Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Sep 2019, 01:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
HOWTO: Edit autoexec.bat to Boot Puppy by Choice For Pup4DOS
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2006, 01:12    Post subject:  HOWTO: Edit autoexec.bat to Boot Puppy by Choice For Pup4DOS  

I've been working on something a little neat in my opinion. It took me about an hour to get the DOS command syntax right (I'm tired ok?). This is for those who are using Pup4DOS to boot puppy off the c: drive of a Windows 9x, ME computer. For a Windows ME-based computer, you'll need to download a patch before this will work, here's the address: http://www.geocities.com/mfd4life_2000/ )

Note: This is very simple and step by step. Follow it exactly and there really shouldn't be any problems. It's fool-proof! I made sure of that.

First copy the usr_cram.fs, vmlinuz, and image.gz from the CD to your c: drive. Then download and extract Pup4DOS and move all files to the c: drive as well (the text files can be excluded). After that's all done, open c:\autoexec.bat in notepad. Now we're going to edit it.

It may just look like this:
Code:
@echo off


Add "win" on its own line under everything , but without the quotes. It should look similar to this:
Code:
@echo off
win


After that is done, skip a line and add ":puppy" without the quotes. Press enter and put in "call puppy.bat", without the quotes. After that is good and done, you should have something similar to this:
Code:
@echo off
win

:puppy
call puppy.bat


Now for the long part. Place the cursor at the very beginning of everything and hit enter twice, thus creating 2 empty lines. Go all the way back to the top and type this in (or copy and paste):
Code:
@echo off
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo What Operating System Would You Like to Boot Today?
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo 1) Microsoft Windows 98SE
echo 2) Puppy Linux
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo Note: Windows defaults after 10 seconds.
echo ----------------------------------------------------
choice /c:12 /n /t1,10 Boot:
if errorlevel 2 goto puppy


That's pretty much it. You can change Windows 98SE to whatever version of windows you have. Here's exactly what my autoexec.bat looks like (and it works Very Happy):
Code:
@echo off
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo What Operating System Would You Like to Boot Today?
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo 1) Microsoft Windows 98SE
echo 2) Puppy Linux
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo Note: Windows defaults after 10 seconds.
echo ----------------------------------------------------
choice /c:12 /n /t1,10 Boot:
if errorlevel 2 goto puppy

cls
C:\ESSAUDIO.COM -BLASTER
@echo off
Set tvdumpflags=8
win

:puppy
call puppy.bat


If yours looks somewhat like that, then you're fine, done. Just press the number 1 or the number 2 on your keyboard where "Boot:" appears on the screen and it will boot accordingly to the number you entered.

Note: The lines "C:\ESSAUDIO.COM -BLASTER" and "Set tvdumpflags=8" are special to my computer and may not be on yours. If yours doesn't have it or there's something else there, don't worry about it.

Note: The line that has "cls" is optional. That only tells it to clear the screen of the boot options.

_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.

Last edited by ChazZTheSpazZ on Wed 17 May 2006, 16:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2006, 13:21    Post subject:  

Cool how to Chazz, Is this the only way to dual boot puppy and win9x?? Or just the way you did it??

Rolling Eyes Wink

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2006, 13:25    Post subject:  

I'm sure there are other ways, but this is just how I did it and it works great. I'm running puppy 1.0.3 on it now, but only because I can't find my 1.0.7 CD. I think I may just download 1.0.8.
_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fisherman

Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2006, 14:38    Post subject:  

Hi,

I'm running puppy 1.0.7 on hard disc installation dual booting with Win 98SE and was interested to read your autoexec.bat tip. When I checked out my autoexec.bat file it didn't look like I'd expected based on your post however in my puppy folder on C drive there was a puppy.bat which looked very similar to your modified autoexec.bat. I just saved this C:/puppy/puppy.bat as c:/autoexec.bat and it does the same job

Fisherman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2006, 10:22    Post subject:  

Fisherman wrote:
When I checked out my autoexec.bat file it didn't look like I'd expected based on your post however in my puppy folder on C drive there was a puppy.bat which looked very similar to your modified autoexec.bat. I just saved this C:/puppy/puppy.bat as c:/autoexec.bat and it does the same job


I never did look at exactly what puppy.bat had, but if it works then go with it
Very Happy .

