Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 05:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to install Java in Seamonkey 2.0.11? (Wary 511)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1033
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 14:44    Post_subject:  How to install Java in Seamonkey 2.0.11? (Wary 511)  

I want to use a website to perform a task, but the website insists that I have Java enabled. Apparently, Wary 5.1.1 Seamonkey 2.0.11 does not have Java, and I can't find it under Add-ons or Extensions. Under the Tools > Web Development headings, there is a grayed out entry for Java Console. It is very likely that I will use this website only temporarily to find out if it can perform this task, and I expect to disable Java afterwards. I don't expect to successfully accomplish this task. Is there a particular reason why Java is not included with Seamonkey? Is Java evil? How do I get Java for SM 2.0.11?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 896
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 18:00    Post_subject:  

Check if you have jre already:
Code:
which java


If you get an empty line instead of any path, you're missing the Java Runtime (or is not into the path). Easier solution is this Shino's SFS: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61287

If after the boot with jre SFS enabled you cant see the java plugin in the Seamonkey's plugins list, probably you're missing a symlink (see the instructions in the main post).

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 15:29    Post_subject:  

Can I add to this thread to say I have the same problem.

I have two web sites which tell me that I don't have jave enabled.
I have java installed for sure but obviously the link is not there.

I created the link suggested in shinobar's tread on the subject but no result.

Any help would be appreciated.

Doesn't work in Chromium eirther-irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 896
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 17:45    Post_subject:  

Just realized of this, my java plugin is not that file.
Is /usr/java/jre1.6.0_23/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so pointing to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libnpjp2.so.
Which means that probably you need to open the first folder in rox, select that file and drag it to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libnpjp2.so creating a symlink -relative-. Try this and let me know.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 20:41    Post_subject:  

Hi GustavoYz:

My puppies:Slaco 5.3
Lucid 5.2.8

Your link is:
/usr/java/jre1.6.0_23/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so

Shinobar's tread shows:
/usr/java/jre1.6.0_27/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

Both of mine show:
/usr/java/.........../plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

My java install: java1.6u17

According to that java1.6u17 should appear where the dotted line is but that part of the link is missing.

The other thing I notice is that both you and Shinobar have jre...... while mine is java...... is there a difference?

I have java1.6u17 installed because its the only one that works with libreoffice.

Thanks for your interest-irishrm

Edit: Just found the path:
/usr/java/lib/i368/libnpjp2.so. link to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libnpjp2.so.
Working now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 896
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 18:18    Post_subject:  

Glad you found it, that part is solved.

'JRE' its an acronym for Java Runtime Enviroment or something very likely, so yes, its the same (also JDK is for Developer Kit, useless if you're not going to program in Java).
Very Happy

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 23:06    Post_subject:  

GustavoYz:
Thanks for your help-irishrm
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0582s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]