slacko 5.3.3, final

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#346 Post by bigpup »

01micko wrote:@gcmartin, I'm not adding java as a dep to the libre pet, it's optional and is (AFAIK) only needed for Base, which many users don't use. Can you link me to the exact Java pet that works correctly for you and I'll upload that too and make an sfs.
May be more to it.

Found this statement on Java in the LibreOffice Getting Started Guide.

Quote:
Some LibreOffice features (wizards and the HSQLDB database engine) require that the Java
Runtime Environment (JRE) 1.6.x or higher be installed on your computer. Although LibreOffice will work without Java support, some features will not be available. If you have an older PC and do not
need the features requiring the JRE, you can disable it to speed up the loading of the program.

Quote:
Base (database)
Base provides tools for day-to-day database work within a simple interface. It can create and edit
forms, reports, queries, tables, views, and relations, so that managing a connected database is much the same as in other popular database applications. Base provides many new features, such as the ability to analyze and edit relationships from a diagram view. Base incorporates HSQLDB as its default relational database engine. It can also use dBASE, Microsoft Access, MySQL, or Oracle, or any ODBC-compliant or JDBC-compliant database. Base also provides support for a subset of ANSI-92 SQL.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#347 Post by 01micko »

Karl Godt wrote:The xz compression was added to the standard kernel with version 2.6.38 .

Since There are/had been several Puppy kernels out version 2.6.39.x the code schould be something like

Code: Select all

KERNEL_VERSION=`uname -r`
KERNEL_VERSION="${KERNEL_VERSION//[[:punct:][:alpha:]]/}"
KERNEL_MAJOR="${KERNEL_VERSION:0:1}"
[ "$KERNEL_MAJOR" = 0 ] && KERNEL_VERSION=1000
KERNEL_VERSION="${KERNEL_VERSION:0:4}"
[ $KERNEL_VERSION -lt 1000 ] && KERNEL_VERSION=$((KERNEL_VERSION*10))
[ $KERNEL_VERSION -ge 2638 ] && COMP="-comp xz" #||gui to select compression
 
(I bloated it for test if kernel 0.9.x)
Thanks karl but I guess a better test is to just see if the thing exists so I made a different patch

EDIT:
Nah, patch removed, working patch and script in below post.

Iguleder, of course we should add more tests for arch to get the filter right so I'm just leaving it off for now.
Last edited by 01micko on Sat 28 Apr 2012, 04:09, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#348 Post by 01micko »

peebee wrote:
Hi Mick

Which version of the Broadcom sources are your pets?

Please see my efforts at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495

I'll point people to your pets if they are the latest 5.100 versions...

Have you included rerwin's logic to avoid having to do blacklisting?

Cheers
Peter
Bugger! I hate duplification of effort, I guess I should have looked more closely!

Can you post rerwin's code please? And is it in a conf file or as a pinstall.sh?

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

#349 Post by peebee »

01micko wrote:Can you post rerwin's code please? And is it in a conf file or as a pinstall.sh?

Cheers
Hi Mick

This is the latest version of Richard's initialisation logic that he sent to me to combine with wl.ko compiled from the Broadcom source - it is both conf files plural (3) and a pinstall.

It's this code that is now in pemasu's Precise Puppy 5.3.3.3

It is more complicated than you might expect because it not only deals with the wl / b43 contention situation but also is setup ready to fallback to an earlier version of the wl driver (5.60) if that is present when the 5.100 driver fails (only 1 report of this to date).

We've also applied the patch to the Broadcom source to cause it to create wlan% instead of eth% as the eth% seems to confuse both sns and some users sometimes.

Should I also send you the 5.100 source with all the patches for wlan% and also for k2.6.39 and also > k3.2???

Cheers
Peter
Attachments
peebee-support_components_for_broadcom-wifi_drvr_pkgs-1.pet
(2.76 KiB) Downloaded 610 times
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#350 Post by 01micko »

peebee wrote:
Should I also send you the 5.100 source with all the patches for wlan% and also for k2.6.39 and also > k3.2???

Cheers
Peter
If I can get confirmation from cthisbear or anyone else that your drivers are fine (on Slacko) then I'll remove mine and upload yours.

Please post the patched source, I'm not sure of the legal requirements in this department.. are you even allowed to patch broadcom source? I guess they would want to know about it.

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

#351 Post by peebee »

01micko wrote: Please post the patched source, I'm not sure of the legal requirements in this department.. are you even allowed to patch broadcom source? I guess they would want to know about it.

Cheers
Hi Mick

I've not done your PAE version - only your vanilla kernel version........

Both ubuntu and debian have patched the source - that's where we got the patches from - don't know if this makes it legal....

