Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 01:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary/Racy 5.3RC2 (5.2.91)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 20 [293 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 15:21    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3beta2 (5.2.2.8)
Subject description: ROX-Filer and momanager
 

BarryK wrote:
...see my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02737


Tested but not quite all right.

ROX-Filer.mo has a TEXTDOMAINDIR different from defaults.

triple entry of langpack_fr....
momanage_rox.png
 Description   ROX-Filer does have mo file
garbage from other langpack
 Filesize   59.18 KB
 Viewed   1080 Time(s)

momanage_rox.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 07:09    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3beta2 (5.2.2.8)
Subject description: ROX-Filer and momanager
 

L18L wrote:
..
Tested but not quite all right...


Everything is allright now
That was quick, Barry
Thank you Very Happy
momanager_binaries.png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.91 KB
 Viewed   1017 Time(s)

momanager_binaries.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 19:18    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
Barry,

Back in 2010, forum member "Wheres One" ran into a problem installing to partition 1. Looking into the matter, he kept careful notes and pretty much solved the problem himself. I stepped in at the last minute to suggest what might need to be changed in /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller.

His problem occurred after he created partition 10, and he correctly determined that puppyinstaller did not like two-digit partition numbers.

Looking at the code, I noticed three places where $DRVMSG was searched with grep for the destination partition ($DESTPART). You can guess what comes next . . . Yes, grepping for "sda1" matched "sda10".

I suggested adding a colon in each of those lines to change "$DESTPART" to "$DESTPART:". This worked for him.

Looking at the code today, I see a couple of other lines where there might be a problem. In one line the output of mount and in the other the output of ps -e is being searched. So "/dev/$DESTPART" probably needs to be changed to "/dev/$DESTPART ".

In the current version in fossil/wolf2 (checked-in 2012-02-02 10:04:42), the lines that I propose adding colons to are: 705, 706, 712, and the lines where I propose adding spaces are: 1145, 1149.

But I will be the first to admit that this script makes my head spin. For instance, I think that the destination partition in $DRVMSG is always followed by a colon, but I'm not entirely sure. So I am hoping that the author will know best if my proposed changes make sense.

I have not tested this because I don't want to change my partition 1. I do know that the changes I suggested for adding the three colons worked for Wheres One in 2010. The other two changes are totally untested.

Original bug report from Wheres One:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=438367#438367

Original post with my 2010 suggestions:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=438339#438339


Thanks for that, fixed. See my blog post:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02738

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 20:49    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
3.X kernels have new drivers which needs new firmwares. I checked racy situation and searched through included kernel driver modules.

I believe the attached pet would be useful to have all those wireless drivers in use for those who need them.

Also.../all-firmware/rt2860sta-fw folder and /all-firmware/rt2870sta-fw folder are deprecated. The kernel now has included drivers for those previously proprietary drivers. 2860.bin and 2870.bin are inside rt2x00 folder which I modified. So removing those 2 folders might be possible.
# modinfo rt2800pci
firmware: rt2860.bin
description: Ralink RT2800 PCI & PCMCIA Wireless LAN driver.

# modinfo rt2800usb
firmware: rt2870.bin
description: Ralink RT2800 USB Wireless LAN driver.

In the attached tar ball is also the firmware.dep file for association. It can be used to update easily those folders in racy. The right location is /etc/modules. You find the existing file there.

ar9170usb folder is deprecated. It can be removed. carl9170 folder provides firmare for the replacing driver carl9170.ko.

Previously added rtl8192SE folder is now part of the rtlwifi folder. I placed all the new rtl8192* firmwares there....those drivers are present in wary.
# ls -R rtlwifi
rtlwifi:
rtl8192c rtl8192ce rtl8192cu rtl8192se rtlwifi.ko
rtlwifi/rtl8192c:
rtl8192c-common.ko
rtlwifi/rtl8192ce:
rtl8192ce.ko
rtlwifi/rtl8192cu:
rtl8192cu.ko
rtlwifi/rtl8192se:
rtl8192se.ko

Those folders I attached need to be placed to the /lib/modules/all-firmware folder and the firmware.dep file need to be updated.

