Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 15:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 55 of 59 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 13:18    Post_subject:  

666philb wrote:
The boot manager isn't working properly the 'Choose which extra SFS files to load at bootup" option doesn't work

can someone confirm this


The bootmanager is working okay here.
bootmanager.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.82 KB
 Viewed   906 Time(s)

bootmanager.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 13:22    Post_subject:  

Fresh (no update) frugal of RC2 on hard drive.
Just want to comment on initial testing right now.

First, the live CD worked ok and I had little difficulty
connecting wireless using SNS.

Did 5 bootups after frugal install and all five
came up connected ok. Only one bootup came
up (mostly) black screen requiring Restarting X.

So the issues I've had in recent Betas and RC1
seem to be improved considerably.

Would it be disadvantageous in some way to
simply invoke a Restart X server right before
ending the startup process?

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 611
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 13:56    Post_subject: RC2  

RC2

Trying to connect WiFi from both 'SNS and Wizard-Wizard...

Both say I am connected after setup but... I am in fact 'NOT.' as the browser just sits there 'LOADING' but never connecting.

>>>---Indian------>
capture3960.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.75 KB
 Viewed   858 Time(s)

capture3960.png


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 15:16    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:

Would be nice if efforts could now return to Racy, which seems to be in favour with everyone and the RPi , which has v.B available now with 512Mb.


I now have the Dell 700m and a Tosh. m35 that can't boot
Precise or Racy because of that freakin PAE kernel!

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 15:30    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Both say I am connected after setup but... I am in fact 'NOT.' as the browser just sits there 'LOADING' but never connecting.

I am discovering what the cognoscenti probably already know that all wifi dongles are not born equal. I have the latest HAMA rt2800usb also. It's a twin aerial, twin channel 300Mps device and it doesn't work on my systems with my router, either. Those are used on much later systems, including tablets and smart TVs. You may need to swap the dongle for an older 150Mps device, but it's all a question of trial and error. Like everything else in this game, you need boxloads of kit to find winning combinations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 611
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 15:48    Post_subject: RC2  

Humph.....

Shut down RC2 (after tearing my hair out... what little is left!) Rebooted another program.... shut that down and figured I'd give one more try at Precise WiFi to see what maybe I missed.

Well... I guess I didn't miss anything because on reboot I forgot to plug in my eth0 cable and Precise fired right up and low and behold WiFi was '''connected'' and seems to be working OK!!!!

Like I say, I don't have very much hair left after this one since 5.2.60 Very Happy

Other than the rt2800usb thingy... Precise runs like a champ in all other areas I tested so far...


>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1796
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 16:16    Post_subject:  

ok ... the bootmanager definately isn't working on this computer.

a semi-frugal install onto an NTFS drive, using the cd to boot. puppy.sfs and savefile are on the harddrive.


boot manager works fine on my main comp, with a frugal on ext3, using grub4dos to boot.

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 16:28    Post_subject: ALSA modem support missing  

Barry,
To continue support for ALSA modems, the slmodemd daemon is required. However, it is not present in 5.3.97. That is because the firmware package firmware_linux_module_slmodem-20121004 was not included in the woof-installed-packages list. Please add that to the list for the final release, to avoid a regression for ALSA-modem users. (It does not require the presence of the slamr or slusb drivers, which should be omitted.) Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 16:37    Post_subject:  

sys-info-1.4-noarch.pet from:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60462

as far as I can tell - seems to work as expected.

manual frugal to sda1 - Acer 243 laptop.
Precise looks and feels good on this oldie.

HTH - best regards - Ray.

edit: just noticed (was also like this in 5.3.96)possibly racy 5.3.90 too)
would someone check abiword -
it works but is not opening properly.
sys-info-121020.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-121020.gz 
Filesize  11.98 KB 
Downloaded  338 Time(s) 
report-video-full.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  report-video-full.gz 
Filesize  6.77 KB 
Downloaded  336 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7840
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 17:51    Post_subject:  

I have created an alternate download link for precise RC2

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/precise/precise-5.3.97/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Testing on my compaq laptop - presario-CQ60 (circa 2008)

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.3.97

Chip description:
Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
299 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.685 FPS
# export vblank_mode=0
# glxgears
ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
3223 frames in 5.0 seconds = 644.473 FPS
3249 frames in 5.0 seconds = 649.745 FPS

report-video vesa bug is back. Clearly my card is using intel (see attached log)

There is a woof level "bug" where a stray puninstall.sh sneaks through, this happens in latest slacko beta too. See attached screeny.

