Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 24 Sep 2017, 04:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can't shutdown from menu or command-line
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
jcmoral

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2012, 05:05    Post subject:  Can't shutdown from menu or command-line  

Hi all, I did a full install of Puppy 5.3.1 Slacko on an HP zt1000 laptop (1.2GHz P3, 256MB of RAM).

Trying to shutdown or restart from the menu results in the screen blacking out with the laptop still running. When this happens I need to push the power button to turn it off. Upon next boot the OS complains about the previous shutdown not being clean.

On the command-line "wmpoweroff" does the same thing (black screen, laptop running, OS complains on next boot).

On the command-line "poweroff" will freeze the screen. However, when I push the power button, I hear a "woof" and the laptop shuts down cleanly (no complaints on next boot).

This laptop is going to be used by my dad, would be really nice to get shutdown from the menu working. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3425
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2012, 06:47    Post subject:  

If you boot Puppy using grub, you might be able to get that PC to shut down correctly by adding "pci=noacpi" to the kernel line.
You could also try "acpi=force".
The first one worked for me with a PC that failed to boot all the way and it also shut down correctly.
But it depends on the computer.
Sometimes it takes a bit of experimenting with kernel parameters to get the PC to work the way you want it to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcmoral

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2012, 12:32    Post subject:  

Hi, unfortunately neither of those options alone or together work.

Edit: Everything else is working perfectly: wireless is working and I've never seen this laptop so responsive (previous OS was XP, which was sluggish).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2012, 16:34    Post subject:  

jcmoral wrote:
Hi, unfortunately neither of those options alone or together work.

Edit: Everything else is working perfectly: wireless is working and I've never seen this laptop so responsive (previous OS was XP, which was sluggish).


I am having the same problem, I can do everything but shutdown, my other USB that has Slacko does just fine.

I did a fresh reinstall too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2012, 01:47    Post subject:  

Get latest 5.3.3 Slacko (currently being tested)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=596569#596569

Provide feedback (including your specific issues if not addressed)
It is your OS - feedback to developers at this critical time, enables you and the community. Believe me you will learn loads. Smile

Let's get this slacko sizzlin'

Cool

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2012, 02:00    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Get latest 5.3.3 Slacko (currently being tested)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=596569#596569

Provide feedback (including your specific issues if not addressed)
It is your OS - feedback to developers at this critical time, enables you and the community. Believe me you will learn loads. Smile

Let's get this slacko sizzlin'

Cool


Thanks Lobster

This happened twice, after a fresh install, I formatted ext3. Added pretty much the same applications..

Is there a Error report log?

I will give that a shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcmoral

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2012, 02:06    Post subject:  

Ok, will try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2012, 02:18    Post subject:  

[/quote]
Is there a Error report log?
I will give that a shot.[/quote

Bravo. Stay frisky.

/tmp/udevtrace.log,
/var/log/messages

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2012, 17:51    Post subject:  

Thanks I am trying it now, it looks nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2012, 18:50    Post subject:  

I solved the problem for myself by using a reworked rc.shutdown that Barry posted in this thread:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73122
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcmoral

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 12:06    Post subject:  

^
Thanks for the info, unfortunately both scripts there froze the screen. Holding down the power button afterwards did result in a clean shutdown. I'm going to try Wary since this is an old laptop. Hopefully I'll have better luck with that Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 15:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
Thanks for the info, unfortunately both scripts there froze the screen. Holding down the power button afterwards did result in a clean shutdown.


When run as Root in a command window, the command
Code:
/bin/busybox poweroff  -f
is probably the most drastic way to shutdown a system apart from holding down the power button, but it should at least show that the failure to poweroff is not a hardware issue, but rather something in the shutdown routines that is stalling the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 15:32    Post subject:  

Peterm321 wrote:
Quote:
Thanks for the info, unfortunately both scripts there froze the screen. Holding down the power button afterwards did result in a clean shutdown.


When run as Root in a command window, the command
Code:
/bin/busybox poweroff  -f
is probably the most drastic way to shutdown a system apart from holding down the power button, but it should at least show that the failure to poweroff is not a hardware issue, but rather something in the shutdown routines that is stalling the system.


Where can I view the "Shut down routines?" On my end I know its not a hardware issue, since it did the same on two computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2012, 04:19    Post subject:  

Quote:
Where can I view the "Shut down routines?" On my end I know its not a hardware issue, since it did the same on two computers.


I cant speak for other configurations or systems, the routine that appears to be intended to run on my system is in the file:
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

This routine appears to be more or less about finding and saving settings to a suitable savefile. I have a full HD install & dont use a save file, so long ago I replaced the shutdown script with something faster and simpler.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcmoral

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2012, 07:36    Post subject:  

@peterm

I'm pretty sure it's not a hardware issue, since Windows, the Wary live CD, and Slitaz can all shutdown the laptop fine.

Sadly, I can't do any more testing since the laptop monitor died this morning.
Thanks for the help everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0851s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0152s) ][ GZIP on ]