Puppi Raspberry Pi Hardware

News, happenings
Message
Author
User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#226 Post by Dave_G »

@raffy

USB 1-1:1-0 does not mean the speed.
It's the way Linux names USB ports and hubs (either on the motherboard or external).
Means root_hub = 1, hub_port=1, config=1, interface=0.

For more info on USB, try:

lsusb

or even:

dmesg | grep usb

Don't know if the distros for Pi has lsusb (some Puppies don't) but worth a try.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#227 Post by Lobster »

Perhaps the X is display number (0, 1, etc etc)
Did not work
worth a try

thanks for error message on boot post rokytnji
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#228 Post by Dave_G »

Lobster

Another thought.
Knowing how paranoid Debian is about security, perhaps JWM not running
has something to do with permissions?

EDIT:
Something else you could try is:

strace jwm (plus any extra parameters needed for jwm)

Then watch the output for any messages.
I often use strace for misbehaving apps.
Gives out a wealth of information.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#229 Post by Lobster »

USB info:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 04f3:0210 Elan Microelectronics Corp. AM-400 Hama Optical Mouse
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 04d9:1603 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. Keyboard
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
pi@raspberrypi:~$ 

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~$ dmesg | grep usb
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
usbcore: registered new device driver usb
usbcore: registered new interface driver smsc95xx
usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_ncm
dwc_otg bcm2708_usb: DWC OTG Controller
dwc_otg bcm2708_usb: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
dwc_otg bcm2708_usb: irq 75, io mem 0x00000000
usb usb1: New USB device found, idVendor=1d6b, idProduct=0002
usb usb1: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=2, SerialNumber=1
usb usb1: Product: DWC OTG Controller
usb usb1: Manufacturer: Linux 3.1.9+ dwc_otg_hcd
usb usb1: SerialNumber: bcm2708_usb
usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
usbcore: registered new interface driver libusual
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbhid
usbhid: USB HID core driver
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device number 2 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1: New USB device found, idVendor=0424, idProduct=9512
usb 1-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=0, Product=0, SerialNumber=0
usb 1-1.1: new high speed USB device number 3 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.1: New USB device found, idVendor=0424, idProduct=ec00
usb 1-1.1: New USB device strings: Mfr=0, Product=0, SerialNumber=0
smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: register 'smsc95xx' at usb-bcm2708_usb-1.1, smsc95xx USB 2.0 Ethernet, b8:27:eb:24:fb:10
usb 1-1.2: new low speed USB device number 4 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=04d9, idProduct=1603
usb 1-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 1-1.2: Product: USB Keyboard
usb 1-1.2: Manufacturer:  
input:   USB Keyboard as /devices/platform/bcm2708_usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.2/1-1.2:1.0/input/input0
generic-usb 0003:04D9:1603.0001: input: USB HID v1.10 Keyboard [  USB Keyboard] on usb-bcm2708_usb-1.2/input0
input:   USB Keyboard as /devices/platform/bcm2708_usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.2/1-1.2:1.1/input/input1
generic-usb 0003:04D9:1603.0002: input: USB HID v1.10 Device [  USB Keyboard] on usb-bcm2708_usb-1.2/input1
usb 1-1.3: new full speed USB device number 5 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.3: New USB device found, idVendor=05e3, idProduct=0606
usb 1-1.3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 1-1.3: Product: USB Hub 2.0
usb 1-1.3: Manufacturer: ALCOR
usb 1-1.3.1: new full speed USB device number 6 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.3.1: not running at top speed; connect to a high speed hub
usb 1-1.3.1: New USB device found, idVendor=18a5, idProduct=0304
usb 1-1.3.1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
usb 1-1.3.1: Product: STORE N GO
usb 1-1.3.1: Manufacturer: Verbatim
usb 1-1.3.1: SerialNumber: AA04012700031237
scsi0 : usb-storage 1-1.3.1:1.0
usb 1-1.3.4: new low speed USB device number 7 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.3.4: New USB device found, idVendor=04f3, idProduct=0210
usb 1-1.3.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=0, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 1-1.3.4: Product: PS/2+USB Mouse
input: PS/2+USB Mouse as /devices/platform/bcm2708_usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.3/1-1.3.4/1-1.3.4:1.0/input/input2
generic-usb 0003:04F3:0210.0003: input: USB HID v1.11 Mouse [PS/2+USB Mouse] on usb-bcm2708_usb-1.3.4/input0
usb 1-1.3.4: USB disconnect, device number 7
usb 1-1.3: USB disconnect, device number 5
usb 1-1.3.1: USB disconnect, device number 6
usb 1-1.3: new low speed USB device number 8 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.3: New USB device found, idVendor=04f3, idProduct=0210
usb 1-1.3: New USB device strings: Mfr=0, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 1-1.3: Product: PS/2+USB Mouse
input: PS/2+USB Mouse as /devices/platform/bcm2708_usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.3/1-1.3:1.0/input/input3
generic-usb 0003:04F3:0210.0004: input: USB HID v1.11 Mouse [PS/2+USB Mouse] on usb-bcm2708_usb-1.3/input0
thanks Dave,
will try jwm suggestion 8)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#230 Post by Lobster »

strace jwm
Gives out too much info to post or analyse for now
The existing window manager is fine anyhows :)

useful command to know though . . . :)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#231 Post by Dave_G »

