Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 13:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
CHLee

Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu 24 May 2012, 22:43    Post subject:  

When I first run(pfix=ram) seamokey2.8 in console , the output as below:
Code:
# mozstart

(process:26029): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
   Using the fallback 'C' locale.
LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/gecko-mediaplayer-dvx.so [libcurl-gnutls.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory]
LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/gecko-mediaplayer-qt.so [libcurl-gnutls.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory]
LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/gecko-mediaplayer-rm.so [libcurl-gnutls.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory]
LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/gecko-mediaplayer-wmp.so [libcurl-gnutls.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory]
LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/gecko-mediaplayer.so [libcurl-gnutls.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory]

(process:28412): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
   Using the fallback 'C' locale.
NOTE: child process received `Goodbye', closing down
#


Seem Precise Puppy version 5.2.55 missing the libcurl-gnutls.so.
Thanks,
C.H.Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1362
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 02:46    Post subject: Re: peebee's request  

sszindian wrote:
Per your request...here yea go peebee!
# lsmod


Hi sszindian - thanks for sharing

As I suspected, your lsmod output shows that wl is not being used - so loading my Broadcom wl pet should have had no influence on your system whatsoever unless there is some thing in the initialisation logic provided by rerwin that alters things to your benefit. I've looked at the logic pretty closely and can't see why it would help for anything other than Broadcom chips. Maybe it's just altering timing in some way....

So - a mystery!!

If you have the time and inclination it might be worth doing a pmodemdiag on the non-working system before loading my pet and then on a working system after you've loaded my pet and send that to rerwin to see if he can detect what is happening.

Otherwise - just enjoy that it is working now - but be prepared for it to stop again in the future I think.

Cheers
Peter

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2055
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 02:57    Post subject: Precise Puppy alpha3, May 24, 2012
Subject description: new2dir script
 

This shows up when running the new2dir script:

Step 4
The following line is about to be executed:
# installwatch -o /tmp/pkginstall.list make install
...this logs all file activity to /tmp/pkginstall.list
This script will then determine all newly created directories
and files and create '../cmus-v2.4.3-i686' with the new files.
(and optionally ../cmus_DEV-v2.4.3-i686, ../cmus_DOC-v2.4.3-i686, ../cmus_NLS-v2.4.3-i686)
Press ENTER key to continue:
/root/programs/cmus-v2.4.3/scripts/install: line 25: 16519 Segmentation fault $GINSTALL -d -m755 "${to}"
INSTALL /usr/local/bin/cmus
/root/programs/cmus-v2.4.3/scripts/install: line 26: 16521 Segmentation fault $GINSTALL $flags "$i" "${to}"
INSTALL /usr/local/bin/cmus-remote
/root/programs/cmus-v2.4.3/scripts/install: line 26: 16523 Segmentation fault $GINSTALL $flags "$i" "${to}"
make: *** [install-main] Error 139
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 05:23    Post subject: Re: LC_COLLATE, mtpaint  

shinobar wrote:
Hi Barry, thanks for the precise alpha3.

Small request.
1. /etc/profile
Please remove the LC_COLLATE setting. We have never seen any problem without this.
Code:
#v426 recommended by MU, avoid crashing for non-English locales on some apps...
export LC_COLLATE=en_US

2. mtpaint
We hope the mtpaint upgraded to the version 3.40.


OK, removed from /etc/profile.

Regarding mtPaint, see my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02847

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 05:36    Post subject:  

stu90 wrote:
Working ok here - one thing had to set run action for mounting .4fs save files.


Thanks, fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 05:39    Post subject:  

The refusal of a number of recent Puppies to correctly detect some state-of-art monitor/video card/resolutions is exasperating (cf. James C & co.) and has propagated to Precise. One report suggests it's the fault of Xorg. Collating from a number of reports, it seems that 1440x900 widescreen led monitors with 1024x768 (cf. DaveS or was it Terriphi?) is the most problematic combo to work with. Sometimes loading the nV or ATI driver helps, but if there's a SiS graphics chip present, a persistent bad guy recently, nothing seems to work with this release except VESA. Shame really; can anything be done to patch or should one resort to older monitors and add-in cards which generally work OK with a deal of persuasion?