It'll take me a bit to package up the source suitable for posting........I'll pm it to you.

Cheers
Peter
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#352 Post by 01micko »

peebee wrote:
Hi Mick

I've not done your PAE version - only your vanilla kernel version........

Both ubuntu and debian have patched the source - that's where we got the patches from - don't know if this makes it legal....

It'll take me a bit to package up the source suitable for posting........I'll pm it to you.

Cheers
Peter
Ok, thanks, I was about to ask about the pae vesion. Also, I posted in your thread about possible problems with permissions on /tmp.

I dislike the idea of using /tmp in pets. You can always create an "install" directory and remove it in the pinstall once all procedures have taken place.

Also. the pinstall.sh needs work to be woof compliant. Bit of a minefield this broadcom stuff!!!
Last edited by 01micko on Fri 27 Apr 2012, 22:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#353 Post by pemasu »

Most distros have patched the 32-bit driver 5.100.82.112 10/25/2011 wl module source....because it needs a patch for 3.2 - 3.3 kernels.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#354 Post by playdayz »

Someone else might want to test the xz patch to remasterpup2 because it is not working for me. However I made a Slacko Libre by manually compressing the sfs and got big space savings.

324 MB default (old-style) gzip (this was the one posted)
272 MB -comp xz
260 MB -comp xz -Xbcj x86 (suggested by iguleder)

That 260 will almost copy into ram on ICPUG's 512MB machine *with* java. Also, I tested and the responsiveness didn't seem any slower because of the higher compression.

User avatar
zekebaby
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu 18 Nov 2010, 03:47

Dell C610 no sound

#355 Post by zekebaby »

Sound does not work on a Dell C610 using the latest .5 beta. Alsa wizard detects the Intel sound card and goes through it's configuration without error. Test sound does not make any sound, but does not throw an error. Volume set to max.

Sound works well in Wary 5.3 and Lucid Puppy 5.28 (005)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

Re: Dell C610 no sound

#356 Post by 01micko »

zekebaby wrote:Sound does not work on a Dell C610 using the latest .5 beta. Alsa wizard detects the Intel sound card and goes through it's configuration without error. Test sound does not make any sound, but does not throw an error. Volume set to max.

Sound works well in Wary 5.3 and Lucid Puppy 5.28 (005)
hmmmm.. if it worked in previous versions that is strange as nothing to do with sound settings has changed. Did a reboot help? A setting in alsamixer?
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#357 Post by 01micko »

Firstly

Libre Office pet, useful for full installs, or running in large RAM. If you use in a pupsave make sure you have at least 600M free or you get corruption when the pet installs. Usefull for woofing too as the pinstall is woof compliant.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/dis ... -3.5.2.pet 151M, US only, get the language packs from the libre site.(debs are easiest).

It includes playdayz integration and the pinstall makes all the defaults point to libre writer, calc, etc.

_________________________________________________

Secondly

I patched remasterpup2 and tested working. I was close before but the option was in the wrong place. It also has the extra option for x86 and I have added code to accommodate for when x86_64 and arm arches become a reality.

Code: Select all

--- remasterpup2.orig	2011-09-04 16:55:49.000000000 +1000
+++ remasterpup2	2012-04-28 15:34:06.000000000 +1000
@@ -38,6 +38,7 @@
 #110722 tweak sort.
 #110808 PANZERKOPF: bug fix.
 #110902 rodin.s bug fix.
+#120426 01micko support xz compression
 
 [ "`whoami`" != "root" ] && exec sudo -A ${0} ${@} #110505
 
@@ -236,6 +237,21 @@
 LANG=C #faster, plus Xdialog happier.
 KERNELVER="`uname -r`"
 
+#set compression 01micko 120428
+COMP=""
+mksquashfs -help &>/tmp/mk #refuses to grep from stdout
+grep 'xz' /tmp/mk &>/dev/null
+[ "$?" = "0" ] && COMP="-comp xz"
+ARCH="`uname -m`"
+[ "$(uname -m|grep ^i)" ] && ARCH="`uname -m|cut -c3,4`"
+case "$ARCH" in 
+86)AOPT="-Xbcj x86" ;;
+*)AOPT="" ;; #todo add other arches
+esac
+rm /tmp/mk
+COPTIONS=""${COMP}" "${AOPT}""
+#end set compression
+
 #variables created at bootup by /initrd/usr/sbin/init...
 . /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
 [ "$PUP_LAYER" = "" ] && PUP_LAYER="/pup_ro2"
@@ -507,7 +523,7 @@
   ANOTHER_REMOVE="/lib/modules"
 fi
 # display terminal only for the first stage because it takes the most of time. 'squash' is a function, see above.
-squash / $WKGMNTPT/puppylivecdbuild/$PUPPYSFS -e /etc /proc /initrd /var /tmp /archive /mnt /root /puppylivecdbuild $ANOTHER_REMOVE $DIRHOME $DIRSYS $DIRLOST /$PUPPYSFS
+squash / $WKGMNTPT/puppylivecdbuild/$PUPPYSFS "${COPTIONS}" -e /etc /proc /initrd /var /tmp /archive /mnt /root /puppylivecdbuild $ANOTHER_REMOVE $DIRHOME $DIRSYS $DIRLOST /$PUPPYSFS
 sync
 
