Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 08:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3-RC2 (5.3.2.4[0])
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 33 [488 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 16:38    Post subject: Wireless Mouse  

01micko wrote:
Method in the madness is that a user with a wireless USB mouse had an issue which really annoyed me.. if it's not fixed then I'll roll back to 3.1x

Before you roll-back on the kernel, make sure this user has a wireless mouse that is working (for sure with some other Linux programs) !!!!

I have use a wireless mouse through the last half-dozen builds of Slacko and never once a problem and I only paid around $14.00 U.S. for it from a closeout type store!

Mouse: GearHead
Optical 2.4 GHz Nano Mouse
Model No. MP2325BLK
PID# 111555-109154
Made in China

>>>---Indian------>

PS: Going for the newest version download now.

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 16:43    Post subject:  

frugal installed hdd 5.3.3-a5 to ext4 on same hp dual core.
usb mouse not recognized and not on alpha 4

brcmsmac and wl broadcom drivers not found, unable to make wifi connection

------
same logitech wireless mouse that worked in alpha 3 and all other puppys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 17:14    Post subject:  

ok... Jim and jim seems you have the same (or similar) logitec mouse and and that indicates to me it must be popular hardware.. 3.2.x kernels aren't ready for prime time Sad


That's ok, I think 3.1.10 will be a good kernel.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1775
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 17:21    Post subject:  

I'm currently trying to get 3.0.18 to work right. This is the next longterm kernel - it should replace 2.6.32 soon.

If you want a "longterm", stable kernel, this one is a good choice.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 17:52    Post subject:  

FWIW, I use a noname wireless usb mouse since about 3 years (bought in a coffee shop). I've never had any problem with it (not even a small one). Also not in Slacko 5.3.3-alpha5.

Cheers,
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 18:42    Post subject:  

There really is ongoing debate about missing brcmsmac driver. I didnt quite follow what is going on...but I would say that waiting 3.3 kernel might be good idea. There was some patch added to 3.2.2 which should have helped to get brcsmac compiled, but I dont even see the option in DOTconfig. So...maybe something should be disabled to get it visible, but I havent yet figured what that would be....

And I might not be that stubborn....I think waiting 3.3 will solve the problem by itself.

I dont use wireless mouse and I dont have broadcom chips so my laptop works just fine with this experimental dpup exprimo build with 3.2.2 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 20:32    Post subject:  

Created 5.3.1.5 using 5.3.1.4 and delta files to 5.3.1.5

Booted live cd, sound works - auto connected to internet -ok

Next, I did a full install to ext4 partition.
Updated Seamonkey to 7.4b
Added several items from storage partition

Everything works - no problems to report

Great job!

majorfoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 20:48    Post subject: 5.3.1.5  

Slacko-5.3.1.5

Normal burn... Load off CD... Installed savefile to HDD.

Everything so far works like it should!

Wireless mouse (same one in previous post) works just fine!

I may have mentioned... I use my computer 100% for my TV. After plugging in the VGA Cable, went into my evening local live news channel, everything was going fine except after 10-minutes the screen went blank. Got out of news, back to menu to setup 'No Blank Screen' and... could NOT find one? hmmm... If there is one, I couldn't find it? If there isn't one... well, so much for the TV and video watching.

This version of Slacko runs nice, can't see any problems with the 3.2 kernel.

Now Mic... (you know me by now and I tell it as I see it) The 'sharpness' of both graphics and text on screen (both monitor and 32-inch TV) falls a wee-short of what Racy-5.2.2 gives me... using the same computer setup for both. Not saying Slacko is bad by any means, it is very nice (and will probably serve most regular users just fine) just not quiet as clear and I can't understand that??? I doubt it's the kernel version as I have used some other linux versions with the 3.0.X and 3.1.X. Saluki is also very crystal-clear. Something BK has in Racy that just seems to click! So what I am wondering is, has anyone else (who tests multi-versions of Puppy) noticed this? Or is it just me?

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5444
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 22:19    Post subject:  

Frugal install of 5.3.1.5 on the old Athlon XP box.... no problems.
Slacko 5.3.1.5.png
 Description   
 Filesize   24.86 KB
 Viewed   687 Time(s)

Slacko 5.3.1.5.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 23:33    Post subject:  

This is a nouveau unload script that should make it easy to unload and blacklist nouveau.

It works from the graphical xorgwizard and asks if you want to unload nouveau or not, if yes it will reboot your machine, if no xorgwizard runs as usual.

if you have a crap display with nouveau you can exit to a prompt and run "nouveau_unload" and hopefully your machine will reboot to a new shiny desktop with nv or vesa as the driver, if not xorgwizard should run.

This script has another purpose too. When I get to compiling nvidia drivers it will do the same thing for those, hopefully rebooting to a new desktop with nvidia as the driver.