In the attached tar ball is also firmware folders with firmware/s inside for some other drivers which are included in racy but the firmwares were missing.


Thanks very much for that. See my blog post:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02739

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1007
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 05:19    Post subject:
Subject description: sh installation woks again on wary and racy
 

Hi,
surprisingly the sh installation of the application Lilypond woks on wary and racy, whereas it did and does not on other Puppies.
http://lilypond.org/
This is described here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=66365

Code:
# sh  lilypond-2.13.56-1.linux-x86.sh
Untarring lilypond-2.13.56-1.linux-x86.sh
bzip2: (stdin) is not a bzip2 file
tar: Child died with signal 13
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
...
#

Tested: lilypond sh-installations on other puppies - summary lilypond version vs puppy version
Code:
puppy -->        4.12   4.3.1   5.X.X    Wary   Racy
version
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
lilypond  <------------result sh installer-------------->
version
   *
2.13.41            ok       ok         ok      NT      NT
2.13.42             X        X           X       ok      ok   
   *       
   *
2.14.1               X        X           X       ok      ok

NT = not tested but might be ok
X  = sh installation fails (see forum member guitar's post)
   tar version is 1.06 on puppy 5.X.X, Wary and Racy
ok = sh installation works
5.X.X = slacko, lucid/lupu528

Before testing on wary ans racy by forum member guitar, that issue has been posted to the lilypond-users forum, but no answer since end 2011.
Browsing the lilypond-users forum, there is no such sh installation failure reported using other linux distros.

So on one hand one might think that a problem could be present in the Lilyponds archive, but it seems occuring only on Puppies.
On the other hand, the same Lilypond version does sh-install on later Wary and Racy, whereas it does not on "earlier Puppies" including 5.X.X (tested on slacko ans Lupu/Lucid528, all running the same tar 1.06 version.

So what?
Thanks considering this.
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 15:06    Post subject: Re: /usr/share/doc/HOWTO-program.htm
Subject description: and http://puppylinux.com/development/compileapps.htm
 

npierce wrote:
There are at least two web pages in the land of Puppy that attempt to access the local file /usr/share/doc/HOWTO-program.htm; they are http://puppylinux.com/development/compileapps.htm and http://bkhome.org/genie/index.html.

This file was not included in Racy 5.2.2, nor is it currently in Woof2's woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/usr/share/doc/ directory.

But that's only half of the problem.

The other half of the problem is that, by default, recent versions of Seamonkey and Firefox block links to local files from remote files. So even if the file was included on Racy, it would not work. The user sees no "File Not Found" or other error message; nothing immediately visible happens at all. (Although an error is added to the list in the error console.) This is done to enhance security.

It is possible to disable this block for the two Puppy sites in question by adding these three lines to /root/.mozilla/seamonkey/*.default/prefs.js
Code:
user_pref("capability.policy.localfilelinks.checkloaduri.enabled", "allAccess");
user_pref("capability.policy.localfilelinks.sites", "http://puppylinux.com http://bkhome.org");
user_pref("capability.policy.policynames", "localfilelinks");

But that's kind of messy. And even though we know that those sites are trusted sites (assuming that the user's nameserver is also trusted, and not hacked), users probably want to make their own decisions about what sites to trust.

I see that the help page for Racy 5.2.2 now points to http://puppylinux.com/howto/programming.htm for this HOWTO. So you'll probably just want to use that URL instead of the old local one (unless your intention was to make the HOWTO distro-specific).

Reference: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Links_to_local_pages_don't_work


While you have http://puppylinux.com/development/compileapps.htm open, you might also take a look at the following section, which some people have found a little confusing:
Quote:
Full hard drive installation

This is a conventional Linux installation.

Currently, installing the "devx" file in a full hard drive installation (as opposed to a "frugal" installation) is slightly more complicated, and you can't undo it. It involves some steps....

1. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs in a ROX-Filer window to mount it.
2. Open a terminal in the mounted directory.
3. # cp -a --remove-destination ./* /mnt/hda2/
4. # sync
5. Close the terminal.
6. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs file to unmount it

Since, in this example, you are copying the files to /mnt/hda2, I am assuming that you are installing the *devx*.sfs to the full hard drive installation while it is not running -- in other words, by running Puppy from another installation or CD, with the target installation mounted at /mnt/hda2. The instructions don't make it clear that you are doing that, and a new user might not realize that "/mnt/hda2/" is only an example, and is not cast in stone.

Of course I may have assumed wrongly. In which case /mnt/hda2/ is even more puzzling.


Thanks for that, all fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 10:30    Post subject:  

L18L wrote:
xorgwizard running in console seems missing the new console font .

I have noticed this because ö and ü had no correct display in dialogs.



Same for Spanish, written stress (á, é, í, ó, ú) and Ñ are replaced with random characters. In some parts even extra characters are added in random places, for example the picture below says 'kalgunas' instead of 'algunas'.

Barry,

As MoManager seems to include in the langpack only .mo files made through MoManager, the langpacks I make have the 44 files I made with MoManager so far but exclude the 50 .mo files of existing translations, some of them for applications not included in the list of .mo files (HomeBank, ePDFView, AbiWord etc.), that's why the created langpack is less than 200k. I also checked the generated folder langpack_es-xxxxx to find out why my new langpack doesn't install my translations in 'applications' and 'desktop-directories', these folders appear with a '.in' suffix, for example appliactions.in, so when I install my langpack I get an 'applications.in' folder outside the 'applications' directory. I modified the generated folder langpack_es-xxxxx (removed '.in' folder suffix and added existing translations to what has been done so far) and used don570's Right-Click to produce a langpack (over 1MB), then tested without pupsave and it worked, I could see the desktop, the menu and great part of the applications in Spanish. I also tried including the Spanish dictionary for AbiWord, the langpack installs the dictionary but for now I don't know how to set it as default. I attach that langpack to this post so that you can check it and let me know how I'm doing.

Something that doesn't really have to do with translations: I work on intel celeron machines, could it be that some of the things that don't work for me, but work for others, have to do with the kernel version in Racy? I mean, should I use Wary instead? For example, in the latest Racy ( 5.2.2.8 ) I can't launch PGPRS Setup, and I had to remove my flash drive to test my langpack because pfix=ram didn't work for me.
langpack_es-20120311.pet
Description  The most complete Spanish langpack so far, let me know how I'm doing
pet

 Download 
Filename  langpack_es-20120311.pet 
Filesize  1.55 MB 
Downloaded  199 Time(s) 
xorgwizard-spanish-characters-not-displayed-properly.jpg
 Description   Spanish written stress not displayed properly in console
 Filesize   68.55 KB
 Viewed   470 Time(s)

xorgwizard-spanish-characters-not-displayed-properly.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 14:30    Post subject:  

vicmz wrote:
L18L wrote:
xorgwizard running in console seems missing the new console font .

I have noticed this because ö and ü had no correct display in dialogs.



Same for Spanish, written stress (á, é, í, ó, ú) and Ñ are replaced with random characters. In some parts even extra characters are added in random places, for example the picture below says 'kalgunas' instead of 'algunas'.



I will download and look at this

----------------------------------


Result

I could reproduce above mentioned.
But in my running racy which has always been updated
everything was allright!

vicmz, please stay patient, next version will work OOTB Cool


http://fossies.org/linux/misc/kbd-1.15.3.tar.gz:a/kbd-1.15.3/data/consolefonts/README.LatGrkCyr

-----------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 05:44    Post subject:  

L18L wrote:
vicmz, please stay patient, next version will work OOTB Cool


Yes, Racy 5.2.2.9 should fix it! I am uploading it now, it is going slowly, will announce when ready.

5.2.2.9 is "5.3beta3" but is really of most interest to the language translators, as that is where most of the improvements have taken place.

L18L,
Yes, there are still some issues to work out in MoManager, we will see if we can fix those. There are still a few things in QuickSetup too, related to what happens after a user chooses to change locale.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 09:33    Post subject:  

L18L wrote:

I could reproduce above mentioned.
But in my running racy which has always been updated
everything was allright!


