Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 08:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 774
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 14:00    Post subject:  

Downloading know will test


cheers Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 14:50    Post subject:    

Fresh installation on an ext3 partition. So far everything is working great except that my HP 5280 Photosmart All-in-one scanner is not recognized. hplip_scan-3.12.4.pet is installed.

NVIDIA latest driver installed properly and is working great. Also, was able to install the Xiphos Bible program using PPM and ubuntu repositories. This is the first time I've been able to install it without having some missing dependencies.

Thanks for returning to work on Precise.
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.06 KB
 Viewed   1025 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 774
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 14:53    Post subject:  

Frugal install. got internet with no problem. works with all my hardware Very Happy Very Happy

running mplayer video adjusting is notworking other than that everything seems to be working just fine

IBM x60 thinkpad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1504
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 15:01    Post subject: 2 "fixes" incomplete  

Barry,
Booted into 5.2.69 to verify that all of my "fixes" went in correctly. Two appear to be incomplete.

/sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe:
The "--use-blacklist" option is needed in 3 places, but got placed in only one of them.
Code:
diff -r -u sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe
 . . .
+#120823 rerwin: --use-blacklist to apply the blacklist commands in the configuration files (if any) to module names as well.
 . . .
@@ -102,13 +102,12 @@
 
 #note, no longer using /tmp/pup_event_modprobe.conf (which was created in rc.sysinit)...
 #110508 -i to ignore "install" and "remove" commands in /etc/modprobe.d/*.conf...
-MODULE="`/sbin/modprobe -i -b --show-depends $MODALIAS 2>/dev/null | tail -n 1 | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '.' | tr '\-' '_'`" #120809
+#120823 rerwin: --use-blacklist (or -b) to apply the blacklist commands in the configuration files (if any) to module names as well...
+MODULE="`/sbin/modprobe -i --use-blacklist --show-depends $MODALIAS 2>/dev/null | tail -n 1 | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '.' | tr '\-' '_'`"
 if [ "$RULEMODULE" != "" ];then
  if [ "$MODULE" = "" -o "$MODULE" = "usb_storage" -o "$MODULE" = "snd_hda_intel" ];then
   #110508 do not allow argument-module if it is blacklisted (note blacklist.conf created in rc.sysinit)...

@@ -118,7 +117,7 @@
  if [ "`lsmod | grep '^usb_storage '`" != "" ];then
   if [ ! -f /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-usb_storage.conf ];then
    echo 'blacklist usb_storage' > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-usb_storage.conf
-   MODULE="`/sbin/modprobe -i -b --show-depends $MODALIAS 2>/dev/null | tail -n 1 | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '.' | tr '\-' '_'`" #110508 120809
+   MODULE="`/sbin/modprobe -i --show-depends $MODALIAS 2>/dev/null | tail -n 1 | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '.' | tr '\-' '_'`" #110508            <===========================
    [ "$MODULE" = "" ] && exit 1
   fi
  fi

@@ -154,7 +153,7 @@
  for PREFMOD in $PREFMODS #format can have multiple ':', ex: 8139cp:8139too:8139xx (last is most preferred).
  do
   echo "blacklist $MODULE" > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-${MODULE}.conf
-  xMODULE="`/sbin/modprobe -i -b --show-depends $MODALIAS 2>/dev/null | tail -n 1 | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '.' | tr '\-' '_'`" #110508 120809
+  xMODULE="`/sbin/modprobe -i --show-depends $MODALIAS 2>/dev/null | tail -n 1 | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '.' | tr '\-' '_'`" #110508            <===========================
   [ "$xMODULE" = "$PREFMOD" ] && MODULE="$xMODULE"
   [ "$xMODULE" = "" ] && rm -f /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-${MODULE}.conf
  done
Without the complete mod, some hybrid-USB-device modules may not be found, and all preference processing will fail, in later kernels.

