What I would like to see in puppy

What features/apps/bugfixes needed in a future Puppy
Auda

What I would like to see in puppy

#1 Post by Auda »

Puppy is wonderful, best thing since sliced bread ( and I can remember when we first got that )
However there are a couple of things that I think should have a bit of time spent on them.

Printing: I have a small samba network here half a dozen computers all share an old Brother laser printer. Xandros works fine, win98 does but I cant get puppy to, guess if I knew what I was doing it would. A bit of intergration between the printer wizard and LinNeighborhood would fix it. If it did, Xandros would go into the bitbucket.

LinNeighborhood: A button that says auto login next time I boot up would be nice. It could be in the network setup script perhaps

Games: A couple more would be nice, nothing to flash a few basic card games reversi and mastermind perhaps, to keep the wife and kids happy.

Harddrive install: I've had a bit of a play with this and havent had much luck. I would like a type 1 install and a puppy.bat file to start it. I realise that config.sys and autoexec.bat may/will need to be changed to live with windows. I have a second primary part. for puppy and use Simple Boot Manager to select what is called C: and what is / isn't hidden, its simple and is smaller than a type 2 install, but I cant get puppy to boot or run from it. Yep grub works but its big and I guess wont work with a type 1 install ?

Archive option: How about and archive script that compresses pup001 and stores it some other place, ie network, partition, drive. We would need a restore one as well.

As Peter ? has suggested an option not to make a pup001 file on the hard drive would be nice. Then I can show others how good it is and not leave a trace on their computer