Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 07:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600b2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [111 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4078
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2012, 16:52    Post subject: Offer - textual corrections to your BOOT Options Help screen  

Hope the text help clear some understanding. Mostly missing words or minor stuff to improve its readability.

Here to help
Corrections to Boot Options Help screen.tar.gz
Description  Corrections to Boot Options Help screen. Its your HTML with corrections.
gz

 Download 
Filename  Corrections to Boot Options Help screen.tar.gz 
Filesize  8.77 KB 
Downloaded  117 Time(s) 

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2043
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 03:12    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Sound isn't working. Spent a couple of hours checking everything today, so your beta3 will be interesting. Looks like the Ubuntu link confirmation report pertains.

I am afraid there isn't much I can do Sad Googling further, I found that the problem seems to surface sometime around Mar 2012 (mostly in Ubuntu) and there isn't any solution. Other results are from 2005 and 2003 which probably aren't relevant anymore.

https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/alsa-driver/+question/197852
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/alsa-driver/+bug/955194
https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/alsa-driver/+question/191780
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=80785

nooby wrote:
Haha Grandr has a competing prog named Zarfy
that do the same thing if one go to the Control Panel?

Can one have an icon on the desktop to the Control panel maybe?
I got to know zarfy from Jemimah. Jemimah has since abandoned it and moved on to Grandr; but I like zarfy better Smile

01micko wrote:
capicoso wrote:
Hey, this is a general linux 64bit question... When i download a source, do i have to specify that my system is 64bits? or i just do the usual ./configure make make install?
As far as I know, just ./configure should work because by default most bins install to /usr/local/bin, /usr/local/lib etc.

However, if you are compiling to package for other users then it is advisable to set "--prefix=/usr" at a minimum. Most distros set "--sysconfdir=/etc" and ''--localstatedir=/var" and for 64 bit "--libdir=/usr/lib64".. you could run into trouble if you install 32 bit compatibility libraries without that last one. If you are compiling on your machine for your machine architecture then the compiler will guess correctly your architecture.
I usually use at least --prefix /usr --libdir /usr/lib64; but this is if you intend your apps to be part of of your main setup. Otherwise you can live with no parameters at all and your binaries will live in /usr/local. Sometimes I add --sysconfdir and --localstatedir as Mick said above.

capicoso wrote:
Another question. How to use bluetooth? I tried hciconfig and hcitool on console but they aren't installed... Is there other tool ?
There isn't any bluetooth tool in Fatdog at the moment. I'm considering it; but since we're close to the finish line, this will probably not be in 600. It may be in 610 or 620 - depending how things are looking then. Of course, you're welcome to compile and experiment the bluez stack (and obex stuff too) if you wish, if you've got it working let me know Smile

nooby wrote:
I am so bad at finding text .
Where do you guys tell us how to increase the savefile?

Boot with "savefile=none", then use the savefile tool in Control Panel.
Quote:
Does one have to start anew? Is there some way to get
the Firewall show in tray if it is activated or not?
Not out of the box. Somebody will have to write that applet for lxpanel. I think there is probably an applet already for JWM.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2043
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 03:16    Post subject: Re: double oops  

DC wrote:
Whilst creating a new partition in gparted(fdb1 cd boot) the desktop drive icons had a wobbly for a few seconds then unsorted themselves and a couple disappeared. Restarting X solved that.
I need to test this.

Quote:
grub4dos did not pick up fd600 a2,b1 or b2. Found everything else.Maybe not having a gz extension on the initrd? would cause this.
Shinobar, are you listening? Very Happy

No, I don't think it's because of the missing .gz extension. In fact Fatdog64-600 is unique (among puppies) that it does not compress it's initrd at all, thus no extension.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 03:42    Post subject:  

Thanks JB. Haha I ahve already looked for that one three times yesterday.
"Boot with "savefile=none", then use the savefile tool in Control Panel. "

I guess my brain is deteriorating at a much faster pace than I want to admit to.
I still have not fixed the time thing. If I boot into FatDog and then reboot
into Lupu again then the Lupu is two hours offset to what it originally where.

Some kind fellow told me how to fix this but I am too scared to try it. Smile
I've made a bookmark to that text I hope.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2043
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 04:06    Post subject:  

@gcmartin:

Quote:
The Remaster would NOT boot over PXE kernel locks/spins...dead.

I really have no idea. I created a dozen remasters - some with pup_rw, some with devx, some with both; and all of them works - either booted as ISO, or booted via PXE. I tried PXE booting as iso, or extracted as initrd and vmlinuz; either way works.

Quote:
For starters, we were looking at the Hardinfo comparison of FATDOG 5.21 and FATDOG 600. in the summary section we notice that 600 is taking 1.8GB of a 4GB system vs 521 taking only 356MB.

