Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 03:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600 alpha2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2049
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 20:44    Post subject: Re: Use of Remaster tool  

gcmartin wrote:

To clarify:
  1. Booted a Pristine FATDOG6.0a2 from multi-session DVD.
  2. Installed several PETs via PPM
  3. Copied several personal programs to /root/my-applications/bin
  4. Tested system to insure the several added components worked
  5. Satisfied, I wanted to test the new Remaster tool provided
  6. The Remaster tool followed thru to completion.
  7. But, when the ISO when booted, it boots Pristine with none of the changes
I expected all PPM things to be included, but could not find any in the menus.
Note: This system was never re-booted prior to running remaster tool.
Thank you gcmartin, the steps are all correct. Rebooting is not required for remaster tool to work.

I just have one question - when asked for the layers to use, did you select pup_rw? (the RAM layer)? All your changes (PPM etc) are saved in the RAM layer, so if you choose to not include that in the remaster, your changes will not be carried forward.

EDIT: gcmartin, sorry for asking the obvious - did you burn the resulting remaster.iso to a new DVD? Unlike puppy and previous fatdogs, the remaster doesn't burn directly to a CD/DVD, it produces an iso file that must be burnt separately instead.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Wed 30 May 2012, 21:17; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2049
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 21:02    Post subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
SFS files!!! Make SFS files!!! They don`t take up Save file space...
Smile and they don't get corrupted easily either Smile

Quote:
Hi Kirk and jamesbond; I wondered if FatDog was made from Ubuntu Lucid?
No, kirk compiled most of the stuff from source using T2 build system.

Quote:
64 bit is the way to go anymore, I applaud dumping Linux`s legacy cruft ( Lots...).
Yay! One more 64-bit supporter Smile
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2049
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 21:04    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
jamesbond don't forget mhwaveedit. I tried the one in the 500 repo but it didn't work. Was missing an .so file.

Thanks
Latest mhwaveedit is in the pet repo, along with a few LADSPA plugins.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 23:19    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
01micko wrote:
I hacked Nathan's wallpaper setter awhile ago to work with gtkdialog4, it almost worked perfectly with FatDog ootb, had to add a default tag to the <chooser> widget so it would default to /usr/share/backgrounds.

Thanks Mick, can you roughly tell me the difference? So that I can decide whether this will go to the main iso or to the pet repo. The wallpaper setter in 600a2 is the same one from 500 days, perhaps the same one back to puppy4 days Smile (except for the addition of the <default> line - apparently something changes in GTK?)

Well the difference is that it shows the current image and refreshes the image preview each time you select an image with the chooser. Smile .
The <default> tag is syntactically correct the way the 6.2-1 is coded, actually, I have no idea why it works without it in Slacko, Lupu and 4.2.1. I did a quick check on thunor's gtkdialog site and he only has one example of the chooser widget and that is the only documentation for it that exists! http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/source/browse/trunk/examples/miscellaneous/chooser?r=292&spec=svn320

-

jamesbond wrote:
This tells snd-usb-audio to not to use index 0 (=default sound device) but use index from 1 onwards.

All in all, the above should not prevent your usb device from working - it only tells your behringer not to be the default soundcard. Then you could use the multiple soundcard wizard for that. Do you mind trying with no savefile whether that is the case?

Ah, but the broken line (in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf) was preventing it from loading, I'll try that when alpha3/beta1 comes out. when I was loading it manually I was getting modprobe FATAL errors before I deleted that line.
Plus, I don't mind that it's not the default, just means that I have to set the card in some sound apps.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2049
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 05:19    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Well the difference is that it shows the current image and refreshes the image preview each time you select an image with the chooser. Smile .
Of course I had to miss that from your screeny and asked this embarassing question Smile
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1795
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 05:52    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
smokey01 wrote:
jamesbond don't forget mhwaveedit. I tried the one in the 500 repo but it didn't work. Was missing an .so file.

Thanks
Latest mhwaveedit is in the pet repo, along with a few LADSPA plugins.


Thanks, I found it in the repo .

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2049
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 06:20    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
01micko wrote:
PS: kirk, who made the fatdog logo? It's great work!
I remember the logo came from one of the forum members, though I browsed the entire 70 pages of "puppy wallpapers" thread but can't find it. I haven't browsed the 135 pages of "my puppy is more gorgeous than yours" ...


Credit is due where it is due. The fatdog logo as used in Fatdog today is from forum member afgs (whose other creations decorates Puppy, Quirky, Woof, Lucid Puppy, and perhaps many others). Get the SVG source from this thread: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=56390&start=30&sid=5a4f94368499e510560b1abdaf2e7fe1

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4120
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2012, 15:11    Post subject: Re: Use of Remaster tool  

jamesbond wrote:
... I just have one question - when asked for the layers to use, did you select pup_rw? (the RAM layer)? All your changes (PPM etc) are saved in the RAM layer, so if you choose to not include that in the remaster, your changes will not be carried forward.
Dunno. I'll test later and report tomorrow.
jamesbond wrote:
... EDIT: gcmartin, sorry for asking the obvious - did you burn the resulting remaster.iso to a new DVD? ...
To ISO. Then I made a DVD and booted, I think.

