Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 04:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
VNC server issues?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 04:53    Post subject:  

Hmm thats all a web search brought up and it seemed to be more of a problem with windows clients but the problem does seem to be related...ie incorrect key interpretation.

A bit out of ideas on this one

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 17:16    Post subject:  

Oddly, one uppercase character does work... holding down shift when pressing the comma key does produce the expected "<" character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 05:14    Post subject:  

I found the solution right under my nose. It was discussed toward the end of the thread where the x11vnc pet packages are.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27424&start=15
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 06:39    Post subject:  

Ah ha.... well x11vnc is the mickey mouse version of vnc so I suppose the answers will be found in puppy land somewhere Very Happy

Well another solution for the wiki..... sorry well minded search

by the way does x11vnc work if X is not running on the server?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 01:47    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
by the way does x11vnc work if X is not running on the server?
I haven't tried that. I'd need to learn how to prevent x from running in the first place before I could test it, but I don't really have a need for that at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 23:17    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
by the way does x11vnc work if X is not running on the server?
OK, I exited X (by choosing menu > exit to prompt) and the vnc connection dropped. So no, it doesn't work without X running. Restarting X and reconnecting works, so appears x11vnc only works while X is running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 06:19    Post subject:  

Ok cheers I thought it did but it was years ago I played with it...I remember the mouse fights.
A true vnc starts its own session like ssh so is independent but because of that it requires a suitable xinitrc and puppie's is such a mess its a nightmare to get it working....cloning the existing desktop as x11vnc does happens to suit this situation.

have remote fun

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0462s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]