/etc/rc.d/functions4puppy4:
Although I see that you made minimal changes to the code (where I copied equivalent code from elsewhere), a history entry for the changes is omitted. More seriously, the correction to the setting of firmware.dep.inst is also missing.
Code:
diff -r -u etc/rc.d/functions4puppy4 /etc/rc.d/functions4puppy4
 . . .
-#120729 Add firmware_tarball_func support for firmware directory & set tarball name in firmware.dep.inst regardless of pinstall script - copied from backend_modprobe.
 . . .
     #execute any post-install script...
     if [ -f /pinstall.${FIRMPKG}.sh ];then
-     BRKCNT=0 #120729
+     BRKCNT=0; SLEEPU=$((${$} * 10))
      while [ 1 ];do #serialise execution of pinstall scripts...
       PINSTALLCNT=`find / -maxdepth 1 -type f -name 'pinstall.*.sh' | wc -l`
       [ $PINSTALLCNT -eq 1 ] && break
-      usleep ${SLEEPU}0 #120729
+      usleep $SLEEPU
       BRKCNT=$(($BRKCNT + 1))
       [ $BRKCNT -gt 5 ] && break
      done
+     echo "$MODULE" >> /etc/modules/firmware.dep.inst.${KERNVER}
      cd /
      /pinstall.${FIRMPKG}.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
      rm -f /pinstall.${FIRMPKG}.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
     fi
-    echo "$FIRMPKG" >> /etc/modules/firmware.dep.inst.${KERNVER} #120729
    fi
   fi
  fi
The end of the above code should be:
Code:
      done
      cd /
      /pinstall.${FIRMPKG}.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
      rm -f /pinstall.${FIRMPKG}.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
     fi
     echo "$FIRMPKG" >> /etc/modules/firmware.dep.inst.${KERNVER}
    fi
   fi
  fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 15:32    Post subject: network_tray  

Beta 3 works normally on my Celleron 900MHz 512RAM. I noticed one thing: network_tray is not internationalized. The pet installed from http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02837 works (didn't test it on beta3 yet but it worked on beta2).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 619
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 19:09    Post subject:  

Manual frugal install to HD on a Compaq Armada M700.
Pentium 850 mhz, 576MB ram,
ATI Rage Mobility P/M AGP 2x (rev 64) Driver used: mach64
PCMCIA Wifi with b43 driver

All working fine, seems to run just as well as Wary 5.3.
Previous version would not boot when CF card was in other PCMCIA slot, but no problem this time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2605
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 04:04    Post subject: zoneinfo  

The beta3 cannot set the timezone to Asia/Tokyo because of lacking some files under /usr/share/zoneinfo, they were in the beta2.
_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 05:26    Post subject:  

Fabulous! Best yet. Stunning graphics using defaults, even on old Trident Cyberblade. Everything working at first ask including wlan and Flash (nice to see correct driver already loaded!).
Bit slow to load. Still unable to understand the philosophy of using PAE in a compact distro? I know the go-faster kiddies are keen to demonstrate their street cred on their over-hyped, over-priced, multicored kit, but, surely, the power of these compact distros is their ability to turn putative landfill into powerful communications machinery? Mobile Samsung Galaxy/Android makes laptops obsolete, too. Games are irrelevant - far better ways of doing that. Would prefer Puppy focus on recycling HW. DW seems to be full of distros claiming use for old junk, but most of these fail to provide a fraction of the power of Puppy in 5x the .iso, whatever that converts into uncompressed code? Giant corporations have ended up in a massive pickle trying to be all things to all men!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1371
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 05:51    Post subject: Samba slow?  

For some reason pnethood in Precise 5.2.69 is much much slower to scan and find shares than in Slacko 5.3.3

Lupu was also much slower - so is it ubuntu's fault??

Other than that - all good so far.