The "I think" reason:
I MAY have copied the files from the DVD to your Netboot TFTP directory for a PXE boot. I'll have to check that, too.

(BTW, I know that other things have priority, is it on your list for your Netboot PET to get an upgrade to handle the naming in FATDOG?)

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4120
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2012, 12:59    Post subject: save screens of the remaster  

Hi JamesBond/Kirk

I did save the screens of my initial Remaster attempt. I'll post those in a PM.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2012, 13:35    Post subject:    

Wow, this runs so nicely on my Macbook 2,1: the touchpad and button work fine, and I can even get right and middle button by putting two or three fingers on the touchpad and using the button.

Plus I can actually adjust the touchpad: the synclient actually loads, which wouldn't load in any other Puppy I have tried on my Mac. I was mostly driven up the wall because in other Puppies I couldn't turn off the tap, so I would have tons of open windows of programs I didn't want to open on the screen, but I would eventually bring in the USB mouse when I needed the right button because there was no way to get right clicks.

Now I don't have to worry about that stuff, I'll probably delete the other Puppies from my Mac. I certainly haven't found any way to make them work, there are hacks, but for other distros mainly and of varying complexity.

This is really cool, I really wasn't expecting it to work, but it does and I didn't even have to adjust anything, although I may do some synclient adjustments so that I can get the cursor to move a little smoother across the screen.

Thanks a lot for this awesome distro!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2012, 22:23    Post subject:  

Thanks for the kind words mini-jaguar. Probably the reason your touch pad is working is due to the 3.3.x kernel. This kernel added support for two different touch pads, which is the reason I wanted this kernel over 3.2.x.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2012, 22:53    Post subject:
Subject description: wbar application launcher
 

Here are pets of wbar-2.3.0 application launcher and it's dependency
imlib2-1.4.5.
Copy the file /usr/bin/wbar into the /root/Startup folder and wbar will start
everytime you boot fatdog or restart x.
imlib2-1.4.5-x86_64.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  imlib2-1.4.5-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  774.68 KB 
Downloaded  185 Time(s) 
wbar-2.3.0-x86_64.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  wbar-2.3.0-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  242.32 KB 
Downloaded  180 Time(s) 
wbarscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   87.22 KB
 Viewed   551 Time(s)

wbarscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
openwell3

Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 09:37    Post subject: Post #1 Fd64-600a2 request quick how-to frugal & grub menu
Subject description: Want to frugal install on sda6 along side Fatdog64- 521 on sda3
 

Hi,
I have failed trying to do frugal install.
New boot options, new homogenus frugal, new grub stuff difficult.
My request may help many users-

Can you edit post#1 to add-
1. Frugal install of "600" steps
2. Then, grub menu.lst example(s)

Seems everything is different, and I know others are having trouble too.
Thread seems to refer to FAQ, but cluttered with too many specific problems. No offense to Jim1911 or others.

I want to keep frugal install "521" on sda3 and do frugal install of "600a2" on sda6
Many thanks,
Openwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 11:24    Post subject:
Subject description: wbar application launcher
 

Billtoo wrote:
Here are pets of wbar-2.3.0 application launcher and it's dependency
imlib2-1.4.5.
Copy the file /usr/bin/wbar into the /root/Startup folder and wbar will start
everytime you boot fatdog or restart x.
Sorry, can't get it to work. Running from a terminal gives this message:# wbar
/usr/share/pixmaps/wbar/osxbarback.png Image not found. Maybe using a relative path?
#
The image is present, although it's just a faint outline of a rectangle. Tried renaming a different icon, no change. Hope we can get it to work, it will be a fine addition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 11:54    Post subject:
Subject description: wbar application launcher
 

Jim1911 wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
Here are pets of wbar-2.3.0 application launcher and it's dependency
imlib2-1.4.5.
Copy the file /usr/bin/wbar into the /root/Startup folder and wbar will start
everytime you boot fatdog or restart x.
Sorry, can't get it to work. Running from a terminal gives this message:# wbar
/usr/share/pixmaps/wbar/osxbarback.png Image not found. Maybe using a relative path?
#
The image is present, although it's just a faint outline of a rectangle. Tried renaming a different icon, no change. Hope we can get it to work, it will be a fine addition.


Hi Jim, I tested it with and without a save file and it worked fine.
After installing the pet and copying the wbar file to the Startup folder I restarted x and wbar showed up on the right side of the screen.
By clicking the first icon (top icon if the bar is vertical) you configure wbar and right clicking on a highlited item lets you edit that selection, you can also add new items.
Sorry but I don't know why it won't work for you.
wbarconf.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   95.5 KB
 Viewed   470 Time(s)

wbarconf.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1083s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]