Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 18:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Firefox Plug-in Flash Help for Winded Old Junkers [Outdated]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 03:59    Post_subject:  

I have earlier created a pet of flvideoreplacer. I have extracted the metadata info and recreated the .xpi so that it installs to the /usr/lib/firefox/extensions/

Here is how you do it. Quote from Barry`s blog by Iguleder:
Quote:
Barry, I found a way to pre-install extensions for Firefox and Seamonkey without having to create a profile first!
It's really simple - I found out that xpi extensions are zip archives. Just unzip an extensions, open install.rdf and get its ID, which is a GUID.
In the case of TorButton, it's "{e0204bd5-9d31-402b-a99d-a6aa8ffebdca}".
Here's how to pre-install TorButton for all users, if so (assuming Firefox is located in /usr/local/apps/firefox):
install -m644 -D torbutton-current.xpi $INSTALL_DIR/usr/local/apps/firefox/extensions/\{e0204bd5-9d31-402b-a99d-a6aa8ffebdca\}.xpi

It means that if you remove your /root/.mozilla content, the extension is not removed. Generic installation. It is nice trick for puppy builder...it gives possibility to push extensions preinstalled to the Firefox. I have flashblock, adblock and fireftp preinstalled this way.....
flvideoreplacer-2.1.1-fx.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  flvideoreplacer-2.1.1-fx.pet 
Filesize  119.56 KB 
Downloaded  267 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 06:39    Post_subject: Firefox Plug-in, Flash Help for Winded Old Junkers [Edit]  

Hi all,

It took me awhile... but I found an alternate download site "cough, cough" where I was able to get FVR 2.1.14 I am not sure if this was the most recent version but if not, it's close. The download is an .xpi file, so one way to install it is to open Firefox in a small window, then drag the file from your download directory and drop it inside the browser window... you'll get a prompt asking if you want to install the add-on... etc --done.

The place where I found this item is "cough, cough" over here. I am saving this little gem because it allows me to install it in other distros also... and at this point I am not feeling too optimistic that the developer will be allowed to resume work with his projects... If need be, I can upload it as an attachment.

Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1778
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 07:14    Post_subject:  

Very Happy
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 08:15    Post_subject:  

https://github.com/webgapps/flvideoreplacer/archives/master
flvideoreplacer-2.1.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  flvideoreplacer-2.1.5.pet 
Filesize  119.56 KB 
Downloaded  331 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 18:45    Post_subject:  

I wrote:
Quote:
I've installed flashblock and user agent switcher .xpi files by dragging them to the browser and following the install prompts. If they're not compatible with a browser, they generally won't install.

disciple wrote:
Quote:
Dewbie, I'm not sure what your point is.

Same point Monsie made, five posts later.
Read the second part of his first paragraph.
Unlike .pets, .tarballs, etc., .xpis often don't extract / install when you click on them.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 19:38    Post_subject:  

I don't think you understood my post which you were quoting. That is of course what they would do if you have the .xpi, but if you're retrieving a plugin from the plugins folder you might only have it as an extracted folder.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug 2012, 04:45    Post_subject:  

Quote:
if you're retrieving a plugin from the plugins folder you might only have it as an extracted folder.

True. I even have a script which converts the .xpi extension to the generic - for all users - uncompressed folder. Takes more space so havent used much more than tested that it actually works.

I renamed the script to just xpi for short typing.
Usage:
add_global_firefox_extension.sh [-hof]
OPTIONS:
-o linux|osx
Operating system (mandatory)
-f /path/xpi_filename
path to the original xpi file to install in the operating system's global directory (mandatory)
-h this usage information
EXAMPLE:
add_global_firefox_extension.sh -o osx -f ./thesupergood.xpi

No...I havent created the script....I aint no coder. I just found it when studying .xpi extensions.
My example:
./xpi -o linux -f /root/Downloads/flvideoreplacer-2.1.15.xpi
and the script installs the .xpi as uncompressed folder to the system global extensions directory. For me:
/usr/lib/firefox/extensions but you need to edit the script if you have system global extensions directory somewhere else.
xpi.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xpi.gz 
Filesize  5.77 KB 
Downloaded  400 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 04:59    Post_subject:  

Good thread! I'll try this when I next want to play a video.