_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 357
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2006, 20:11    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info ChazZ

I got pup4DOS-0.5.zip to unzip using original folder info and create a
c:\puppy folder with all its contents. I used your autoexec.bat script almost verbatim - but I changed the call for puppy.bat to
call c:\puppy\puppy.bat (to handle the folder)

C:\puppy\ puppy.bat starts with a cd c:\puppy so all is well and none of files here need to be duplicated into c:\

I changed the puppy.cfg PFILE reference from pup1 to pup001 and my desktop PC was off and running with a problem-free menu boot to the puppy files created by LivePuppy1.0.8rl.

One caveat - I later repeated this on my NEC Versa SX laptop and all went well, the boot messages said everything was fine right up to the end - and then - a BLANK video screen - and no way of getting to the command line that I knew of.

It turned out that the Xvesa video drivers in the 1.0.8rl handled the LCD screen of the laptop with no problem but something in the pup4DOS menu bootup wasn't the same and the Xvesa setting didn't work. I finally solved this by live booting to puppy and then changing video driver to a Xorg LCD 1024 x 760 x 24 driver which works in both Live and non-Live versions.

My LivePuppy CD is now getting a well earned rest.

Last edited by r__hughes on Wed 26 Apr 2006, 20:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 357
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2006, 20:13    Post subject:  

- deleted double post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
computertech

Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 04 May 2006, 08:45    Post subject: Boot to CD and copy automatically to C Drive  

I loved the example from Chaz the Spaz concerning editiing your AutoExec bat file to give you a menu choice in Windws to boot to Windows or Puppy.

I need help in going one step further. I would like to create a batch file that would allow me to boot off of a CD and automatically copy the usr_cram.fs, vmlinuz, and image.gz from the CD to my c: drive. Can someone help me create the Batch file?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2006, 04:31    Post subject:  

What do you mean? If all of those files are on the c:\ drive, then the CD isn't needed.

I did take this one step further, in a different direction, though. I recently installed BeOS (out of curiosity) and configured autoexec.bat to triple boot Windows 98, Puppy, and BeOS. As you will notice, I eliminated the puppy.bat script and just took the lines that I figured looked most important and just added them to autoexec.bat. It works perfectly. (Note: I have come to find out that BeOS doesn't really compare to Puppy Linux (in my opinion) but it's still something new to play around with.)

Here's what my autoexec.bat looks like now:
Code:

@echo off
cls
echo ---------------------------------------------------
echo What Operating System Would You Like to Boot Today?
echo ---------------------------------------------------
echo 1) Microsoft Windows 98SE
echo 2) Puppy Linux 1.0.8r1
echo 3) BeOS 5 Personal Edition
echo ---------------------------------------------------
echo Note: Windows defaults after 10 seconds.
echo ---------------------------------------------------
choice /c:123 /n /t:1,10 Boot:
if errorlevel 1 goto windows

:windows
if errorlevel 2 goto puppy
cls
C:\ESSAUDIO.COM -BLASTER
@echo off
Set tvdumpflags=8
win

:puppy
if errorlevel 3 goto beos
cls
cd puppy
cd boot
tiny.exe vmlinuz image.gz @puppy.cfg
tiny.exe vmlinuz initrd.gz @puppy.cfg

:beos
cls
cd beos
call loadbeos.com


Also, you'll notice that my puppy files (image.gz, puppy.cfg, tiny.exe, vmlinuz) have been moved to a folder named boot inside a folder named puppy, with the exception of my pup1 file, user_cram.fs, and usr_more.fs (for wine). I added cls to :windows, :puppy, and :beos too. It clears the screen, making it look more 'professional'.

If you'd like to check out BeOS, you'll find it at BeBits.com.