To get meaningful memory comparison:
1. Boot 521 with pfix=ram
2. Boot 600 with savefile=none
3. In both systems, at terminal,
Code:
echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches; free


Quote:
But, when same process is tried using the Remaster's ISO, the result is failure.
I don't know how I can help because I can't reproduce the problem here. All my remasters work fine. The file listing looks correct, the file sizes look correct too. Anyone else having problems with remasters?

Quote:
Below, is the different ISO's folder content.
Yes, the remaster won't have those *.msg files.

Quote:
Another missing thing is JAVA/OpenJAVA as it paves the way for running applications that are built and run in Windows/Macs/Linux/Pads/Phones on FATDOG same as we do with video/audio formats.
Java is available as SFS. Use the excellent SFSManager (available from Control Panel) from 01micko to download and install it.

Quote:
Finally, the SAMBA component is NOT the 2012 version. It is a very antiquated version with missing SAMBA tools.
It serves the needs. 80/20 rule. If you need full Samba 01micko has kindly compiled the the latest and it is available through the package manager.

Quote:
Thus FATDOG is inherently designed for 64bit PCs, with Ethernet adapter and 1GB+ RAM. With this kind of firepower and it only taking 100MB+ RAM when in use at desktop, there is little reason for any concern about "size" or power for any desktop user...based upon its current design. Missing subsystems could only bring increase user acceptance and greater overall benefit.
Yes, because the entire Fatdog is loaded into RAM by default. Even when I have 8GB of memory, I still want my OS to be as small as possible. I prefer those extra memory to be used by *applications* rather than being eaten there as OS overhead. If we follow this kind of thinking we will end up with something like Winblows that requires 15GB of harddisk space just to install the OS and 2GB just to run the OS.

Quote:
It has been shown in the past by other distro developers that a logout will allow ALL of the fields to come into total agreement.
Yes, it will. However it is not necessary. $HOSTNAME is a bash-specific convenience variable and should not be used. Use $(hostname) instead; that will always give consistent result.

Quote:
Hope the text help clear some understanding. Mostly missing words or minor stuff to improve its readability.
Thanks, I have incorporated some of the changes.

Moving forward
- Beta2 will end soon.
- Next release will be "rc" (release candidate).
- Barring unforeseen circumstances, "rc" will become final. Otherwise, one more release for final.

Let me and kirk know of any last minute bugs (and probably fixes if you have that!) Very Happy

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Fri 29 Jun 2012, 04:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 04:08    Post subject:  

Please , can anyone give me a hint : I was curious to see how john pet could be used and I have installed it . I don't know what it does exactly ...
No trace of it in the MENU or Control Panel . It's only to be used through Terminal ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2043
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 04:28    Post subject:  

Gobbi wrote:
Please , can anyone give me a hint : I was curious to see how john pet could be used and I have installed it . I don't know what it does exactly ...
No trace of it in the MENU or Control Panel . It's only to be used through Terminal ?

I'll leave that to kirk Smile

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2043
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 04:36    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
But I am curious on the usage of not saving until it is really needed pretending the HD is a big usb disk.

The original purpose for this is to lengthen the lifetime of the flash drive. Instead of saving every single little thing to the disk when the OS says so; we use the RAM layer to cache all those changes and consolidate the saving into one big, bulk writes to flash drive; say, ever 30 mins or so.
Good point: lengthen flash drive lifetime.
Bad point: crash / power failure ==> lost of data (that haven't been saved yet). You can enable this in puppy too with "pmedia=ataflash" or "pmedia=ideflash".

But some people like this feature and use it to control of when or what gets saved to the savefile. Some would like to, for example, boot the system *and* use the savefile *but* do not want to save anything during the session. There are threads at length asking how to do this Smile Fatdog supports this too - like Puppy, just change the RAMSAVEINTERVAL to zero in the Event Manager Wink

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 05:12    Post subject:  

1. I much prefer to...
Be able to choose whether and when "to save or not to save"...
Either during the session, or at shutdown/reboot.

2. The above makes useful and interesting things possible.
e.g.
(a) I just now installed Thunderbird-3.1.9 here in Slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI.
I had clicked the "Save" icon immediately prior to installing Thunderbird.
I then tested the newly installed Thunderbird, and it seems OK.
So I again click "Save" to keep the installation.

(b) Had it all gone horribly wrong...
I'd have rebooted without saving...
And the installation would not be saved [therefore GONE].
And I could make a 2nd attempt at getting it right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 05:31    Post subject:  

I support what Sylvander suggest here above. That seems a good way
to prevent that failing installs get into savefile. Another way would be
to do backups of savefiles but that is not as practical as how Sylvander
suggests.

Re the FatDog RC. Do you prefer we test that one without reusing
the old savfile for 2 then? And what is most important to test?