Aside:-
[Good news: gifted a K6-II/500 which runs Wary extremely well.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 05:43    Post subject: Re: Precise Puppy alpha2
Subject description: mtpaint
 

L18L wrote:
video driver upgrade is not possible: Crying or Very sad


OK, I will fix that. This pup is built with Xorg from Ubuntu Precise Pangolin, it is already Xorg 7.6 and has mesa, so nothing to upgrade. The Video Upgrade Wizard needs to recognise that and not offer an upgrade.

EDIT: I have implemented a basic fix, in script /usr/local/video_upgrade_wizard/video_upgrade_wizard.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2500
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 06:31    Post subject: Re: Re: black screen  

shinobar wrote:
L18L wrote:
It is the first time I have got a "black screen" after rebooting.

@L18L and Barry
How about more delay in the /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d?
For example, sleep 2 --> sleep 3
at line 54- wrote:
sleep 2 #let the dust settle after X has started.
#w471 slow cpus need more delay (well, rox does)...
DELAYFACTOR=0
CPUMHZ=`grep -m 1 -i '^cpu MHz' /proc/cpuinfo | tr -d ' ' | cut -f 2 -d ':' | cut -f 1 -d '.'`
[ $CPUMHZ ] && [ $CPUMHZ -gt 100 ] && DELAYFACTOR=`expr 1100 \/ $CPUMHZ`
[ $DELAYFACTOR -gt 0 ] && sleep $DELAYFACTOR

my CPUMHZ is 1544 -> DELAYFACTOR=0
But this time I had no black screen so I am not sure if sleep is ok.
Maybe I had been playing too much with backgrounds?
___________________________________________
edit 2012-05-26
had black screen again so I will add 1 second:

Code:
#[ $CPUMHZ ] && [ $CPUMHZ -gt 100 ] && DELAYFACTOR=`expr 1100 \/ $CPUMHZ`
[ $CPUMHZ ] && [ $CPUMHZ -gt 100 ] && DELAYFACTOR=$((1600 / $CPUMHZ)) # 1 sec for my 1514 MHZ CPU


___________________________________________

----
I will put translation of
/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/README.txt
into my langpack-template Cool

Last edited by L18L on Sat 26 May 2012, 09:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 06:35    Post subject: Re: Broadcom wl wifi driver  

peebee wrote:
Pemasu's build of Precise Puppy had the Broadcom wl wifi driver built-in to the iso....

I have compiled the driver under this version and uploaded:

Precise 5.2.55 k3.2.17 Upload 2405121315 [wlan0]

See here for background

Cheers
peebee


peebee,
Would you mind doing that again soon? I need to recompile the kernel in a running Precise Puppy, to avoid the gcc mismatch problem (current kernel compiled with Wary 5.3).

I will stick with the 3.2.x series, as that is what Ubuntu Precise Pangolin is using. I will grab the latest 3.2.x soon, compile it, and that will be our kernel for the release version of Precise Puppy, and we will stay with it for sometime.
So, you guys will be able to compile any 3rd-party drivers that you want.

...I guess that I had better do that soon, as I know many people will want their nVidia, wl, etc., drivers.

I just remembered something. I don't have the 'wl' firmware in Woof. is it available in pemasu's Upup thread? I think that I recall, it is, plus mods to b43 firmware tarball?
...but, I also seem to recall, there are still some issues with that?

I just checked, the latest is 3.2.18, I might as well use that.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 146
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 06:51    Post subject:  

Hello Barry

This Puppy does not like ATI Radeon graphics.

If I set Radeon in the xorgwizard then X does not start.

If I copy ati_drv, radeon_drv, fbdev_drv and fbdevhw_drv to the modules drivers folder and delete vesa_drv, and delete Xorg.conf so that X auto configures, then X does start and load the correct drivers but there are errors in the Xorg.log and acceleration is disabled.

