Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 08 Dec 2019, 07:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Firefox 11 and Flashplayer Noscript clash? [Solved my bad]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 06:02    Post subject:  Firefox 11 and Flashplayer Noscript clash? [Solved my bad]  

So sorry one should always check if the addons are compatible
but this one sneaked up on me from behind. Sorry for misleading
title. Now corrected a bit

I fail to get it going. Only locks up and refuse to work.

after a while it even add this Firefox is already running
it is impossible to repair this. I've spent some 4 hours on it now.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Tue 27 Mar 2012, 09:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 830

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 06:47    Post subject:  

A specially compiled version of FireFox 10 is available from BigPup here ...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=607648#607648

NB: save copies of your bookmarks and passwords before you install the above version of Firefox as it will be a fresh install of Firefox and won't remember your bookmarks passwords or addons.


[ BTW I'm posting this via FireFox 7 which still works OK ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 07:17    Post subject:  

Barkin thanks for the link.
It wants to do updates of FF automatically so I need to set it to
accept to be 10 for a while then Smile

Seems to go wrong when I install the Adoble Flash thing.

PPM says it has deleted Flash but it is still there.
I will download the special pet for FF1+ on the other computer.

Edit. So typical for nerds. The update got downloaded in the background
and refused to not get installed. I guess the only way is to not have the
LAN cable connected? To uninstall it and do the pet again?

Edit

Can it maybe be the Noscript addon that mess up with FF11 and Adobe latest?

I ahve not dared to upgrade on my Netbook yet.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 10:15    Post subject:  

I have to test more. I want to install the "Noscript" again
but if I am unlucky that lock my browser up again.
So I will start all over and not have any LAN cable
and see if that helps.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 830

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 11:36    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
It wants to do updates of FF automatically so I need to set it to accept to be 10 for a while then Smile

If you go to FireFox options, Advanced, Update, and uncheck the FireFox update box to prevent it from updating ( to #11) ...

You may have to temporarily disconnect from your internet network before you launch FireFox 10, so you have time to change the automatic update setting on Firefox, as above.

nooby wrote:
Can it maybe be the Noscript addon that mess up with FF11 and Adobe latest?

NoScript is designed to stop webpages using the adobe flash player installed on your computer without your permission. So yes NoScript can prevent things (like YouTube) from running which use Adobe flash, unless you explicitly give permission, e.g. put them on the NoScript whitelist ... http://noscript.net/features
FireFox options, Advanced, update.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.25 KB
 Viewed   981 Time(s)

FireFox options, Advanced, update.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2012, 13:02    Post subject:  

Thanks yes I know but I did not realize how incredibly fast it did the update.
I am a slow guy so while I where hitting Edit then preferences then Advanced
then Update the download where already finished and it refused to go back
to FF10

So I need to take out the LAN cable and start all over.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon 26 Mar 2012, 23:34    Post subject:  

This is a problem that I have too, since updating to firefox11 on the weekend. Now I cannot play audio or youtube videos, it's definitely a flash issue.

Is mozilla gonna release an update to fix this issue with flash?

I'm running shockwave flash v.11.1.102r, what if I upgraded this?

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12972
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 00:15    Post subject:  

I have firefox 11
Adobe Flashplayer 11.1.102.55
Works Ok for me.
Used this program to install latest Flashplayer.
GetFlash install Flashplayer
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74491

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 06:13    Post subject:  

Definitely? Always check add-on compatibility before accusing one or the other as the cause of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 06:36    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I have firefox 11
Adobe Flashplayer 11.1.102.55
Works Ok for me.
Used this program to install latest Flashplayer.
GetFlash install Flashplayer
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74491


The latest Flashplayer is version 11.1.102.63 but it is proving troublesome on some platforms. There is no problem for me with Racy 5.2.90 using Seamonkey 2.8 or Opera 11.62.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 06:37    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Definitely? Always check add-on compatibility before accusing one or the other as the cause of the problem.


How does one chech that? And the update is automatic so no time
to check. Unless you pull the plug and uninstall it and start all over.
I agree formally but this software sneak up on you from behind within
seconds Smile

Opera worked well for me too

And I trust it is my lack of RAM on that machine that makes it lock up?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 07:18    Post subject:  

For example: "works with Firefox 3.0 - 14.0a1.." Follow? Passing here test Flash in [-safe-mode].. Think systematically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 21:36    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Definitely? Always check add-on compatibility before accusing one or the other as the cause of the problem.


I've already disabled the addons and tried running w/o, to no avail.

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 21:42    Post subject:  

As it appears to have been just updated (v11.2.202.228), move to the latest'n say it doesn't work..

Hmm.. somethin's not right there- they mus'be in transition.. The latest apt- v11.1.102.63. Roll up!
afpu_discrepancy.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   68.34 KB
 Viewed   320 Time(s)

afpu_discrepancy.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 830

PostPosted: Wed 28 Mar 2012, 02:02    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
As it appears to have been just updated (v11.2.202.228), move to the latest'n say it doesn't work..

Hmm.. somethin's not right there- they mus'be in transition.. The latest apt- v11.1.102.63. Roll up!

If you close all instances of FireFox then restart Firefox the apparent discrepancy may disappear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0547s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]