_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2119
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2006, 08:34    Post subject:  

This doesn't seem to work on my Windows ME laptop. I would love to get rid of this boot floppy. Also tried the grub wizard but it keeps telling me I don't seem to have a linux partition (which I don't).
Here is my autoexec.bat:

Code:
@echo off
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo What Operating System Would You Like to Use?
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo 1) Microsoft Windows
echo 2) Puppy Linux
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo Note: Windows defaults after 10 seconds.
echo ----------------------------------------------------
choice /c:12 /n /t1,10 Boot:
if errorlevel 2 goto puppy


@echo off
win

:puppy
call puppy.bat


Here is my puppy.bat:

Code:
@echo off
echo Booting Puppy Linux...
c:
cd \puppy
if not exist c:\vmlinuz goto NoCore
if exist c:\image.gz goto Puppy1
if exist c:\initrd.gz goto Puppy2

:NoCore
echo ERROR: Core Puppy files not found in C:\
echo Please read C:\PUPPY\Pup4DOS.txt for more information
goto end

:Puppy1
if not exist puppy.cfg then goto NoConfig
tiny.exe c:\vmlinuz c:\image.gz @puppy.cfg
goto NoBootload

:Puppy2
if not exist puppy.cfg then goto NoConfig
tiny.exe c:\vmlinuz c:\initrd.gz @puppy.cfg
goto NoBootload

:NoBootload
echo ERROR: The bootloader didn't boot Puppy!
echo Please take note of the above error messages for later.
goto end
rem You might want to try linld.com, then. e.g.:
rem linld.com image=vmlinuz initrd=image.gz cl=@puppy.cfg

:NoConfig
echo ERROR: Puppy Linux boot config file not found (C:\PUPPY\PUPPY.CFG)
echo Please read C:\PUPPY\Pup4DOS.txt for more information

:end


Here is my puppy.cfg:

Code:
root=/dev/ram0
PHOME=hda2
PFILE=pup1-none-524288


I'm pretty sure the files are correct because if I boot to the windows dos prompt and do "puppy.bat" it boots to puppy. If I boot normally it goes right to the ME splash screen.

All the pup files are on C:\

Currently running 1.0.7

Any ideas?

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2119
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2006, 14:01    Post subject:  

After digging all morning...this is what I finally found for Windows ME. ME does not use autoexec.bat or config.sys.

This web page explains it all and it works!!!!

No more churning while the floppy is read at startup!!

http://www.geocities.com/mfd4life_2000/

So Chazz, everything does work fine, you just need ME to "see" the autoexec and config files at boot.

Thanks.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2006, 15:55    Post subject:  

Ah ok, sorry about that. I thought ME was about the same as 98. Well, at least it works now.

I'm going to edit the original post to include the site address for that patch in ME.

_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 274
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 20 May 2006, 12:59    Post subject:  

Well, to each his own method, but I prefer the method outlined in the included documentation with Pup4DOS for multiple reasons. First, it avoids having to mess with the existing autoexec.bat which could be problematic for many reasons. Second, it tells how to use the included boot menu(s) that come with DOS-based Windows versions (vs. NT-based versions) to boot to a real mode DOS prompt without any thing else running in the background, instead of creating your own menu in autoexec.bat as ChazZTheSpazZ outlines for us.

See also the Pup4DOS wiki page for the latest release and a little more about it. The more feedback/interest I get, the more I'll develop it. Sorry, I was a kinda slow responding to this topic....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2006, 14:44    Post subject:  

It's not that hard to do this though, if you have ever used DOS before. I dunno. I just downloaded Pup4DOS, then got to work making this. If there's documentation, I never read it (past tense, I occasionally do read documentation).
_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wolfen


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 86
Location: Behind you..

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 04:28    Post subject:  

This is how my AUTOEXEC.BAT looks:
Code:
@echo off
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo What Operating System Would You Like to Boot Today?
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo 1) Microsoft Windows ME
echo 2) Puppy Linux
echo ----------------------------------------------------
echo Note: Puppy defaults after 10 seconds.
echo ----------------------------------------------------
choice /c:12 /n /t2,10 Boot:
if errorlevel 2 goto puppy

cls
@echo off
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TVDUMPFLAGS=8
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;c:\progra~1\felles~1\gtk2~1.0\bin
SET LANG=en
C:\WINDOWS\WIN.COM
win

:puppy
call c:\puppy\puppy.bat

I had to change a little on the information to get it working on my computer,
you can see that the last line says "call c:\puppy\puppy.bat", because that the puppy.bat is not located in c:\, but in c:\puppy.
Else I have set the timeout to start Puppy automaticly.
I guess many of the lines that says SET ....... is coming from GTK, as I have The GIMP on Windows.
The C:\WINDOWS\WIN.COM is because of the patch to WinME. Cool

_________________
Wolfen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1501s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0499s) ][ GZIP on ]