Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 10:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 17:41    Post subject:  

Another thing for the devx :
Besides including the check pkg for that i found
http://sourceforge.net/projects/check/files/check/
and including
libfl-dev (2.5.35-10ubuntu3)
the gcc-4.6.3 is giving me many troubles with older sources -ge 2years . Many times i need to specify "-lpthread -lrt -lm" as CFLAGS for the configure line .

There are actually also gcc-4.4.7 and gcc-4.5.x available for Ubuntu Precise :
gcc-4.4 (4.4.7-1ubuntu2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 23:22    Post subject:  

Precise puppy 5.2.69 (beta3) is out!

Blog announcement:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02965

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 01:40    Post subject:  

1) No luck with KMS on radeon. Performance is dismal (ootb, see edit).

2) see below for PPM bug

--------------------------------------------

EDIT: Actually, I think adding the firmware has made a difference. I turned KMS back on and dmesg looks good, 3D gaming is ok , glxgears however seems to be telling lies.NOTE: I also installed xserver-xorg-video-radeon_6.14.99~git20111219.aacbd629.files from ubunt-main in the PPM. (That's how I found the PPM bug)

@LateAdopter - can you try with the firmware pet below please, you need to reboot and perhaps run xorgwizard.

I actually got KMS working in Slacko with k3.5.2 and radeon micro code (firmware) compiled into the kernel image, but that goes a bit beyond the call, and may also be illegal to distribute, well at least the kernel wouldn't be covered by the GPL.

I had issues with the thing in Edubuntu as well, no glx at all, I ended up installing the fglrx proprietary driver in that. I'll probably do that here too. Note that there are 2 versions of fglrx now days, the main version and the legacy version. There are also reported issues of needing a patch but I don't think that applies to k3.2X series kernels.. I'll let you know how I get on.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

I encountered a bug in PPM, if you choose "examine dependencies" button that window closes and nothing else happens. I tried it a few times so can repeat.
radeon_firmware-120813.pet
Description  this is the firmware for radeon cards, Cedar and newer, there is more
available, see http://people.freedesktop.org/~agd5f/radeon_ucode/
YMMV
pet

 Download 
Filename  radeon_firmware-120813.pet 
Filesize  13.73 KB 
Downloaded  147 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sun 26 Aug 2012, 02:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1935
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 02:31    Post subject: Precise Puppy beta3, August 26, 2012  

I installed beta 3 on an 8gb flash drive and used grub4dos
I plugged the flash drive into my hp a810n desktop which has an ati
x1600 pro graphics card in it but it wouldn't go to the desktop.
After running xorgwizard and trying probe,radeon, and vesa with none
working I gave up.
I plugged the flash drive into my hp core2 duo desktop and it got to
the desktop okay.
Report video said the nouveau driver was in use, glxgears gave an
error message and wouldn't run.
I exited to the prompt and ran xorgwizard, chose probe, and xwin back
to the desktop.
Report-video said the vesa driver was installed and glxgears worked.
I downloaded the proprietary nvidia driver and installed the
devx+kernel source sfs.
When I went to compile the nvidia driver it said that the nouveau
driver was in use and offered to try to remove it, I said yes to that
and rebooted.
The computer wouldn't reboot, got a black screen and had to hold the
power button down to shut down,rebooted another puppy from the hard
drive and changed the menu.lst on the flash drive to nox, rebooted the
flash drive and compiled the propietary driver then xorgwizard to
choose the nvidia driver,xwin to get to the desktop, changed the
menu.lst back and rebooted.

Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
Memory 4146MB (281MB used)
Operating System Unknown distribution
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Sun 26 Aug 2012 01:48:04 AM EDT
Display
Resolution 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL Renderer GeForce GT 220/PCIe/SSE2
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation
Operating System
Version
Kernel Linux 3.2.28 (i686)
Compiled #1 SMP Thu Aug 23 10:19:45 GMT-8 2012
C Library GNU C Library version 2.15 (stable)
Default C Compiler GNU C Compiler version 4.6.3 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.6.3-1ubuntu5)
Distribution Unknown distribution
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 220/PCIe/SSE2
Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 304.37
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.537 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.023 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.023 FPS

I downloaded firefox 14.01 and installed it in /mnt/home on the flash
drive, dragged the file to the desktop, gave it the proper icon and
it's working fine.

That's it so far.
beta3scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.24 KB
 Viewed   1087 Time(s)

beta3scrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 03:24    Post subject:  

I made an amd_fglrx .pet, I left most stuff in the archive, it's over 50M.

Make sure you follow the instructions in the pinstall.sh .. there is a splash message on installation instructing you to drop to a prompt and run aticonfig --initial

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/precise/amd_fglrx-12.8-k3.2.28-precise.pet

checksum <-- a5459b14c5705d8dd4bd66dc8a3982a0 amd_fglrx-12.8-k3.2.28-precise.pet

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 04:09    Post subject:  

tried beta3
could not get to desktop . . .
ISO checksum OK
tried many xorgwizard options . . .
No probe options working, Vesa option not working
It was also complaining about an old directory for my mouse
during bootup - so I changed from PS2 to USB mouse
Tried editing the graphics config details (sometimes bringing down the res from 80mhz to 72mhz helps)
Nothing. Nada. Rien.
Stuck on command line [it was horrible] Wink

Quote:
-PCI Devices-
RAM memory : nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller
ISA bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 ISA Bridge
SMBus : nVidia Corporation MCP67 SMBus
USB Controller : nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller
USB Controller : nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller
USB Controller : nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller
USB Controller : nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller
IDE interface : nVidia Corporation MCP67 IDE Controller
Audio device : nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Bridge
IDE interface : nVidia Corporation MCP67 AHCI Controller
Ethernet controller : nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
PCI bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge
Host bridge : Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Host bridge : Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
Host bridge : Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
Host bridge : Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
Multimedia audio controller : C-Media Electronics Inc CM8738
VGA compatible controller : ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350]
Audio device : ATI Technologies Inc RV710/730

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jejy69

Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 694
Location: [Break]

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 07:51    Post subject:  

Hello !

