Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 20:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 12:26    Post subject:  

Thanks guys much appreciated. So RPi needs that bigger
and high quality version for to work then. I only have
the cheapest micro SD versions that came with the smartphones
I have a lot of USB flash though so would be good to have a computer for these

I have no RPi, I sure want to but hesitated when I saw the Sold out sign
some weeks ago.

I look forward to the Norwegian version or similar instead.
They seems to have better RAM and already in a case too.

No hurry I wait until late this year or next until it settle down
and people have decided on what will be the main thing to use.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Fri 13 Jul 2012, 02:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 16:33    Post subject:  

Hi,

I'm still not able to use german keyboard layout.

I can select e.g. azerty or sv-latin1 (Sweden). Both are working fine.

Using be-latin1 (Belgium) or gr (Greece), no success. Like de (German) or de-latin1, I allways have us keyboard layout when typing in a terminal.

I did also a new install with a new download. No change, same problem.

Selecting UTF-8 or not, doesn't matter.

This problem is new for me. It didn't happen in earlier versions of sap6 nor in other Puppies.

@Mick
pi_subsound_set-0.1-raspi.pet works fine for me. No problems with it.

~Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rrolsbe

Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 17:08    Post subject: Re: Alpha 3 report & Going for the Holy Grail
Subject description: Ultimate Pup
 

Barry/Rolf

Thanks for the posts! Since a swap partition existed, I didn't realize the swap partition was NOT being used in Alpha3. Running without swap when using /root from SDHC card is probably a good idea (guess it might crash if RAM is exhausted?).

BTW, copying the files needed for the omxplayer from my Debian Squeeze SDHC to Puppy no longer works. Guess something in the boot blob/firmware changed between Alpha 1 and 3 (get a strange vchiq lib error - /dev/vchiq does exist? Sure would like to use the omxplayer to watch mp4 videos with Puppy!

BarryK wrote:
rrolsbe wrote:
Questions: I am running Puppy from /root on an external USB drive to improve performance. I also have a swap partition on the external drive, how do I make Puppy use it?


You find a variable in /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONSTRAINED that you can comment-out. Though, that will also cause the swap partition on the SD card to load.

So, I recommend run:

# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/mmcblk0p3

to wipe the swap partition on the SD card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 17:31    Post subject:  

@rrolsbe
You could try the pet here. Wink
My Opera downloads it as omxplayer-0.0.1.gz. If this happens for you too, just rename .gz to .pet.

~Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 18:15    Post subject:  

Raspberry Pi homepage has just posted (about 2200 GMT Thursday) a video narrated by Dom from the R_Pi Foundation, of the R_pi booting and navigating about the internet using the changes afforded by Raspbian. Most impressive! Apparently they are going to make it a general release in the near future.

Dom is also overclocking his R_pi to 1.0 GHz in the video. I have been running at 850 MHz since I received it without problems, but my device would not boot at 1.0 GHz; 950 MHz, nope; 925 MHz, lots of error messages but no boot. It boots O.K at 900 Mhz. I'll try that for a while.

I have been trying out alpha-3 SAP. It does indeed boot much faster.

It looks like the inclusion of "find_cat" did not cure any of the major problems in PPM. Most programs I would look for in PPM could not be found (bad databases?). Updating the databases still gives the " line 1: syntax error: unexpected '(' ", requiring ctrl-c to get out.

I finally was able to find and install "Ace-of-Penguins" card games, but they installed under "Utilities/General Utilities" in the menus! But clicking on the name of the game in this incorrect location did ititiate a game.

After setting up an internet connection, it did not persist on a reboot. After setting the connection up again and browsing for a while, the "Active Interfaces" icon in the right-lower corner still has a red "X" through it and the message "Active Interfaces: None".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 02:59    Post subject:  

for this error:

line 1: syntax error: unexpected '('

this could be problem with compilation - wrong architecture, u try run program for x86 on ARM

http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php/55707-line-1-syntax-error-unexpected-quot-%28-quot

i had similar problem, when i tried run ARM app on x86:
line 1: syntax error: word unexpected (expecting ")")

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-embedded-78/line-1-syntax-error-word-unexpected-expecting-898733/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 05:09    Post subject:  

Well, I found a workaround for my keyboard layout problem Very Happy .