Thank you guys, I should definitely learn to use Woof and its updates Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 603
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 10:18    Post subject: Racy & The IRS  

For those who use Racy and are required to file a 1040a form for your income taxes, you may be interested to know...

You can download the .PDF 1040a 'fill-able form' from the IRS site...

http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html

Then go get 'Acrobat_Reader-9.3.3-Lucid.pet' from the puppy repository at:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/

Acrobat_Reader-9.3.3-Lucid.pet installs and 'works' in Racy very well (probably should be in Racy PPM).

Now you can use your computer to fill-in your 1040a and save it, print it out, mail it in. (Also, Should work fine for 'ANY' .PDF fill-in form.)

Acrobat_Reader-9.3.3-Lucid.pet is quiet large '68MB' so have enough savefile space available.

Hope you get a Large Return!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 10:44    Post subject: Wary/Racy 5.3beta3 (5.2.2.9)
Subject description: hostname and other items
 

Setting of hostname is in QuickSetup now.

But should not be in Change Resolution

---------

PPM: wrong path for langpacks
Testing file exists wrote:
Spider mode enabled. Check if remote file exists.
--2012-03-12 18:41:40-- http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-noarch/langpack_fr-20120307.pet
Resolving distro.ibiblio.org (distro.ibiblio.org)... 152.19.134.43
Connecting to distro.ibiblio.org (distro.ibiblio.org)|152.19.134.43|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found
Content-type: text/html
Connection: keep-alive
Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2012 17:40:24 GMT
Server: lighttpd/1.4.26
Remote file does not exist -- broken link!!!


http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-noarch/langpack_fr-20120307.pet

_________

Changes we had made in
/usr/share/sss/initrd_strings/initrd_strings.de (early boot messages)
are NOT automatically used.
edited: OK, I have changed them manually using "lang2initrd de"
_______
Change_resolution.png
 Description   
 Filesize   22.42 KB
 Viewed   1354 Time(s)

Change_resolution.png


Last edited by L18L on Tue 13 Mar 2012, 05:11; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 14:23    Post subject: Wary/Racy 5.3beta3 (5.2.2.9)  

.
Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 16 Mar 2012, 20:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 16:01    Post subject: Wary/Racy 5.3beta3 (5.2.2.9)
Subject description: smplayer sfs
 

I made an sfs file which contains the newest
smplayer-0.7.1,smtube-1.0, and qt-4.8.0
If you load smtube you can search youtube for any videos that you
would like to play/record and it will call smplayer to play the video.
The F11 function key in smplayer also calls smtube.

The download link for smplayer-0.7.1-i686-racy.sfs is:





http://www.datafilehost.com/download-3cbea789.html
smtube.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   225.47 KB
 Viewed   1257 Time(s)

smtube.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
esmourguit


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Sur l'ile aux oiseaux.

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2012, 09:18    Post subject:  

Bonjour à tous,

First test of Racy 5.2.2.9

Frugal install on ext3 partition : I copied files initrd.gz, vmlinuz and puppy_racy_5.2.2.9.sfs in directory Racy5229 and modified menu.lst of Grub4dos. No pupsave file.
I run new Racy 5.2.2.9 from grub4dos.

The boot was normal, but when the desktop is displayed, the proposed resolution was 1280x1024 for my old 17" RTC monitor whereas usually all previous versions offered me 1080x768.

In the window Quicksetup start, I changed the resolution to be 1024x768, chosen locale, keyboard and time zone.
I validated (it takes a relatively long time after validation and before displaying the popup listing the changes and to click on it, which may suggest that the machine no longer works),and unfortunately the resolution change has not turned out as expected.

I restarted X, without success.

So I launched the Xorg Wizard to return to the prompt, launched Xorgwizard, test equipment and I finally have the desired resolution. But the display is shifted to the right.

Cordialement Wink

_________________
Toutou Linux - Pets francisés
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 20 [293 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1287s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]