Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 15:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600 alpha2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 13:36    Post subject:
Subject description: wbar application launcher
 

Billtoo wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
Here are pets of wbar-2.3.0 application launcher and it's dependency
imlib2-1.4.5.
Copy the file /usr/bin/wbar into the /root/Startup folder and wbar will start
everytime you boot fatdog or restart x.
Sorry, can't get it to work. Running from a terminal gives this message:# wbar
/usr/share/pixmaps/wbar/osxbarback.png Image not found. Maybe using a relative path?
#
The image is present, although it's just a faint outline of a rectangle. Tried renaming a different icon, no change. Hope we can get it to work, it will be a fine addition.


Hi Jim, I tested it with and without a save file and it worked fine.
After installing the pet and copying the wbar file to the Startup folder I restarted x and wbar showed up on the right side of the screen.
By clicking the first icon (top icon if the bar is vertical) you configure wbar and right clicking on a highlited item lets you edit that selection, you can also add new items.
Sorry but I don't know why it won't work for you.
It will not open at all. Could be a conflict with an installed program. I'll wait and check it out with a3.
Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 17:59    Post subject:  

Jim have you tried it with pfix=ram? that will eliminate installed programs.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 19:18    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Jim have you tried it with pfix=ram? that will eliminate installed programs.
I had not, and when I did, wbar worked. I'll still wait on finding where the conflict is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 20:12    Post subject:  

I notice only a few of the apps and icons line up with FD.

If I get time I might pull the PET apart and fix that so it at least matches the default installation.

I would be interested to know what the conflict is.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 04:09    Post subject:
Subject description: wbar application launcher
 

Billtoo wrote:
Here are pets of wbar-2.3.0 application launcher and it's dependency
imlib2-1.4.5.
Copy the file /usr/bin/wbar into the /root/Startup folder and wbar will start
everytime you boot fatdog or restart x.

Suitably modified (trimmed a little bit, update wbar.conf etc) - and uploaded to the pet repo. Thanks Bill.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 04:39    Post subject:  

Oh, before you get the next out the door, there is a locale bug.. if I "echo $LANG" I get "Australia".. nice to know Razz , but isn't en_AU?

Cheers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:25    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Oh, before you get the next out the door, there is a locale bug.. if I "echo $LANG" I get "Australia".. nice to know Razz , but isn't en_AU?

Cheers!
Huh? Shocked I've got the correct locale here, where whether I choose en_AU or en_AU.UTF-8. What's the content of your $HOME/.fatdog/language?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:32    Post subject:  

Code:
# cat $HOME/.fatdog/language
Australia
#


That was using your tool to set it today. For days I didn't bother setting locale or timezone. I was getting weird warnings about locale when compiling some stuff.

EDIT: Embarassed user error! didn't see the arrow and just clicked "Australia"... Laughing
Code:
# cat $HOME/.fatdog/language
en_AU
#

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:34    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
mories wrote:
Please, as set locale other than english?


Sorry mories, it's english only.

I have uploaded glibc_locale-non-English pet that enables non-English locales to a certain degree. But as kirk said, Fatdog is officially English-only. We can't test / fix non-English locale problems. Many applications have their *.mo files removed for for size reasons; same for those applications in the pet repository as well.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:38    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Code:
# cat $HOME/.fatdog/language
Australia
#


That was using your tool to set it today. For days I didn't bother setting locale or timezone. I was getting weird warnings about locale when compiling some stuff.
Question Question Can't reproduce here, do you mind adding tracing the script (make the first line "#!/bin/ash -x") and run it from terminal to see the output?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:39    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
01micko wrote:
Code:
# cat $HOME/.fatdog/language
Australia
#


That was using your tool to set it today. For days I didn't bother setting locale or timezone. I was getting weird warnings about locale when compiling some stuff.
Question Question Can't reproduce here, do you mind adding tracing the script (make the first line "#!/bin/ash -x") and run it from the command line to see the output?


See edit above Embarassed

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:40    Post subject:  

I mean re-run the set locale script ... that's /usr/sbin/fatdog-choose-locale.sh ?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:43    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
EDIT: Embarassed user error! didn't see the arrow and just clicked "Australia"... Laughing
Code:
# cat $HOME/.fatdog/language
en_AU
#

Ahh this is not user error, this is because the application is not resilient enough. I'll try to make it more resilient (going to be hardwork, there are a few of these kind of apps Embarassed )

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 05:44    Post subject:  

I also did a little work on the Wbar icons. They are now more applicable to FatDog and I have also added a font.

Because there are a few more icons it's a little fatter.

http://www.smokey01.com/software/desktop/wbar-2.3.0-x86_64.pet
wbar.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.44 KB
 Viewed   515 Time(s)

wbar.jpg


_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mories

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 07:47    Post subject: Locales  

jamesbond wrote:
kirk wrote:
mories wrote:
Please, as set locale other than english?


Sorry mories, it's english only.

I have uploaded glibc_locale-non-English pet that enables non-English locales to a certain degree. But as kirk said, Fatdog is officially English-only. We can't test / fix non-English locale problems. Many applications have their *.mo files removed for for size reasons; same for those applications in the pet repository as well.


Smile Thanks for add some support for non-english locale.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0183s) ][ GZIP on ]