When I edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and change XkbLayout from "us" to "de", everything works fine.

~Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 06:09    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
What about /etc/init.d/11alsa_raspi reading a config file? Say.. /etc/rapsi_alsa.conf? Default could be "0" or "1" or "2" or whatever the consensus is and my little gui could be used to change that.


Yeah, I'm going "raspberryize" QuickSetup, so it will have that analog radiobuttons that you did, plus some other settings for the 'config.txt' file in partition 1.

I would like QuickSetup to automatically detect what arm board it is running on, and adjust itself accordingly.

I will think about doing that tonight, probably.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 06:40    Post subject:  

eowens2 wrote:
I finally was able to find and install "Ace-of-Penguins" card games, but they installed under "Utilities/General Utilities" in the menus! But clicking on the name of the game in this incorrect location did ititiate a game.
You can change that by editing /usr/share/applications/Ace-of-Penguins(or similar).desktop. Change line "Categories=..." to "Categories=Game".

HTH
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 11:49    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:
Quote:

You can change that by editing /usr/share/applications/Ace-of-Penguins(or similar).desktop. Change line "Categories=..." to "Categories=Game".

When I go to the file /usr/share/applications/penguin-solitaire-desktop (or 10 or so others in the package 'Ace-of-Penguins), I find that these are executable files, not editable text files. When one clicks on /usr/share/applications/penguin-solitare-desktop a game is initiated rather than a text editor opening with content to be edited.

I guess resolution of this will have to await BK's editing. It is high on his list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 12:20    Post subject:
Subject description: overclocking
 

If anyone is interested, I have been overclocking my Pi with these settings and I've had no problems

Code:
arm_freq=850
sdram_freq=500
gpu_freq = 250



There is a post about using even higher settings (1Ghz) here:
Dom's post

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 12:29    Post subject:  

eowens2 wrote:
When one clicks on /usr/share/applications/penguin-solitare-desktop a game is initiated rather than a text editor opening with content to be edited.

You are right, if you left click, it will be executed. Use right click and choose "Open As Text" Wink .

~Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 15:06    Post subject:  

Rhadon, you are right! Right-clicking the file does allow me to edit the fields! So I changed the line "Categories=..." to "Categories=Games", saved and re-booted. No difference. The games still appeared under "Utilities/General Utilities/name-of-game" in the menus.

Changed it to "Categories=Fun", saved and rebooted. Same result as above.

I used PPM to remove "Ace-of-Penguins" from SAP alpha-3 (received a verification from PPM), verified that none of the games appeared in any of the menus, and rebooted.

I opened PPM and clicked on "Fun" along the left margin of the window (wondering if this selection might influence where the files might appear in the menu). I then asked PPM to find and install "Ace-of-Penguins", which it did.

But it installed as before, under "Utilities/General Utilities/name-of-files" in the menus, with the binary in /usr/games/ace-name-of-game.

So the devs know about it. I know there are a lot of things clammering for their attention right now. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 15:24    Post subject:  

.

I had sound over HDMI briefly but then it went off. Will investigate further.

I have made a PET of mupdf. This works on my Pi. Please have a go and see if it seems okay:

mupdf-1.0ARMv6.pet

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 16:25    Post subject:
Subject description: Simple Benchmarking
 

I ran this command to do a very simple benchmark.
(from a console, not within X)
Code:
time echo "scale=2000;4*a(1) | bc -l


With the over-voltage overclock, the "real" time was:
15.774 secs.

With the "safe" overclock, (arm - 850, sdram - 500, gpu - 250), I got:
22.339s

With no overclocking:
22.464s

As a quick comparison, I ran the test on my Arch installation (this is using the same "safe" overclock) and got:
20.489s

Just out of interest, I ran this on my laptop, which is a Pentium 3 with 256mb of RAM (so similar to the sort of performance Eben Upton has claimed the Pi might have). It is running Racy Puppy.
The time was:
17.259s

Sound over HDMI is working fine, I followed Barry's instructions and edited the file that sets the default audio so that it selected HDMI.
One odd thing (and this may be my TV, not the Pi) is that there is no sound at first, but when I adjust the TV volume, it appears!

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1076s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]