Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 03:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Sound lost again [Solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 05:04    Post subject:  Sound lost again [Solved]  

I had good sound with a level adjuster in the tray but I was playing with the sound and it all disappeared

No tray level . Looking for sound problems I go through the alsa configuration setup but the machine now does not find a sound card

Its got one of these built in sound and graphics motherboards from Dell

Anyone got any clues?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Last edited by tytower on Sat 24 Mar 2012, 02:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 17:00    Post subject:  

in what way were you playing with sound?

that output do you get if you tap
Code:
aplay -l

or
Code:
alsamixer


into the terminal?

the tray volume Retrovol won't load if its set to a soundcard that doesn't exist.

does the sound come back if you boot without pup save file
(if your using frugal) Arrow

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2012, 04:37    Post subject:  

I am trying to work out how to copy the output of the urxvt console to post here
Sound does come back when I boot without pupsave file

In the meantime this is from pupscan
DESCRIPTION: Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio
VENDOR: 10de DEVICE: 026c
KERNEL DRIVER (builtin): Intel
KERNEL MODULE: snd-hda-intel

and the attached screenshot is from Hardware info
Console screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   60.79 KB
 Viewed   630 Time(s)

Console screenshot.png

Devices screenshot.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Devices screenshot.png 
Filesize  650.27 KB 
Downloaded  188 Time(s) 

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2012, 07:14    Post subject:  

okay I've found its hard to get the sound system back on track.

looks like ALSA should use snd_hda_intel

I think the following file is where it gets loaded:

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

could try comparing what's in the pupsave with the pupbase.sfs

-make a copy of the pupbase.sfs
-boot without pupsave
-now both pupsave and pupbase.sfs can be mounted and inspected

btw- to get text from terminal highlight text, go to destination and press middle mouse button-
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HowToCopyFromTerminal

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2012, 16:17    Post subject:  

OK Thanks
I'll look into both config files

The output you requested is
# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
ALSA lib conf.c:1016:(parse_value) card is not a string
ALSA lib conf.c:1685:(snd_config_load1) _toplevel_:2:20:Invalid argument
ALSA lib conf.c:3467:(snd_config_hook_load) /etc/asound.conf may be old or corrupted: consider to remove or fix it
ALSA lib conf.c:3326:(snd_config_hooks_call) function snd_config_hook_load returned error: Invalid argument
ALSA lib conf.c:3713:(snd_config_update_r) hooks failed, removing configuration
aplay: device_list:249: control open (0): Invalid argument
#



# alsamixer
alsamixer.bin: option requires an argument -- 'c'
Usage: alsamixer [options]
Useful options:
-h, --help this help
-c, --card=NUMBER sound card number or id
-D, --device=NAME mixer device name
-V, --view=MODE starting view mode: playback/capture/all
Debugging options:
-g, --no-color toggle using of colors
-a, --abstraction=NAME mixer abstraction level: none/basic
#



I am thinking alsamixer needs an argument ,perhaps -c but I dont know where I would get the card number

I also guess that aplay is just revealing that the sound module is not correctly loaded

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 17:30    Post subject:  

Your /etc/asound.conf file is probably corrupt. Please post the results of:
Code:
cat /etc/asound.conf

I'm guessing it may look like this:
Code:
# cat /etc/asound.conf
defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.device

This can happen if Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard was run, but couldn't find any sound devices.

A good file will have an integer at the end of each line. If yours does not, delete the file and try aplay -l again. If the result is something like
Code:
aplay: device_list:223: no soundcards found...

then one or more of your sound modules have probably been unloaded, and should return when you next reboot if nothing else is broken.

You do not need /etc/asound.conf unless you have multiple sound cards and need to change the default. ALSA is happy without the file, but gets very confused if it exists and is corrupt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 01:49    Post subject:  

@darkcity
Nope,

both config files are identical -alsa.config and alsa-base.config

Will have a look at npierce's suggestion

,thanks

@npierce The file looked as you suggested. I deleted it

Now
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: HDA Generic [HDA Generic]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
#



and now I'll try a reboot.

Brilliant the sound icon is back in the tray and the woof works -Thanks a lot for posting - Porn without sound is just plain boring hey!

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 06:35    Post subject:  

@npierce thanks for help looks like I was looking in the wrong place.

@tytower glad you can now fully enjoy your 'computer' Arrow

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 08:19    Post subject:  

You're welcome. 'Tis good to hear that the problem is solved.

darkcity,

You asked the right questions. If you had not I wouldn't have suspected that asound.conf was missing its integers. The "ALSA lib conf.c:1016:(parse_value) card is not a string" from aplay, and the "alsamixer.bin: option requires an argument -- 'c'" from amixer were the tip-offs. So thank you.

By the way, this problem could sometimes arise from running the Multiple Sound Card Wizard (item "THREE" in the Sound Wizard) after ALSA Wizard had unloaded a necessary sound module. Barry recently uploaded an improved Multiple Sound Card Wizard to the repository which should prevent this from happening in future Puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 09:54    Post subject:  

thanks for the info, good to know Multiple Soundcard Wizard got an update
; -)

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0627s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]