No prob.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Glad to see it's 2.0

As regards the strace command, you could always pipe the output to a file
and analyze it later or post it here as a .zip or .tar

strace jwm (plus parameters) > /some/path/strace-result.txt

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#232 Post by sickgut »

re: lobster's jwm not working

There is a little oddity that i came across when i was making pussy, i know this is a different process type but im told that the debian arm repo is the same as the normal intel cpu based repo, just compiled for arm, so this may actually work.

After booting a bare debian and apt-get install xorg jwm
(ie, installing xorg AND jwm, but i know xorg is already installed in this case so this just applies to jwm....)

then running startx, i was confronted with a black screen. xinit still works, ie.. xorg with no window manager.... but no jwm.

Apparently there is a little bug with JWM in debian because when it is installed via apt-get, it forgets to make JWM the default window manager.

there is a command to make it the default WM but i forget what that is, there is also a file to edit to make it be default WM but i also forget.

The way i got around this is after apt-getting jwm, i also run: apt-get install fluxbox

and BOOM.... there is a line spat out at the end of it installing saying that fluxbox is now the default WM. Ofause this is no good coz you want JWM, so then i ran: apt-get purge fluxbox

and it removes fluxbox but..... but right at the end there is a message saying that JWM is the new default WM. Run startx and boom xorg/ jwm is all there ready to go.

Also dont forget you can run xorg with no WM by typing: xinit
then once in Xorg you can then type: jwm
and then the jwm WM should run.

However... LXDE is something unfamiliar with me, and if you really just want to use JWM then you should apt-get install jwm then apt-get purge LXDE ..... then apt-get install rox-filer and you should have that un mistakable puppy look and feel (after expending most your life force and energy and about 20 years work worth of customization etc...)

in short: jwm install doesnt run the trigger that makes it a default wm, it needs to be tricked into being a default wm.

-------------------------------

also i hear ppl refering to a rasp emulator.. can someone please point me in the right direction to find this. Im about as useful at using google as the a pistol shooting at a tank in battlefield 1942

User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#233 Post by Dave_G »

With reference to the simple DAC for the RPI I mentioned several posts back,
attached is a zip file containing 2 PDFs with a circuit diagram and 1:1 PCB
layout for those that might be interested in building one of these.
Attachments
RPI-DAC.zip
(58.41 KiB) Downloaded 354 times

Pence
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat 30 Jul 2005, 13:27

#234 Post by Pence »

.
Last edited by Pence on Mon 23 Apr 2012, 14:09, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#235 Post by Dave_G »

sickgut

Here is a link to a very informative and long (1hour 9 minutes) youtube video
where the guy goes thru step by step on running the Debian image for Pi on Qemu.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hwx2HD-JGtg

He also explains a network bug/problem in the current image that will crash qemu
and how he overcomes it.

He also briefly mentions the idea of clustering RPIs.

EDIT:

After the introductory music, there is audio commentary but it's very soft.

rokytnji
Posts: 2262
Joined: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 15:54

#236 Post by rokytnji »

there is also a file to edit to make it be default WMbut i forget what that is

Code: Select all

#xset m 10 2
xmodmap -e 'pointer = 1 2 3 4 5'

# The following line gets changed by antiX-init.sh with the desktop= cheatcode
XINITRC_DEFAULT="startlxde"


case $1 in
icewm)
	exec icewm-session
	;;

lxde) 
        exec startlxde
        ;;

xfce)
        exec startxfce4
        ;;

dwm)
        exec dwm
        ;;

wmii)
        exec wmii
        ;;

fvwm-crystal)
        exec fvwm-crystal 
        ;;

kde)
        exec startkde
        ;;

gnome)
        exec gnome-session
        ;;

openbox)
        exec openbox-session
        ;;

fluxbox)
	exec startfluxbox
	;;

Rox-fluxbox)
        rox --pinboard=antiX
        exec startfluxbox
        ;; 

Rox-icewm)
        rox --pinboard=antiX
        exec icewm-session
        ;;

*)
	exec $XINITRC_DEFAULT
	;;
esac
this is my stock ~/.xinitrc file with LXDE set to autostart.

