Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 07:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600 Final and 601 (July 2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 23 [332 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 08:33    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 I love your disk_space it's a great little app.

I like it running out of the try but not the lack of graphic representation unless you click the graph icon, a bit messy. With your first version I increased the amount of graphical representations to 10, perfect.

Also it would be nice if the tray icon was a toggle. One click to maximise, the next to minimise, not open a second instance.

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 09:07    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
With your first version I increased the amount of graphical representations to 10, perfect.

Here is the problem on my machine. If the number of bar graphs displayed is more than 3, gtkdialog throws errors about "threads". Since you successfully bumped it up to 10, it must be hardware dependent. But if I run disk-space on the same machine in Quirky, I can show lots of graphs.

That's why v1.1 only displays one graph at a time. Otherwise the program is flaky. And it takes up less screen space.

Quote:
Also it would be nice if the tray icon was a toggle. One click to maximise, the next to minimise, not open a second instance.

So clicking on Quit is too much effort for you? Wink Also, that's beyond my ability to write tray applets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 09:16    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@timothyli: Here is something to try. It's more informative than partview, but it still may not be as convenient as you would like.

It only shows mounted partitions. The installer puts a menu entry in Utility.

[Edit] Here is a version that runs out of the tray.

[Edit-Edit] Version 1.2 also lists the savefile.
Thanks, nice touch to include savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 09:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
Also it would be nice if the tray icon was a toggle. One click to maximise, the next to minimise, not open a second instance.

rcrsn51 wrote:
So clicking on Quit is too much effort for you? Wink Also, that's beyond my ability to write tray applets.


Not at all. It's just a nice touch. Jamesbond did it for Psip which is very useful. Maybe he will chime in and provide the solution. It's a great little script.

Thanks again.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 15:29    Post subject: disk space info  

Thanks everyone. Your drive-space applet works great, rcrsn51.
I also renamed pmount to pmount-new and sym-linked pmount-old to pmount. Pmount-old shows free space and is a bit easier to use (just one click to mount/umount). For me, the new pmount is harder to use because it requires at least 2 clicks. It is somewhat a brain teaser because your eyes need to look at a list of drives, click to select the one your want, then look at the mount check box to see whether it is mounted, and based on that, click the appropriate mount/unmount button - a lot of information to process for the brain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 18:40    Post subject: lxpanel menu  

What configures the lxpanel main menu, the directory entries above the Control Panel entry in Fatdog?

I know that the Control Panel entry and below are configured at /root/.config/lxpanel/default/panels/panel.

I have looked at /etc/xdg and /usr/share/desktop-directories, I just can’t find or figure it out. If I were using JWM no problem, but with lxpanel I am lost on this. I can live with the way it is, but just wondering. I normally separate the system applications and the regular apps, similar to Puppy and arrange them alphabetical in two sections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 21:24    Post subject:  

duke93535,

Lxpanel has been patched to scan /usr/share/applications and make it's menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 21:53    Post subject:  

I was talking about the configuration for the category directory items above Control Panel, not the build of the menu from /usr/share/applications/*.desktop(s).

So, I guess there is none that are normally configurable.

thanks, ok duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 23:17    Post subject:  

duke93535 wrote:
So, I guess there is none that are normally configurable.
Correct. You can also try the updated lxpanel 0.5.9 from the package manager (courtesy of WillM), that version may be more configurable.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 01:46    Post subject:  

Gee, upgrading to lxpanel 0.5.9 was great for me. I had given up on autohide before and the menus are just right for me. all I had to do is symlink a few icons to /usr/share/pixmaps and it was good to go. Thanks to WillM.

Thank you for the tip, jamesbond
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 19:41    Post subject:  

Guys, how did you do the volume bar? I mean the green volume bar that appears when i use my multimedia keys for volume+/-/mute. There are some programs that i couldn't compile on Fatdog so i also use Precise Puppy, and i'd like to have that bar on precise. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 20:28    Post subject:  

capicoso,

That's Sven that does that. Sven is in the tray next to Wpa_gui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2012, 05:09    Post subject:  

Fatdog64 601 is released. Please see first post.
Full-install is still not supported but if you really need it please check http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79819.
It's hibernation time now Cool

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2012, 06:16    Post subject:  

Nice one, jb, thanks.
But you can't slope off yet - get the matchsticks ready to watch Adam Scott whoop the world....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gnomic

Joined: 20 Aug 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2012, 08:42    Post subject:  

Fatdog64 600 firefox edition here. Running a Toshiba Satellite Pro S300 with Intel 5100 wifi. Alas it seems impossible to connect to a WPA2 access point. Appears the firmware is not being loaded. By the way is wpa_gui really up to the job? Have never found it of much use. Wicd by contrast usually seems to 'just work'. Likewise SNS etc.

Various other puppies and porteus 64bit editions can connect with this hardware. Haven't followed fatdog development blow by blow, is there a known problem here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 23 [332 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0789s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]