Please fix the gtk theme as it's difficult to see any highlighting, and my eyes aren't too bad.



Working pretty well so far on this laptop.

EDIT:

@Ray MK, I see the abiword issue too, but that bug has been around for ages and doesn't affect the functionality. There hasn't been a stable abiword release in about 2 years and also they have moved to gtk+3 in development. It's possibly due to Puppy's skinny gtk+2 themes.
Xorg.0.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Xorg.0.log.gz 
Filesize  5.78 KB 
Downloaded  338 Time(s) 
capture14218.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   22.66 KB
 Viewed   786 Time(s)

capture14218.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 722
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 18:08    Post_subject:  

Precise RC2 torrent to share the load...
precise-5.3.97.iso.torrent.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  precise-5.3.97.iso.torrent.bz2 
Filesize  25.5 KB 
Downloaded  327 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1125

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 18:10    Post_subject:  

On HD screens the taskbar doesn't expand totally from side to side, it begins on the left and ends some part before reaching the right side, likewise windows open within a 1024x768 size limit, even after running xorgwizard and choosing a screen resolution that fits the wide screen. Not a show stopper to me, even if the computer (an HP all-in-one desktop PC) were mine. Laughing (it's my friend's, my monitor is actually 1024x768) So far I haven't found anything important (talking about not-real-important things, choosing country from quicksetup I found es_CO as Spanish from Columbia instead of Colombia). To my surprise I'm still connected to Internet when I close the terminal window of PGPRS or restart X, whoever implemented this, it's awesome, thanks! Cool And GNOME MPlayer no longer crops videos when resizing the window, in older Puppies I had to downgrade to version 1.0.2 to solve this. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1125

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 18:20    Post_subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
666philb wrote:
The boot manager isn't working properly the 'Choose which extra SFS files to load at bootup" option doesn't work

can someone confirm this


The bootmanager is working okay here.


In here BootManager doesn't recognise some SFS files, probably because they're made for Lucid or another specific Puppy version. For example, loading the unrecognised SFS by SFS-load works, but the programs won't launch or won't work properly. As none of the SFS files are real important to me, I'll simply wait until versions for Precise are uploaded to the repos.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1796
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 18:44    Post_subject:  

vicmz wrote:
On HD screens the taskbar doesn't expand totally from side to side, it begins on the left and ends some part before reaching the right side, likewise windows open within a 1024x768 size limit, even after running xorgwizard and choosing a screen resolution that fits the wide screen. Not a show stopper to me, even if the computer (an HP all-in-one desktop PC) were mine. Laughing (it's my friend's, my monitor is actually 1024x768) So far I haven't found anything important (talking about not-real-important things, choosing country from quicksetup I found es_CO as Spanish from Columbia instead of Colombia). To my surprise I'm still connected to Internet when I close the terminal window of PGPRS or restart X, whoever implemented this, it's awesome, thanks! Cool And GNOME MPlayer no longer crops videos when resizing the window, in older Puppies I had to downgrade to version 1.0.2 to solve this. Very Happy


task bar fine on my hd screen

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5890
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 19:36    Post_subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install on the Athlon XP box......... early but no problems yet.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.3.97

Chip description:
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
1709 frames in 5.0 seconds = 341.440 FPS
1916 frames in 5.0 seconds = 383.081 FPS
1821 frames in 5.0 seconds = 364.129 FPS
2885 frames in 5.0 seconds = 576.949 FPS
3963 frames in 5.0 seconds = 792.300 FPS
1960 frames in 5.0 seconds = 391.925 FPS

As noted by 01micko, not running 'vesa' here either....using 'nouveau'.
Precise.png
 Description   
 Filesize   340.08 KB
 Viewed   731 Time(s)

Precise.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 55 of 59 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1101s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0143s) ][ GZIP on ]