Not to be picky in a nasty way but I would prefer that the FAQ
would have a subdirectory for FatDog and not place everything
at / and maybe also use this one for grub4dos.

title FatDog Beta 2 (FD2) Frugal install on Sda2
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /FD2/initrd
kernel /FD2/vmlinuz psubdir=FD2 savefile=direct:device:sda2:/FD2/fd64save.ext3
initrd /FD2/initrd

That way a noob not realizing that puppy users that prefer to test
many puppies can have several in frugal install on same partition
if one separate them naming the directories after the version of Puppy.

As the FAQ says now they get the impression one can have many
puppies and never put the files in a subdir? Or maybe it is just me

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2043
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 05:40    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
1. I much prefer to...
Be able to choose whether and when "to save or not to save"...
Either during the session, or at shutdown/reboot.

2. The above makes useful and interesting things possible.
e.g.
(a) I just now installed Thunderbird-3.1.9 here in Slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI.
I had clicked the "Save" icon immediately prior to installing Thunderbird.
I then tested the newly installed Thunderbird, and it seems OK.
So I again click "Save" to keep the installation.

(b) Had it all gone horribly wrong...
I'd have rebooted without saving...
And the installation would not be saved [therefore GONE].
And I could make a 2nd attempt at getting it right.

Enable the use of RAM layer. Instead of "savefile=direct:blahblahlablah" use "savefile=ram:blahblahblah" instead.
Then set the RAMSAVEINTERVAL (using Event Manager on Control Panel) to either zero, or to a super high value (e.g. 1440 - that 1440 minutes or 24 hours). Then you can click "Save" as needed.

nooby wrote:
I support what Sylvander suggest here above. That seems a good way
to prevent that failing installs get into savefile. Another way would be
to do backups of savefiles but that is not as practical as how Sylvander
suggests.
For testing packages, use Fatdog sandbox instead. Described inside the FAQ.

Quote:
Re the FatDog RC. Do you prefer we test that one without reusing
the old savfile for 2 then? And what is most important to test?
Don't worry about it until it is released. You can help testing beta2 now instead, so any bugs found can be fixed before RC is released, thanks.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kickstart


Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 10:15    Post subject:  

I have tried to install 600b2 and like DC have encountered booting problem, error 16: Inconsistent file system structure.
I have several different Puppy versions as frugal installations, each in a separate subdirectory on EXT4 partition SDA3. With the new installer not giving the option to frugal install straight to a newly created subdirectory like in the original Puppy Universal Installer, I installed directly to SDA3. I then created a new subdirectory and moved the newly installed 600 files into it along with the save file. I then manually edited the grub menu.lst file as I have done with all the other frugal installations. Here are the menu.lst entries for both Fatdogs I have installed, 521 boots, 600 does not.

# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux Fatdog 521
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /fatdog521/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=fatdog521
initrd /fatdog521/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux Fatdog 600b2
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /Fatdog600b2/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=Fatdog600b2
initrd /Fatdog600b2/initrd
# Linux bootable partition config ends

Could this be due to the new type initrd file? The initrd.gz files in the other frugal installations display the compressed file "packed box" icon and will ask if you wish to decompress them if clicked on. The 600b initrd file displays a "binary code" icon and has no run action assigned if you click on it. Do I have to specify a run action to enable grub to boot up 600b?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 10:39    Post subject:  

You have this one:

title Puppy Linux Fatdog 600b2
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /Fatdog600b2/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=Fatdog600b2
initrd /Fatdog600b2/initrd

I have this one.
title fatdog FD2
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /FD2/initrd
kernel /FD2/vmlinuz psubdir=FD2 savefile=direct:device:sda2:/FD2/fd64save.ext3
initrd /FD2/initrd

Three differences

1. find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd //Fatdog600b2/initrd
2. pmedia=atahd maybe that one is not needed but maybe does no harm either

3. savefile=direct:device:sda3:/FD2/fd64save.ext3 Maybe you need such?

Kirk and JamesBond know these things better than what I do but
I would add another entry in line with my suggestion and see if that one boot?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 11:09    Post subject:  

@kickstart: Here are some things to try:

1. In your GRUB entry, comment out both the kernel and initrd lines by putting a # in front. Reboot. Do you get Error 16 or does it just return to the GRUB menu?

2. Un-comment the kernel line. Reboot. Do you get a kernel panic or the GRUB error?

3. Comment out the kernel line and un-comment the initrd line. What happens?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 11:24    Post subject:  

This is really nice and slick: no missing icons from the menus like in alpha, a drive icon doesn't show onscreen for the swap partition like in previous versions, plus it boots into a nice screen with a Fatdog64 wallpaper.

But I am still having problems with the Audacity .pet and the Wine .sfs. They show up in the menus, but when I click on them they don't do anything and nothing shows up on the screen. Even the Wine Version thing doesn't do anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [111 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1233s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]