Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 13:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600b2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [111 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 11:44    Post subject:  

@kickstart: I was able to duplicate the problem.

1. Using Quirky 1.3, I created an ext4 partition and installed legacy GRUB.

2. I did a frugal install of Fatdog600.

3. The boot failed on the initrd line with Error 16.

4. I switched the filesystem to ext3 and it worked.

So it appears that legacy GRUB can't load the new large initrd file out of ext4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 11:56    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
This is really nice and slick: no missing icons from the menus like in alpha, a drive icon doesn't show onscreen for the swap partition like in previous versions, plus it boots into a nice screen with a Fatdog64 wallpaper.

But I am still having problems with the Audacity .pet and the Wine .sfs. They show up in the menus, but when I click on them they don't do anything and nothing shows up on the screen. Even the Wine Version thing doesn't do anything.

Run them on terminal so we can see the output error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kickstart


Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 12:00    Post subject:  

Thanks Nooby & rcrsn51. I'll create a EXT3 partition, try another installation and report back. If it works, looks like I'll have to try a newer bootloader, probably easier than moving all my frugal installs on to an EXT3 partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 12:23    Post subject:  

@kickstart: As a test, I repeated the procedure using a Slacko 533 CD. I let it format the partition as ext4 and install its own legacy GRUB. I got the same Error 16.

So using Slacko, I installed Grub4dos. It could not detect the FD600 frugal install, so I had to manually edit the menu.lst. But it booted correctly out of ext4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 12:29    Post subject:  

Btw. I wanted to say that i love the packages you included on the repos! It's a small repo but full of amazing apps like audacity, fluidsynth, jack2(jack1 is very outdated), qjacktl, qsynth, qtractor, well all the audio programs! Ah i also tried the audio all in one sfs that was made for 521 i think and it worked fine, except for ardour, it was missing a dependency, i don't remember which one now but fixed it. I'm making myself a fatdog full of multimedia programs, and the sfs speedd up the things...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kickstart


Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 13:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
@kickstart: Here are some things to try:

1. In your GRUB entry, comment out both the kernel and initrd lines by putting a # in front. Reboot. Do you get Error 16 or does it just return to the GRUB menu?

Returns to GRUB menu.

Quote:
2. Un-comment the kernel line. Reboot. Do you get a kernel panic or the GRUB error?

Kernel panic.

Quote:
3. Comment out the kernel line and un-comment the initrd line. What happens?

Error 19: Linux kernel must be loaded before initrd

@ Nooby
Tried your menu.lst entry with partition, subdirectory and filenames renamed to suit my installation. It completely messed up GRUB and I couldn't boot anything. Had to boot from live CD to restore menu.lst
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 14:02    Post subject:  

Ooops sorry. That surprise me much but am a noob.
So hopefully rcrsn51 can give you a workable suggestion.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kickstart


Joined: 09 Mar 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 14:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
So using Slacko, I installed Grub4dos. It could not detect the FD600 frugal install, so I had to manually edit the menu.lst. But it booted correctly out of ext4.

No problem Nooby. Grub4dos is the answer. I installed it from Racy 5.2.2 and as with rcrsn51's experiment it failed to detect FD600. Manually editing menu.lst got it booting fine from ext4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 16:36    Post subject:  

kirk , is it possible to have subtitles in VLC iin Fatdog 600 n the near future ?
I saw pemasu did something about it for Dpup Esprimo a few days ago . Maybe his solution could help a little ... ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 22:20    Post subject:  

Thanks Gobbi. I never actually tried anything with subtitles. It will be fixed for the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jun 2012, 00:30    Post subject: detecting fd600 by grub4dos  

DC wrote:
grub4dos did not pick up fd600 a2,b1 or b2. Found everything else.
Maybe not having a gz extension on the initrd? would cause this.

Right. The grub4dosconfig only version 1.8 and later detects the fd600.

But there is a trick for the older version of grub4dos.
Make a symbolic link 'initrd.gz' that points the 'initrd'. Then, run the grub4dosconfig.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 461

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jun 2012, 06:15    Post subject:  

You can simply rename initrd as initrd.gz. I have it like that, running a very slightly modified text for other Puppies (although I probably don't need to have the extension). In fact I even have both files (initrd.gz and vmlinuz) in a folder by themselves because I have other OSes on the partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1877
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jun 2012, 07:08    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
But I am still having problems with the Audacity .pet and the Wine .sfs. They show up in the menus, but when I click on them they don't do anything and nothing shows up on the screen. Even the Wine Version thing doesn't do anything.

Mini-jaguar, thank you for your wallpaper. For audacity - it requires wxWidgets. Did you install it from the package manager? If yes, it would have prompted you to install wxWidgets too.
Wine.sfs requires 32-bit compatibility library, because it is a 32-bit app (in fact it comes from green_dome pet, converted to sfs).

rcrsn51 wrote:
So it appears that legacy GRUB can't load the new large initrd file out of ext4.

Thank you for finding this one out. I was just about to say to do "fsck" on the boot drive, but I think your explanation is the correct one. I've done further googles and it seems that yes, "standard" legacy GRUB does not support ext4. Only legacy GRUB from Ubuntu supports ext4 (they patched it). Converted filesystems (ext3 -> ext4) will work for a while because existing files are still stored in ext3 format, but once they are stored in ext4 formats they are no longer bootable.

capicoso wrote:
Btw. I wanted to say that i love the packages you included on the repos! It's a small repo but full of amazing apps like audacity, fluidsynth, jack2(jack1 is very outdated), qjacktl, qsynth, qtractor, well all the audio programs! Ah i also tried the audio all in one sfs that was made for 521 i think and it worked fine, except for ardour, it was missing a dependency, i don't remember which one now but fixed it. I'm making myself a fatdog full of multimedia programs, and the sfs speedd up the things...
Glad that you like it! If you use the old audio-all-in one, make sure you delete the /opt/qt4 and re-create the sfs. That sfs includes old version of qt4 which are not compatible with WpaGui etc.

kickstart wrote:
With the new installer not giving the option to frugal install straight to a newly created subdirectory ...
Yes, out of sheer laziness Very Happy and also the fact that most "expert" people will just open the iso and copy the files inside instead of using the installer.

Quote:
The 600b initrd file displays a "binary code" icon and has no run action assigned if you click on it
It does if you click it from inside Fatdog 600. The icon is still a bit lacking though ... Need to draw proper icon for that and other savefile formats Rolling Eyes
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Sat 30 Jun 2012, 07:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jun 2012, 07:25    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:

Quote:
The 600b initrd file displays a "binary code" icon and has no run action assigned if you click on it
It does if you click it from inside Fatdog 600. The icon is still a bit lacking though ... Need to draw proper icon for that and other savefile formats Rolling Eyes


You've seen the one I made in Slacko? Just layered the puppy icon over the binary icon.. lazy as it gets! (But effective Wink )

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jun 2012, 07:32    Post subject:  

"So it appears that legacy GRUB can't load the new large initrd file out of ext4."

See that did lurk somewhere in the dark corner of my poor brain.
the Instant that I saw that FatDog had ext4 savefile then my body told me.
Something goes wrong with ext4 use ext3 instead. Now we know why
I reacted to that term ext4 Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [111 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0905s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]