 #add pristine folders (out of current puppy.sfs)...
@@ -688,6 +704,8 @@
 Xdialog --wrap --left  --title "$m_01" --msgbox "$m_23" 0 0
 
 sync
+
+
 mksquashfs /tmp/etc $WKGMNTPT/puppylivecdbuild/$PUPPYSFS -keep-as-directory
 sync
 rm -rf /tmp/etc
Attached is the script. I produced a remaster with Libre and Firefox that weighs in at 245M and I removed nothing. I am posting from it now.
Attachments
remasterpup2.gz
gunzip, chmod 755 and overwrite the one in /usr/sbin.
(11.36 KiB) Downloaded 685 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
zekebaby
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu 18 Nov 2010, 03:47

Re: Dell C610 no sound

#358 Post by zekebaby »

01micko wrote:
zekebaby wrote:Sound does not work on a Dell C610 using the latest .5 beta. Alsa wizard detects the Intel sound card and goes through it's configuration without error. Test sound does not make any sound, but does not throw an error. Volume set to max.

Sound works well in Wary 5.3 and Lucid Puppy 5.28 (005)
hmmmm.. if it worked in previous versions that is strange as nothing to do with sound settings has changed. Did a reboot help? A setting in alsamixer?
Although I didn't keep any old betas, I'm pretty sure it worked in previous versions as well. I rebooted with 'pfix=ram' and nothing improved. I'll try again when I get the laptop back tomorrow. Is there anything in particular you'd like me to check?

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

Re: Dell C610 no sound

#359 Post by 01micko »

zekebaby wrote:Is there anything in particular you'd like me to check?
Nothing in particular, as long as wireless is ok. You can try the new remaster script :lol:
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#360 Post by 01micko »

RC is out

see main post
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

cthisbear
Posts: 4422
Joined: Sun 29 Jan 2006, 22:07
Location: Sydney Australia

#361 Post by cthisbear »

RC is out :

And it worketh on the dreaded Dell.

Dell Studio XPS.

Sound works.

Screen works.

Wireless >> encryted wpa2 etc.

"""""""""

I did try Peebees patch on the previous release....today.
It saw the wireless but failed to find interface????

I had things to do after AM yesterday, so I couldn't
report back here.

Anyway....good work...and nicer pic mate.

Thanks again uncle Mick.

Youse did good...Aka Jeff Fenech.

Chris.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#362 Post by 01micko »

cthisbear wrote:RC is out :

And it worketh on the dreaded Dell.

Dell Studio XPS.

Sound works.

Screen works.

Wireless >> encryted wpa2 etc.

"""""""""

I did try Peebees patch on the previous release....today.
It saw the wireless but failed to find interface????

I had things to do after AM yesterday, so I couldn't
report back here.

Anyway....good work...and nicer pic mate.

Thanks again uncle Mick.

Youse did good...Aka Jeff Fenech.

Chris.
Yippee!
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
smokey01
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat 30 Dec 2006, 23:15
Location: South Australia :-(
Contact:

#363 Post by smokey01 »

Good job mate.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#364 Post by James C »

Quick live pfix=ram sanity check of Slacko 5.3.2.9 RC. Internet,sound and display all working and correct on initial boot.No problem downloading and installing Flash.From a quick test,looks really solid. :)

# report-video
nouveau
Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.2.9 on Sat 28 Apr 2012

Chip description:
d.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-86 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1366x768 pixels (361x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 2854MB (160MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat 28 Apr 2012 08:31:52 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]

-Version-
Kernel : Linux 3.1.10-slacko_4gA (i686)
Compiled : #1 SMP Tue Mar 13 14:58:11 EST 2012
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.13 (stable)
Default C Compiler : Unknown
Distribution : Unknown distribution

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#365 Post by James C »

Successfully made a slackosave.3fs file on a usb flash drive ....no problems and no shutdown difficulties as have been reported on other Puppy versions.
Now for a frugal install on the Athlon XP box......

Post Reply