Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 22:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 00:20    Post subject:  

I wrote a little gui for setting the sound to auto/analog/HDMI.

Should make it super easy. The radio buttons reflect the current state.

My sound (analog) was working ootb, still, anything played through aplay is no good.


NOTE: this will not display if the sound module is not loaded! (will show an error in terminal)
raspigui.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.42 KB
 Viewed   988 Time(s)

raspigui.png

pi_subsound_set-0.1-raspi.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pi_subsound_set-0.1-raspi.pet 
Filesize  5 KB 
Downloaded  190 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 00:35    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I wrote a little gui for setting the sound to auto/analog/HDMI.


Thanks micko!

By the way, my Python / Pygame pet does work. I just hadn't been thorough enough about dependencies. It requires: libpng, libjpeg (dev versions) and the dev versions of the sdl elements (sdl itself, mixer, sound, image, ttf).

Python Arm pet

I may re-compile in the new Alpha, just for kicks!
mark

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1292
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 02:48    Post subject:  

Hi,

I got a new problem with alpha3, not being able to use german keyboard layout.
In Quicksetup I select
Code:
de_DE
Europe/Berlin
de


No matter I restart X or reboot, typing in a terminal allways shows no change. I guess that it's us keyboard layout.
Restarting Quicksetup again shows de-latin1. I can change it to de, but running again, it shows again de-latin1 (and in terminal still us layout)

Firewall setup:
I get the message:
Code:
'rxvt-unicode-256color: unknown terminal type.
Configuration terminated. Goodbye.
Firewall install script finished.


Sound is per default analog. No prolem to hear mp3 with PlayMusic. Sound is good but with "scratches" about every 30sec., more or less. Maybe of interest, after a song is finished, PlayMusic allways try to play the next file. If this is a avi or mp4 movie, MPlayer opens and plays it (more or less).

No problem to change sound to HDMI (even during playing a song Laughing ), no scratches. So for normal usage, HDMI seems to be the best for me.

Will test gmome mplayer, gxine, omxplayer, pi_subsound_set, sws and more, soon.

@rrolsbe
IIRC Puppy detects all swap partitions and mounts it, but i don't know the order it uses these partitions. With alpa2 I just deleted the swap partition of the sd card and Sap6 automatically used the swap partition of the usb hd. You can also unmount a swap partition via command line, but I haven't tested in Sap6 and don't remember the command .

More later,
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 03:34    Post subject: Re: Alpha 3 report & Going for the Holy Grail
Subject description: Ultimate Pup
 

rrolsbe wrote:
Questions: I am running Puppy from /root on an external USB drive to improve performance. I also have a swap partition on the external drive, how do I make Puppy use it?


You find a variable in /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONSTRAINED that you can comment-out. Though, that will also cause the swap partition on the SD card to load.

So, I recommend run:

# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/mmcblk0p3

to wipe the swap partition on the SD card.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 03:38    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
The sound problems are going to be awkward. Can anyone give me an idiot's guide to the story so far? I don't seem to have alsa working.


HDMI in alpha 2
- working for some (with some break up)
- noise from HDMI monitor but not recognizable (that was my condition)
- no sound from HDMI (Barrys monitor)

HDMI in alpha 3
- not working for me at all now for HDMI, even when changing settings in config.txt
modprobing etc
- sound from headphone socket is the new default for alpha 3? If so I have not tested


Please read the Release Notes.

There is a script that runs at bootup, /etc/init.d/11alsa_raspi that sets sound to the analog output.

Change the properties of that to non-executable then it won't run at bootup. Or, edit it to set sound o/p to HDMI.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 05:21    Post subject:  

Thanks Barry - I was focussing on getting Python / Pygame installed, but I will use your instructions to get the sound to go via HDMI.

Great work by the way! I am a very happy Puppy!
Very Happy

I've posted on the RPi forum about the success with my wireless dongle.
I know the editors of the MagPi magazine pretty well (I did an article on Scratch for them last time). They seem pretty focussed on Debian at the moment. But I am going to try to persuade them to do something on Puppy soon.
mark

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 05:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
New audio mixer not running from command line


Ignore the idiot crustacean (that would be me)
Too many arms and not enough neurons.