Some requests though:
1. Frisbee - see slacko for the best way to implement (pet in iso installed on demand from connection wizard) - much more reliable than sns
2. Desksetup templates to manage desktop icons

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 08:59    Post subject: nouveau - nvidia problems  

Beta 3 booted into a desktop with defective menus - mostly blank. This is a problem that is familiar from recent Slackos. The source is an incompatibility of the nouveau driver with certain nvidia cards like the FX 5200 in my machine. 01micko even wrote a script to get rid of nouveau (which I was unfortunately unable to track down).

After much experimentation, I found a simple solution. In
Code:
/etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf


change options nouveau modeset=1 to options nouveau modeset=0.

Beta 3 will now boot into with vesa and the menus are just fine. The only problem is that glxgears runs at 36 fps, which is far too slow.

I successfully compiled the recommended NVIDIA 173.14.31 driver, choose it with the xorgwizard, but X would not start. Attempt to return to vesa failed as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1504
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 10:20    Post subject:  

drblock2,
Rather than require a user to modify the video-driver config file, I created an automated solution for a similar issue with the 82845G/GL Brookdale graphic card in Lucid Pup. In that case only a particular subvendor-subdevice was affected. The same sort of solution would probably work for the FX5200.

The fix is to create a udev-rule for the device, using the hardware IDs for vendor, device, subvendor and subdevice. You can get that info with "lspci -vn". If you know the vendor:device ID you can use "lspci -vnd vvvv:dddd", with the correct IDs, to get the sub-IDs, although they may not be needed.

The rule would set a /tmp/flagfile to indicate that mode 0 is needed. The option statement would be replaced with an "install" statement that tests for the flagfile and loads the module with the appropriate modeset value.

I am willing to set up such a package if you can give me the hardware IDs of the graphic (VGA) card. It would be helpful if anyone with such a card would report what mode it works with. Anyone else with a card that uses the nouveau driver and sees the same problem should report that here -- with the hardware IDs -- so I can include the card in the rules file.

Thanks for reporting the problem.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 17:00    Post subject:  

drblock2

The script I made is now in Puppy (all latest versions) by default, it's at /usr/sbin/nouveau_unload. Barry also accepted my diff to xorgwizard such that if the system detects that nouveau kernel module is loaded it offers to unload nouveau and reboot. It works very well in Slacko but I am yet to test in Precise as I have been testing radeon hardware. You can of course run the nouveau_unload script directly, also if X is not running it will offer to reboot and nouveau should be unloaded on reboot.

Another interesting thing, the Slackware crew have discovered that the nv xorg driver is back in development. The source for this could be compiled and used in Precise, I haven't checked if Precise has the current nv driver.

Strange that the nvidia-173 driver failed for you. It should have the mechanism to unload the nouveau driver built in.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 825
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 19:25    Post subject:  

Would anyone like to test the Linphone 3.5.2 which I have attempted to compile in Precise Puppy?

Latest version, video enabled, some good audio codecs, seemed OK when I gave it a brief try but could do with some more people to put it through its paces and let me know if I have muffed up anywhere.

Precise version is in Post 3 of this thread:-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79803

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 20:32    Post subject: precise fails desktop on reboot  

Precise 5269 frugal
IBM ThinkPad x30

Wary5300 and Racy5300 both work fine.

Precise boots first time to desktop, video Intel driver.
Reboot, make savefile
Precise will not go to the desktop, black screen.
Tried to blindly reboot, nothing.

Power down, restart to Wary5300, delete save file, reboot to desktop.
Exit to prompt, change to xorg vesa driver.
Reboot, make new savefile, still only black desktop.
Can not blindly reboot using:
F12, uparrow, rightarrow, downarrow, enter

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frozenorange

Joined: 27 Aug 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 21:06    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.2.69
Subject description: Shut Down Problem
 

Thanks to all, Puppy worked fine, but at poweroff, the following occurs
puppypc3306 login:root (automatic login)
login[26037]: root login on 'tty1'
This also occured with an earlier puppy, is there a fix to this, as had to
shutdown with the power-off. Probably my fault, using Compaq laptop. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1157s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0149s) ][ GZIP on ]