Thanks (and Merry Christmas),

CP .

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8368

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 08:21    Post_subject:  

Unfortunately its no longer supported (google threats) or working...was good when it did.

http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/25105
does work and is current...not quite as convenient but working ...just scroll down and choose the addon for your browser.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 12:37    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Unfortunately its no longer supported (google threats) or working...was good when it did.

http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/25105
does work and is current...not quite as convenient but working ...just scroll down and choose the addon for your browser.

mike


Now if we just had a drop in replacement for FireFox that wasn't so bloated.

My old desktop "only" has 1 GB RAM -- FF will crash it, if I turn off the 1 GB Swap. I bought a refurbed lappy, with 4GB (3 available to Lupu), and it runs fine... But good grief!.... You need more than a GB of RAM to run a browser?

I tried a whole pile of the "replacements" the other night -- all of them barked errors (some very strange, like "won't run" or some such useless message). I did get my system back to working condition by about 3AM...

I was just given an old XP desktop that some friends are retiring -- we had upgraded it to 2 GB RAM, I'm going to drop that in and see how it does...

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8368

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 13:33    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Now if we just had a drop in replacement for FireFox that wasn't so bloated.

erm ff 3.6 perhaps....

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 14:35    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
Now if we just had a drop in replacement for FireFox that wasn't so bloated.

erm ff 3.6 perhaps....

mike


I tried a few of the "retro" (FF) packages, and a large number of sites informed me that they would soon disallow connections with those "vulnerable" browsers... Evil or Very Mad

I had broken things so bad that I had to use Dillo to get new copies of FF (since I had pretty well corrupted stuff with the others)

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8368

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 15:05    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I tried a few of the "retro" (FF) packages, and a large number of sites informed me that they would soon disallow connections with those "vulnerable" browsers... Evil or Very Mad


well that very unsporting of them...I get the odd whine but no threats of that order...any site in particular?

But if it is a problem then spoofiing your version is easy with a simple addon like UAControl.

I can use firefox 1.5 and flash 9 on you tube by spoofing as an example with no whining..

Its all crap anyway..your browser choice does not affect their site...the browsers are safe in the real world...they are not Internet explorer....only real 'complaint' they will have is not supporting some 'orrible javascript that does naughty things to you....

Don't be bullied into sludgeland...

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 16:38    Post_subject:  

RetroTechGuy wrote:

My old desktop "only" has 1 GB RAM -- FF will crash it, if I turn off the 1 GB Swap.


None of my computers have more than 1 GB RAM. I never create or use a swap file or partition and I generally run Firefox. I've used various version up to and including the latest and don't experience any crashes - despite FF being bloated and watching Youtube fullscreen and also having many tabs open at the same time often.

I can't help but wonder if you have a faulty RAM chip that causes the crash once certain RAM areas are accessed. I've had problems like that in the past.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 19:04    Post_subject:  

mcewanw wrote:

None of my computers have more than 1 GB RAM. I never create or use a swap file or partition and I generally run Firefox. I've used various version up to and including the latest and don't experience any crashes - despite FF being bloated and watching Youtube fullscreen and also having many tabs open at the same time often.


I was going to mention essentially the same thing. On both a weak single-cored Atom netbook and a circa 2005 HP lappy - both with 1Gb RAM and no swap - various Puppies (currently Precise Retro 5.7.1) and other Linux distros run newer Firefoxes without complaint. Firefox typically uses an additional 150-200 Mb RAM when open, and additional CPU use is only a few percent unless scrolling (during which it spikes 40-100%).

Firefox IS relatively bloated compared to many other browsers, but it's a matter of "you get what you pay for". Firefox's stability, extensibility and tweakability (especially via about:config) are second to none IMHO - and these mediocre machines run it without hiccup. You just have to get used to waiting a few more seconds for it to load on opening, compared to other lighter alternatives.

Not sure why you're having such problems, RetroTechGuy. Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1137s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0216s) ][ GZIP on ]