog with an "Unmount" button.
    *** This is when you do whatever you want to do inside the ramdisk
    4) When finished, click the "Unmount" button on the dialog it popped up, and it will be umounted. All data within it will go *poof*.


If you don't want the unmount dialog to hang around, click the 'x' on the title bar to close it. If you do this you'll have to manually unmount the ramdisk when you're finished. This is done by either moving up a notch in ROX-Filer and having ROX-Filer umount it (via right-click option), or by using the following command:
Code:
umount /mnt/ramdisk


Of course, you could just leave the ramdisk there and not unmount it, but it will use however much ram it's using until you either unmount it, delete everything inside it, or reboot. (Note that tmpfs is smart enough to not just allocate the ram you give it immediately. The size you set is used as the upper limit, but it only allocates as much ram as it needs at any given point. So, even if you create a 1gb ramdisk, if there is only 10mb of stuff in it, only about 10mb of ram will be used.)
ramdisk_gui.gz
Description  gui for making ramdisks
gz

 Download 
Filename  ramdisk_gui.gz 
Filesize  551 Bytes 
Downloaded  734 Time(s) 

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 03:07    Post_subject:  

sweet thanks for this!
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 04:03    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Helo,
Just had to change permissions to run it....
Cool idea...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 20:54    Post_subject:  

EDIT: This does not apply to slacko533

For all those wanting to use this on a frugal install... you need to change line 4 of the script from
Code:
MOUNTPOINT="/mnt/ramdisk"

to
Code:
MOUNTPOINT="/tmp/ramdisk"


to explain why... I'll copy/paste part of the IRC convo here:
http://puppy-linux.org/screenshot.png


<q5sys> now let me explain.
<q5sys> I have a 1.4gb safe file on this system. I have 16gb ram. I run VMs all the time. and I do so completely from ram. so I'll create a ramdisk and load a 4 to 8gb VM file into it and then run it from there. I do delete it before shutdown
<q5sys> but it still has to sit in memory so I can use it
<q5sys> http://puppy-linux.org/screenshot.png
<q5sys> thats using the script pizza posted with ramdisks saved in /mnt
<q5sys> and LOOK. the graphical map of the safe file shows /mnt/ramdisk sitting in there
<q5sys> I tried to copy /mnt/home over to my ramdisk just to fill it uo
<q5sys> I made a 4gb ramdisk and tried to copy 1900mb of files into it
<q5sys> but as you can see from the rox window with /mnt/ramdisk in it... only 438mb copied
mama21mama 0/
<q5sys> why? becuase that was all the freespace I had left in /initrd/pup_rw.
<q5sys> now yes I'll delete that ramdisk before i shut down...
<q5sys> but while Im using my system.... my /initrd/pup_rw is filled and cant accept anymore data. which means that at least while Im currently using my system... my savefile is full (until I delete the ramdisk)
<q5sys> like I've said about 4 times now... on a frugral install changes to /mnt are saved to /initrd/pup_rw
<slue_gniffer> how much ram do you have?
<q5sys> /initrd /pup_rw is the contents of your save file that have been changed since last boot.
<q5sys> slue_gniffer: I have 16gb ram
<tlc> WHy The F would anyone use such a huge save file?
<tlc> er ram disk
Rupp shrugs
tlc SO did Atlas
<q5sys> tlc... to run a VM completely from RAM
<tlc> Why would you do that?
<q5sys> so its not having to read the hard disk to run.
<q5sys> it makes it faster.
<bignono1> wb Brown_Mouse
<q5sys> I've got the ram... I might as well use it for something useful
<q5sys> puppy will never use that much on its own. lol

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0666s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]