Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 07:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to watch TV via IP with SiliconDust HDTV tuner?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 16:07    Post_subject: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

Latest firmware from Silicondust is 20130328 which is what I am using.
_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4459
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 18:04    Post_subject: Re: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

beau_tox wrote:

be sure to put libhdhomerun.so in the library path.


What does this mean, please?

I mean, what does it do and how does one get it done?

I'm trying to prep things for an update from 20120405 to 20130328 and am looking at a bunch of files and folders - I'd like to avoid duplicates with pieces of old and new scattered about - what I want to do is to over-write the old with the new.

WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 18:47    Post_subject: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

Your installer should have put this file in the library search path...
like in

/usr/lib or /usr/local/lib


When I first ran hdhomerun_config , I got a missing shared library error.

so I cp libhdhomerun.so to /usr/lib to fix the problem.

I wouldn't sweat the firmware upgrade for now , since you can't upgrade until you get the basic software working.

running

#./hdhomerun_config discover


will tell you whether or not the library is ok
and whether or not the hardware is working.

The response should be the device ID number and the IP address of the HDhomerun tuner.

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4459
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 19:11    Post_subject: Re: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

beau_tox wrote:
Your installer should have put this file in the library search path...
like in

/usr/lib or /usr/local/lib


OK, yes, libhdhomerun.so.1 and libhdhomerun.so.1.0.0 are in /usr/lib

beau_tox wrote:

I wouldn't sweat the firmware upgrade for now , since you can't upgrade until you get the basic software working.


I do have it working now. Smile

beau_tox wrote:

running

#./hdhomerun_config discover

will tell you whether or not the library is ok
and whether or not the hardware is working.

The response should be the device ID number and the IP address of the HDhomerun tuner.


Where do I run that, please, as it says the file or directory does not exist.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 20:40    Post_subject: HDhomerun Dual Channel Tuner under Fatdog64 621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Dual Channel Tuner under Fatdog64-621
 

The default place for this file is

/usr/local/bin


if you can't find it there , look for a subdirectory libhdhomerun

inside that subdirectory along with a mess of c files should be an executable hdhomerun_config

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4459
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 20:48    Post_subject: Re: HDhomerun Dual Channel Tuner under Fatdog64 621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Dual Channel Tuner under Fatdog64-621
 

beau_tox wrote:
The default place for this file is

/usr/local/bin


if you can't find it there , look for a subdirectory libhdhomerun

inside that subdirectory along with a mess of c files should be an executable hdhomerun_config


I found it (or at least one copy of it) in /silicondust/firmware/libhdhomerun

Ran your code and it returned the values.

I just checked and that is the old version of the software.

When I run the same code in the new version 20130328 folder /silicondust//libhdhomerun it returns file not found - because it's not in there (through there is a makefile and a bunch of .c and .h files).

I take that to mean that I need to do the "make install" step?

After which I'm guessing I need to delete the old folders to eliminate conflicts?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 21:28    Post_subject: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

Look for a executable copy of hdhomerun_config_gui

It might be under subdirectory hdhomerun_config_gui/src

and run

#./hdhomerun_config_gui

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4459
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 22:42    Post_subject:  

I ran ./configure in the new version folder.

Then make.

Make Install starts then fails rendering in part the following:

Quote:
test - z "/usr/local/bin" || .././install-sh -c -d "/usr/local/bin"
/bin/sh: .././install-sh: permission denied
make[1}: *** [install-binPROGRAMS] Error 126


When I run #./hdhomerun_config discover it opens the tuner and it's still the old one.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Aug 2013, 03:24    Post_subject: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

You finally found it!
My previous posts have described this problem in the installation script but there is a workaround.
Puppy doesn't like putting these files in /usr/local/bin (permission error)
The new software never installed.

Back to the "old" tuner

run this command to scan for available channels.

#./hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF scan 0

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4459
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 09:35    Post_subject:  

I went to /usr/bin and ran #./hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF scan 0

(The first time I had only 7 "F's" and it said it couldn't find the device.)

It did find several stations.

But is this still the old Firmware?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:13    Post_subject: Re: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

beau_tox wrote:
Look for a executable copy of hdhomerun_config_gui

It might be under subdirectory hdhomerun_config_gui/src

and run

#./hdhomerun_config_gui


try using

Code:
#locate hdhomerun_config_gui


to find the file

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4459
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:31    Post_subject: Re: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

beau_tox wrote:


try using

Code:
#locate hdhomerun_config_gui


to find the file


Nothing is found.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy Carolina 1.3 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:50    Post_subject: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
Sub_title: HDhomerun dual tuner under FATDOG64-621
 

Please look again at /usr/bin
_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 14:11    Post_subject: HDhomerun Dual Channel Tuner under Fatdog64 621
Sub_title: HDhomerun Dual Channel Tuner under Fatdog64-621
 

I just tried using "locate" on fatdog64 and it can't find any file.
Don't trust "locate" ... keep looking for the gui executable.

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 01:38    Post_subject: HDhomerun Tuner under edoc's puppy
Sub_title: HDhomerun Tuner under edoc's puppy
 

edoc wrote:
libhdhomerun and hdhomerun downloaded and installed fine with no extra dependencies.

hdhomerun-gui had 31 dependencies.


edoc wrote:
Please disregard - the GUI is working after overnight shutdown then reboot.

Combined with VLC it's a winner!




Let me summarize where you are at now.

You installed a hdhomerun pet using Puppy Package Manager(PPM)

You are using hdhomerun GUI to play TV channels thru VLC.

You are now only interested in upgrading to the next version of hdhomerun firmware.

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0810s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]