Reports from nouveau users please, and if you don't use nouveau reports that I didn't bork anything!
z_xorg_hack-01.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  z_xorg_hack-01.pet 
Filesize  24.83 KB 
Downloaded  103 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5444
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 23:49    Post subject:  

Just for testing purposes....... 5.1.3.5 live on an old P3. Working well.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.1.5

Chip description:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82815 Chipset Graphics Controller (CGC) (rev 04)

Driver used by Xorg:


Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

-Computer-
Processor : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory : 512MB (153MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 27 Jan 2012 09:47:18 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801BA-ICH2

VGA compatible controller : Intel Corporation 82815 Chipset Graphics Controller
Multimedia audio controller : Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller
Ethernet controller : 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado]

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 512148 406996 105152 0 51020
-/+ buffers: 355976 156172
Swap: 0 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 03:10    Post subject:  

Slacko-5.3.1.5
. . . well kinda . . .

Guys . . .
I updated/upgraded from 5.3.1
and there was some 'interference' with a previous new kernel
that seemed to be attempting to blend with 5.3.1

So this is a 'dirty install'
so bear that in mind Embarassed
First of all no internet (connection) Shocked
que? - my ethernet card was not recognised even after a reboot
So I used frisbee as the other connection wizards did not work
(How it downloaded frisbee without a connection is a little weird)
Frisbee worked - now connected.

Now the reason I did an upgrade is because
I wanted to see if Openshot 1.4 with Blender could be made to work
(I worked out . . . actually remembered) you must set the full path of Blender in Openshot preferences. I could not get this rendering in 5.3.1
but I have in 5.3.1.5
. . . sort of . . .
I think what I am doing is memory and CPU intensive
Seamonkey wants memory, Openshot and Blender and even Puppy wants his bit.
So I am getting loads of running threads in the CPU thingee next to the timer [technical term] Embarassed and eventually have to reboot
Just restarting x does not clear all the white lines.

I have 2 gig of memory and I am pushing Puppy to the limits of the comfort zone.
Puppy is limping
but he is still fit to chase squirrels and create 3D titles
Brave Pup. Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 04:09    Post subject:  

Using the "Simple Network Setup" (SNS) I had a lot of Internet connection trouble with my Linksys USB network adapter. But it works great with the new Slacko. But did work with frisbee.


But the problem I have now is, one computer reads as wlan0 the other is wlan1, so it wants to auto connect to the previous one, is there a way to set up multiple profiles for SNS, one for wlan0 one for wlan1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1272
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 05:20    Post subject:  

5.3.1.5
All good here - both a pristine and a 5.3.1.4 update install on my HP550 found my B43 with no probs using Frisbee. Also pristine, manual, frugal install to my desktop pc went without hitch and found my wired internet connection without me having to do anything.
Great job mick

[edit] also works on my pretty ancient IBM Thinkpad that only has 160MB of memory but does have a swap partition. Only little quirk was that it booted to the desktop using vesa and then I had to make a small edit to xorg.conf to change the driver from vesa to neomagic. The pcmcia wifi card is also b43 based and worked fine.
[/edt]

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Sat 28 Jan 2012, 08:57; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1775
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 07:28    Post subject:  

Good news, 01micko - slackware64 support is fully implemented in my build system.

I'm currently running it on a Fatdog machine (so I can bootstrap the whole thing - need to build a dirty 64-bit kernel somewhere, boot the result 64-bit distro and build a good kernel package).

At the moment it downloads all the x86_64 packages and it looks quite good. The kernel (3.0.18, the next longterm version) is compiling in the background, with Unionfs, since Aufs3 requires more patches and I like things simple.

Once the two are done, I'll build a barebones, slackware64-based distro I can use with Builder to build 64-bit versions of the applications in my repo. Then, I'll join this barebones base and the packages built inside it to form the first Slacko64 Cool

I'll share more details once it's bootable Wink

EDIT: forgot to mention - here's the list of the 32-bit packages downloaded by the build system. I'll make a new build script for Busybox and replace the rest with Slackware packages. Smile
Quote:
packages/busybox-1.19.3-w5c.pet
packages/coreutils-6.9-7-p4.pet
packages/ghostscript-8.15.4-w5.pet
packages/ghostscript_DEV-8.15.4-w5.pet
packages/ghostscript_DOC-8.15.4-w5.pet
packages/gutenprint-5.2.7-i486-s.pet
packages/gutenprint_DEV-5.2.7-i486-s.pet
packages/gutenprint_DOC-5.2.7-i486-s.pet
packages/gutenprint_NLS-5.2.7-i486-s.pet
packages/netpbm-10.34-w5.pet
packages/netpbm_DEV-10.34-w5.pet
packages/netpbm_DOC-10.34-w5.pet
packages/sane-backends-1.0.22-w52.pet
packages/sane-backends_DEV-1.0.22-w52.pet
packages/sane-backends_DOC-1.0.22-w52.pet

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 33 [488 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]