The Mixmos s running just not doing anything useful so far . . .
About to try Micko's sound GUI pet - pretty cool to have pets (Barry produced some but did not test them) Sorry Crying or Very sad

Puppy second boot is pretty speedy (by the time I have found the remote and turned on HDMI TV I am in Puppy - no pseudo sudo passwords required) Smile

Puppi Linux
Rock and Raspberry Roll

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 05:45    Post subject:  

Barry

What about /etc/init.d/11alsa_raspi reading a config file? Say.. /etc/rapsi_alsa.conf? Default could be "0" or "1" or "2" or whatever the consensus is and my little gui could be used to change that.

just a thought.

@Lobster, when you fire up that gui, the default should be the "Analog" option radio button. If analog (headphones or external speakers) work for you leave it else try out the other 2. HDMI doesn't work for me, but I think it's the el cheapo gear I have. I might plug in my raspi to the 40" Samsung, (when wifey is at work on Sunday Wink )

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 06:07    Post subject:  

Mick the the GUI locked up my Pi
now all my icons are gone. (fixable)
Shocked

The HDMI worked (well sound of raspy static - not actual sound) for me but not analog or auto
- the pet is in setup
gonna reboot and try to run from command line for better feedback.

found your pet code in
/usr/sbin/pi_sound_set.sh

in case anyone else wants a look Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 06:52    Post subject:  

Now that you guys have this long experience of using RPi.

Was it true that you needed to buy new kind of Sd cards that the old ones
where the wrong type and that the new ones are special kinds of SD
that maybe is not sold everywhere and have to be bought online from some
other country?

What is referred to SD anyway How big are there? Those I have already
in my many Smartphones are like the nail of a thumb or so.
Say 14mmx10mm and can be put into an adapter that is maybe 23mmx30mm
One SD I have is named Zap microSD 512MB could that then be not compatible being too old and slow?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 08:20    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

One SD I have is named Zap microSD 512MB could that then be not compatible being too old and slow?


"micro" is no good, need the standard SD size. Sure, there is an adapter but that I see as another bottle neck. We try to avoid those Smile .

Are you getting a raspberry pi nooby? If not you can test with qemu. There is a nice "howto" by our friend jamesbond Wink .(See the "How To" section)

Edit; there you go! Link in below post.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Thu 12 Jul 2012, 08:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2134
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 08:49    Post subject: Re: Alpha 3 report & Going for the Holy Grail
Subject description: Ultimate Pup
 

rrolsbe wrote:
Have an SSH daemon available on the Pi that would allow ssh, scp and ssh -X from a remote (more powerful machine) I think dropbear would suffice?

See here, second post.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
buy new kind of Sd cards


The Rpi Foundation recommend Class 4 and above (10 is the highest)
If no class number it will probably not work.
Barry recommends Class 6 as a minimum and I would agree.
Even the same brand of Class 4 can be temperamental.

The Rpi Foundation or someone who gets through a lot recommends Transcend brand SD cards.

As far as I am concerned all SD cards are overpriced and not as reliable as solid state devices should be. However I do not hear complaints from phone and camera users? Are we stressing them more?
Barry is trying to minimise their read writes.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 10:35    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Barry recommends Class 6 as a minimum and I would agree.
Even the same brand of Class 4 can be temperamental.


The other thing is that the different releases (due to firmware I guess??) work with different ranges of cards.
Puppy and Arch work on cards that the Debian Squeeze release will not tolerate.
I believe the way to go is to move the filesystem to a usb flash drive (or equivalent) and alter the commandline text file accordingly. This is how I do it with my Arch set up (using a USB3 Kingston Elite stick).

So far I am running Puppy off a card, but I might splash out on another high-speed usb flash stick thingy.

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 10:56    Post subject:  

@ Lobster - if you are in the mood for some pets, this does work, but getting the "deb" - endencies in place might take a while!

antiloquax wrote:
Here's a link to my Python and Pygame pet. You'll need tcl and tk plus dev versions of sdl, sdl-image, sdl-mixer and sdl-ttf, linpng, lipjpeg, smpeg. In the Debian repos they are listed as "libsdl" whatever.

Python Arm pet

mark

And here's a little test program, if you want to see if it works.
pibounce.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pibounce.tar.gz 
Filesize  13.9 KB 
Downloaded  138 Time(s) 

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1082s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0155s) ][ GZIP on ]