Full path is /home/harry/.xinitrc
I use Slim Login Manager though instead of

Code: Select all

startx

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#237 Post by Lobster »

Just reporting in 8)
http://raspberrypy.tumblr.com/post/2141 ... to-develop

A bit more luck using aptitude a front end to apt-get or is it different?
http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/aptitude
Using another distro is hard going
With all respect to Debian for getting a working OS on Raspberry, there is a lot of work to be done.
My hope is Woof2 and smarter dogs with their abilities.

Now announced as the Raspberry PupPy project
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 421#621421
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

rokytnji
Posts: 2262
Joined: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 15:54

#238 Post by rokytnji »

Apt, which basically resolves problems of dependencies and retrieves the requested packages, works with dpkg, another tool, which handles the actual installation and removal of packages (applications). Apt is very powerful, and is primarily used on the command line (console/terminal). There are, however, many GUI/Graphical tools to let you use Apt without having to touch the command line.

At the present time, aptitude is the recommended tool for interaction with the APT suite. APT tools should be used for specific management actions that may not be covered by aptitude, or where the latter behaves more aggressively with dependencies.
http://wiki.debian.org/Apt

Me. I don't mix the two. I just run apt instead of running both.
Reason is. Aptitude can be pretty aggressive compared to apt-get. It can ou remove more than you bargained for during a dist-upgrade command or application upgrade command.
Just a personal preference for me.

So since I run a rolling release way with testing and unstable repositories (depending on which computer I am running. Some are unstable AntiX Debian installs, Some are testing AntiX Debian installs). I don't do Debian Stable. This keeps me current without any need for a reinstall like Ubuntu or Open Suse or other non rolling releases do.

Hope that helps.

Edit: A quote by craiigevil . A long time Debian user I admire.
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... st-330913/

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#239 Post by Lobster »

Hope that helps.
It does. It makes a lot of sense.

I will look again at the ARM depositories.
It is possible not much is compiled for them.
I am loath to start compiling. For example I need gtkdialog
but was unable to find it in either apt-get or aptitude.

The rpm distros, Arch and Fedora, have their own difficulties. For me it is better to focus on a recommended release.
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#240 Post by Dave_G »

Lobster

I have never been a Debian fan and the "shortage" of ARM software also makes things more difficult.

Being a bit of a CLI junkie I think I will take ArchLinux for a spin when I get my Pi.

As Puppy users we have been spoilt and won't be truly happy till we get Puppy on our PIs.

Be patient it will come, after all root wasn't built in a day. :-)

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#241 Post by Lobster »

Being a bit of a CLI junkie I think I will take ArchLinux for a spin when I get my Pi.
Sounds good.
Woof2 does have support for Arch as far as I know
No one has compiled an Arch Pup. Doing it for ARM will be more of a challenge.

It would make sense to try the Arch download - yes it goes to cli but I am almost a beginner on cli - how hard can it be :?

. . . I may just have to download and try it . . . :lol:

Puppy Linux
Play time for Penguins
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
Dave_G
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 13:53

#242 Post by Dave_G »

Lobster

You mentioned you needed gtkdialog, have you tried the following:

http://packages.debian.org/lenny/arm/gtkdialog/download

More info here:

http://packages.debian.org/lenny/gtkdialog

http://packages.debian.org/lenny/arm/gtkdialog/filelist

Dunno what diffs there are between lenny and the PI distro, but may work.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#243 Post by Lobster »

I am in Arch Linux at the moment.
:)
Trying to run the setup program.
Does not seem to be there, in the Raspberry Pi version of arch Linux.
Just to remind everyone, there is now a Raspberry
PupPy post under projects in the forum.
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#244 Post by sickgut »

Lobster wrote:
Hope that helps.
It does. It makes a lot of sense.

I will look again at the ARM depositories.
It is possible not much is compiled for them.
I am loath to start compiling. For example I need gtkdialog
but was unable to find it in either apt-get or aptitude.

The rpm distros, Arch and Fedora, have their own difficulties. For me it is better to focus on a recommended release.
hi lobster

a program that works the same as apt-get but is GUI based is synaptic, just apt-get install synaptic

it uses apt-get as a backend, its good because you can browse apps etc before you install them, so you dont have to guess what things are called when you type apt-get install etc....

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#245 Post by Lobster »

just apt-get install synaptic
I installed it
Rpi HQ brought out a new Squeeze
Synaptic and all my settings got synapticated [uninstalled or overwritten] during the install of new image
I did look at synaptic and have used it many moons ago . . .
Could not find gtkdialog.
May reinstall . . . I looked at aptitude due to frustration over finding packages. Getting to grips with apt-get now . . .

Many thanks . . .
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

Post Reply