Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 20:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
CPU doesn't detect monitor?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
ikaros262

Joined: 11 Jan 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 19:30    Post subject:  CPU doesn't detect monitor?  

CPU works, monitor remains standby, even though it's plugged in to the CPU! Instead of the usual BIOS and Windows start the monitor remains standby, but the CPU works as usual. Why does this happen? And the worst (and absurd) part, my sister blames it on me and my Puppy live CD. How can a live CD damage a monitor? Puppy version is latest Slacko and latest Racy beta. Windows version is XP. Hardware... unkown brand intel celeron powered CPU and CRT monitor.
Last edited by ikaros262 on Wed 29 Feb 2012, 22:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3553
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 19:39    Post subject:  

1. Are you saying that when you hit the startup button on the PC, you get no subsequent display image on the monitor?

2. Do you hear a single short beep indicating successful completion of the POST?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11181
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 19:43    Post subject:  

How long has it been since the computer had a good cleaning on the inside? Dust tends to build up inside a computer because of the fan, and electronics doesn't like dust. At least unplug the monitor and plug it back in (checking that the plug and cord look ok). See if that fixes the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 19:49    Post subject:  

Windoze...?

unplug then replug the monitor lead....

Try booting into safe mode

.....sounds like it's lost some drivers or something

btw, bad use of technical terms...I think you mean PC where you use cpu

Your title is wrong, too....monitors don't detect anything....they get detected

Is that picky?

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ikaros262

Joined: 11 Jan 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 22:22    Post subject:  

@Sylvander
1. Yes, that's what I mean
2. This machine hasn't got any beep

@Flash
I think that, too. We live in a town on a non-paved street and the computer's beside the front door, which is always open.

@Aitch
Sorry, not picky at all.
In my country a PC is the whole set with monitor, CPU, keyboard and mouse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3553
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 04:27    Post subject:  

1. "This machine hasn't got any beep"
(a) Which means that the POST isn't completing [provided the internal speaker is functional].
Usual cause when there is no single beep, and no other warning beeps is...
Failure of the initialization of the video card. [Faulty card, or failure to connect]
But could be an inadequate or faulty PSU. [Swap in a known good PSU if in doubt]
Or a faulty CMOS battery. [Keep this in mind, you might want to replace it]
Explanation: Most BIOS's don't generate any warning beeps at failure to initialize the video card.
Fix: Try swapping in a known good video card, or else clean the connections of the existing video card and socket.

(b) To check whether the POST is starting, running and testing...
Startup the PC with ALL RAM removed [none in place].
The 1st RAM test should fail, and warning beeps should be generated and heard. [Means the POST got that far]
[If the internal speaker isn't functioning, the beeps may be generated by the BIOS, but not produced/heard]

(c) The thorough method is:
Have the mobo out of the PC on a non-conducting surface [to eliminate the possibility of shorting to the case].
Disconnect all but essential components [for a bare-bones boot].
i.e. Connect only: mobo, CPU+heatsink+fan, PSU. [No video card or RAM]
Use the on-switch if you think it's OK, otherwise short the pins on the mobo.
The Post should start, run, test, and at the failure of the 1st RAM test, generate warning beeps. [A good result]
[Power-off, and] Connect the video card and switch on; you should still hear the RAM warning.
Now [Power-off, and] connect 1 stick of known good RAM in the 1st RAM slot, and switch on.
There should now be no RAM warning beeps, and the POST should continue on to initialize the video card.
If that succeeds, you should hear the single short beep, and see a display on the monitor [provided the monitor is properly connected].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RJARRRPCGP

Joined: 09 Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 01:31    Post subject:  

Video card problem is usually 1 long and 3 short bleeps.

Zero bleeps= I would reseat everything.

No bleeps at all= Reminds me of when I killed my T-bird 1.3 because of crushing the chip when putting the heatsink on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puponmanyoldlaptops

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Pacific Northwest

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 02:33    Post subject: CPU doesn't detect monitor?  

A live Linux CD (Puppy or who's ever), won't wreck a CPU's monitor detection.

First thing I'd do is open the CPU and verify the video card is still seated in its slot.

If the computer now boots you're back in Sis's good graces. If not, my next step would be to assume the resolution was changed to one that the monitor can't handle.

This can involve removing the CMOS battery so all settings default to factory set.

This might be the fix.


Puponmany oldlaptops
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0570s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]