The errors are:

[ 12.893] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[ 12.893] (II) [KMS] No DRICreatePCIBusID symbol, no kernel modesetting.
[ 12.893] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fbdev
[ 12.893] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[ 12.893] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[ 12.893] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/libfbdevhw.so
[ 12.900] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 12.900] compiled for 1.11.4, module version = 0.0.2
[ 12.900] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
[ 12.901] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such device
[ 12.901] (WW) VGA arbiter: cannot open kernel arbiter, no multi-card support

and

[ 13.177] (WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
[ 13.177] (EE) RADEON(0): Acceleration initialization failed
[ 13.177] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled

For comparison fatdog 600a2, which also has Xorg 1.11.4 and does work, gives this in the log:

[ 9.656] (II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[ 9.656] (II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
[ 9.656] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for vesa
[ 9.656] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fbdev
[ 9.656] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[ 9.656] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[ 9.661] (II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib64/xorg/modules/libfbdevhw.so
[ 9.666] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 9.666] compiled for 1.11.4, module version = 0.0.2
[ 9.666] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
[ 9.666] (II) RADEON(0): Creating default Display subsection in Screen section

and

[ 9.850] (II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled
[ 9.854] (II) RADEON(0): Setting EXA maxPitchBytes
[ 9.854] (II) EXA(0): Driver allocated offscreen pixmaps
[ 9.854] (II) EXA(0): Driver registered support for the following operations:
[ 9.854] (II) Solid
[ 9.854] (II) Copy
[ 9.854] (II) Composite (RENDER acceleration)
[ 9.854] (II) UploadToScreen
[ 9.854] (II) DownloadFromScreen
[ 9.854] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration enabled

It looks like the kernel is lacking KMS

I did previously try setting Radeon in xorgwizard on Pemasu's version based on a2, and X did not start either. That had a different kernel. So I may be barking up the wrong tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1362
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 07:52    Post subject: Re: Broadcom wl wifi driver  

BarryK wrote:
peebee,
Would you mind doing that again soon? I need to recompile the kernel in a running Precise Puppy, to avoid the gcc mismatch problem (current kernel compiled with Wary 5.3).

...I guess that I had better do that soon, as I know many people will want their nVidia, wl, etc., drivers.

I just remembered something. I don't have the 'wl' firmware in Woof. is it available in pemasu's Upup thread? I think that I recall, it is, plus mods to b43 firmware tarball?
...but, I also seem to recall, there are still some issues with that?

I just checked, the latest is 3.2.18, I might as well use that.


Hi Barry

No problem - once you issue the new precise then I'll recompile the wl driver. - [UPDATE] Now done - see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495 [/UPDATE]

There is actually no "firmware" as such with the wl driver - all the proprietary stuff comes as a binary image with a bit of source code wrapper that has to be recompiled for each kernel version seemingly.

That being said, rerwin has produced some broadcom "firmware" but actually as I understand it what he is doing is use the firmware mechanisms to determine which is the best Broadcom solution for each chip type.

So there are 3 types of driver :

b43 - this does have real firmware and there are later versions available than have been shipping in recent puppies - pemasu has provided later firmware versions in his pups

brcm - this comes as part of recent kernels and is for instance present in slacko - it does have some real firmware I think

wl - this is Broadcom proprietary and has no real firmware separate from the driver - it is all built-in - I have been providing versions for recent woof-based pups

Then there is rerwin's "firmware" which tries to manage it all and is still somewhat experimental.

This is only my understanding - I may well be wrong - but Richard will no doubt correct if I am....

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Mon 04 Jun 2012, 07:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 08:56    Post subject:  

I just got report that Precise Puppy might have same problem that I faced with Dpups.
Gtkdialog applications starts slower than they should. Radky has been the main bug finder and he has counted many times the starting time of gtkdialog apps.

It was detective work with strace command to trace the reason. At last I noticed that gtkdialog apps called gconv-modules.cache file. Which was missing. Woof packages-templates > glibc/usr/lib/gconv does not have template for it. Libc6 deb package provides that file.