I tried beta 3 too.
I had only one issue, Sometimes I can not use my mouse plugged into USB. I must restart the PC and after changing the USB port. This is not really a handicap, just a simple reboot is needed.

Nice wallpaper Laughing
The PAE is really usefull.

I wanted to know if the taking of a recent kernel no risk for older PC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1274
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 10:18    Post subject:  

The delta and mutli-kernel pets to install the Broadcom-STA wl wifi driver onto Precise 5.2.69 k3.2.28 are now available from:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495&start=10
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 10:42    Post subject:  

Sadly - no go here too - hung - jibberish on screen -nothing I recognised - and had to pull plug.
_________________
Acer 243LC laptop. 384mb ram. 2.5Ghz Celeron proc. 30gb hdd. Asus 701SD. 512mb ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5450
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 10:59    Post subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install of Beta 3 on my main Athlon XP box. Booted to the correct 1440x900 resolution with working sound and internet.

Code:
# report-video
Precise Puppy, version 5.2.69 on Sun 26 Aug 2012

Chip description:
 0.0 VGA compatible controller
 NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1) 
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2
 
X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.11.3
  dimensions:    1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    16 planes

   ...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#


-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1034MB (173MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 26 Aug 2012 09:54:13 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235
Ethernet controller : Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
VGA compatible controller : NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

In regard to your blog post, looking forward to an additional non-pae build for those Puppy users who might use older hardware.

Looks pretty solid so far. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1935
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 11:22    Post subject: Precise Puppy beta3, August 26, 2012
Subject description: part2
 

continued from previous post:

I deleted my save file from my 8gb flash drive and started fresh on
another pc.
It booted to the desktop this time and report-video said it was using
the radeon driver,glxgears worked too.
I installed the devx+kernelsourcesfs.rebooted,downloaded and
compiled the amd-driver-installer-8.982-x86.x86_64.run proprietary
driver, did aticonfig --initial and rebooted again.

# report-video
Precise Puppy, version 5.2.69 on Sun 26 Aug 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: fglrx

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
33992 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6798.272 FPS
34393 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6878.519 FPS
34342 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6868.369 FPS
#
Computer
Processor 2x Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz
Memory 4147MB (178MB used)
Operating System Unknown distribution
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Sun 26 Aug 2012 10:59:45 AM EDT
OpenGL
Vendor Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer ATI Radeon HD 5570
Version 4.2.11762 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering Yes

I installed geany pets that I made for beta 2 and they work fine too.
beta3scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.22 KB
 Viewed   891 Time(s)

beta3scrn.jpg

geany-1.22-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  geany-1.22-i686.pet 
Filesize  1.71 MB 
Downloaded  163 Time(s) 
geany_DEV-1.22-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  geany_DEV-1.22-i686.pet 
Filesize  97.32 KB 
Downloaded  145 Time(s) 
geany_DOC-1.22-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  geany_DOC-1.22-i686.pet 
Filesize  813.15 KB 
Downloaded  135 Time(s) 
geany_NLS-1.22-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  geany_NLS-1.22-i686.pet 
Filesize  1.21 MB 
Downloaded  142 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mories

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 12:23    Post subject:  Ati-Radeon  

For my "Mobility Radeon HD 5430 Series" all is OK and kms ON with

xserver-xorg-video-ati and
xserver-xorg-video-radeon
packages from ubuntu main repository.

And, of course, the CEDAR firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 13:21    Post subject: testing 5.2.69  

Precise 5.2.69 (Bata 3) - 'initial test'

(1) Everything went fine to desktop! eth0 self-configured and had Internet with no problem.

Unpluged eth0 and went for wlan0 setup... everything seemed to config OK but... same problem I had with 5.2.60 originally... no WiFi connection even though connect wizard said 'I did.' Tried the same little trick installing peebee's expirment-3 in 5.2.60 (which did the trick and still using to this day... WiFi on 5.2.60 auto-configs on startup without any problems and runs like a champ.) but this trick did not work for 5.2.69... Even tried installing peebee's broadcom_wl_delta-k3.2.28.pet, no dice with that either?

Possibly some firmware from the 5.2.60 build is missing for the rt2800usb package or the new kernel 3.2.28 is missing something??? just a guess of course.

Computer:
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4CPU 2.80GHz
766MB

WiFi:
Linksys AE1000

(2) Tried eth0 with a place I watch video's, way, way, way, to much 'buffering' taking place (I have noticed an increase in the 'buffering' problem over the last several versions (not just Precise) of Puppy, I would think it should be getting better?

That's it for now...

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 13:24    Post subject: cannot open hyperlinks in abiword documents  

please help... i can't open internet hyperlinks in my abiword documents... is there anything i can do to make this happen??

thank you...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 13:43    Post subject: feedback only...  

info only...

this probably is not an issue... just an observation... but, why does it take so long to "update help page and menu" after loading a "pet" file?

saluki and others do it in a second or two... "precise" consistently takes 8 or 9 seconds ??

i have a toshiba laptop that is 6 years old... with intel dual core chip, 2 gigs of ram and a 500 gig hard drive...

info only...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0983s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]