So...here is the pet to fix that bug. Also woof might need fixing to include that file template for Upups and Dpups.
gconv-fix-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gconv-fix-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  11.09 KB 
Downloaded  268 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 08:59    Post subject:  

LateAdopter wrote:
Hello Barry

This Puppy does not like ATI Radeon graphics.

If I set Radeon in the xorgwizard then X does not start.

If I copy ati_drv, radeon_drv, fbdev_drv and fbdevhw_drv to the modules drivers folder and delete vesa_drv, and delete Xorg.conf so that X auto configures, then X does start and load the correct drivers but there are errors in the Xorg.log and acceleration is disabled.

The errors are:

[ 12.893] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[ 12.893] (II) [KMS] No DRICreatePCIBusID symbol, no kernel modesetting.
[ 12.893] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fbdev
[ 12.893] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[ 12.893] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[ 12.893] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/libfbdevhw.so
[ 12.900] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 12.900] compiled for 1.11.4, module version = 0.0.2
[ 12.900] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
[ 12.901] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such device
[ 12.901] (WW) VGA arbiter: cannot open kernel arbiter, no multi-card support

and

[ 13.177] (WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
[ 13.177] (EE) RADEON(0): Acceleration initialization failed
[ 13.177] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled

For comparison fatdog 600a2, which also has Xorg 1.11.4 and does work, gives this in the log:

[ 9.656] (II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[ 9.656] (II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
[ 9.656] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for vesa
[ 9.656] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fbdev
[ 9.656] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[ 9.656] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[ 9.661] (II) Loading /usr/X11R7/lib64/xorg/modules/libfbdevhw.so
[ 9.666] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 9.666] compiled for 1.11.4, module version = 0.0.2
[ 9.666] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
[ 9.666] (II) RADEON(0): Creating default Display subsection in Screen section

and

[ 9.850] (II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled
[ 9.854] (II) RADEON(0): Setting EXA maxPitchBytes
[ 9.854] (II) EXA(0): Driver allocated offscreen pixmaps
[ 9.854] (II) EXA(0): Driver registered support for the following operations:
[ 9.854] (II) Solid
[ 9.854] (II) Copy
[ 9.854] (II) Composite (RENDER acceleration)
[ 9.854] (II) UploadToScreen
[ 9.854] (II) DownloadFromScreen
[ 9.854] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration enabled

It looks like the kernel is lacking KMS

I did previously try setting Radeon in xorgwizard on Pemasu's version based on a2, and X did not start either. That had a different kernel. So I may be barking up the wrong tree.


Hi LateAdopter,

If you back up your /usr/lib/mesa directory then install this .deb and run through xorgwizard again do you get accelerated graphics?
http://mirror.pnl.gov/ubuntu//pool/main/m/mesa/libgl1-mesa-swx11_8.0.2-0ubuntu3_i386.deb

If you uninstall the .deb then restore your /usr/lib/mesa directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 10:06    Post subject: Re: SFS load please?  

peebee wrote:
Note to Barry:

one thing I miss in your builds that seems to be common now in everybody else's builds is "sfs load on the fly" - is there a reason why you don't include this facility??

Thanks
peebee


My reply here:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02848

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2012, 10:08    Post subject:  

Alpha-3

There are problems with either Seamonkey-9 or the automatic Flash Player that Precise installs. Sorry to say but I did not test this function with the original installed Seamonkey-8... I saw the new Seamonkey-9 was available from BK and installed that for testing.

The problem is not noticable while serfing most average websites but occurs when into a complex-page such as a Newspaper with lots of stuff going on in the initial-page, like where they try to cram everything at you especially the ads.

Anyway, these type pages do not render properly with portions overlaping one another or giving you a double-take (twice installed advertisement etc.,) and it slows the Flash Player down to almost a stop where it's almost impossible to read anything that is available... in fact, I've had a dialog box appear AFTER getting out of such sites on my desktop telling me the Flash Player is still running and that it might hinder the speed of my program... do you want to stop it now?

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1365s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]