Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 18:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600 Final and 601 (July 2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 23 [332 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 09:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
1. What are the [vendor:product] ID codes? I need more than "Cohiba/aka you-name-it/ ...and Netgear wg111"
The item I possess is badged Inventel. It has the Intersil ISL3887 aka Netgear wg111 aka Prism054g chip. Also badged Cohiba 3887 rev0 and (OEM) Wiston NeWeb UR054g. It has a terrible track record on the InterWeb, but it does work entirely satisfactorily in some distros, notably PCLOS 2012-02 Phoenix Xfce and sometimes, some Puppies (can't remember which at this stage - too much water under the bridge.)

2. Is the p54usb module getting loaded?
Invariably: Yes, but might be a few exception as with all systems/SW


3. What does the command "dmesg | grep firmware" report?
Will report later.

4. In what Puppy version is the device confirmed to work?
see above. Sometimes it will light up, connect but not function - there are other reports, other systems, other distros reporting this on the InterWeb.

5. What exactly is its problem in Fatdog? It never connects? It drops out?
Will confirm next week when fully back to testing.

6. Please explain this comment from your first post.
One of the distros I run permanently is Linux Mint Xfce 64 bit - dongle doesn't fire up on this system.


Later: Tried on P4/3.4G/1Mb/ liveCD - managed to connect during liveCD session. Will clear the bench tomorrow and go back & look at some of the older machines again. This result is pointing to a HW issue although Mint is usually reliable, but not this time. Suggesting that Web claims that the ISL3887 chip isn't 64bit compatible are incorrect and smokey/kirk have got it right. Well done guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 03:59    Post subject:  

kirk , thank's for the wpa_gui-fix.pet

Now wpa_gui works also for me Exclamation Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 07:41    Post subject:  

alexei wrote:
- After installation of ATI catalist screen resolution went out of range.
If your laptop is too new then you just have to wait until AMD releases better Catalyst driver. Does the standard radeon driver work for you?

Quote:
- After installation of the LXpanel "Add to Desktop" does not work.
I don't understand what you mean.
Quote:
- It's not possible to get only IP from DHCP server and specify DNS IP manually.
It is possible but there is no GUI for that. You have to edit some stuff from /libexec/dhcp-run-hooks.
Quote:
- Max screen DPI is limited to 108.
Edit .Xresources in your home directory. You can put any dpi value you wish.
Quote:
- No GUI to set WatCom tablet, though it somehow works anyway.
Yup. In my experience you only need GUI for tablets (ie, for calibration). For anything else, you can use "xsetwacom" or "xinput".

Quote:
- Better description of pets - currently we can see short info and only as a tooltip.
What do you have in mind?
Quote:
- Click on desktop background should unshade currently shaded icon(s).
This is controlled by openbox. If you can find how to make openbox behaves that way, let me know. (Not that I'm going to do it by default, but we can probably make it as a pet).
Quote:
- Click on desktop background should close "start"-menu.
It does.
Quote:
- Help on boot options should be visible at startup (I don't have it after HDD installation).
It is always there. Point your browser to /usr/share/doc/home.html.
Quote:
- HDD installation - copy existing savefile and prompt for boot options.
???
Quote:
- I had to install Grub4Dos to specify boot options.
(particularly savefile=direct:device:sda1)
That's why they are called "boot options". You need to specify them from your boot-loader, whatever your choice of boot loader is.
Quote:
- Choice of single/double click mode should be available at R-click menu on the desktop.
Unfortunately that's not how Rox works.
Quote:
- In the new releases, please verify that it is possible to disable IPV6, especially for the wireless.
IPv6 is disabled by default. You need to explicitly load "ipv6" module to enable it.
Quote:
- Sound card selection - add "test" option.
Yes, nice to have.
Quote:
- "Windows"-btn should open "start"-menu.
Alt-F1 opens "Start" menu. You can change the key to anything else by editing /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml (if you are running as root).
Quote:
- Click on CPU usage in the toolbar should open Task Manager
Yes, nice to have, but probably won't happen unless someone re-writes the CPU usage applet.
Quote:
- Installation should ask if Wifi autoconnect is OK.
You won't be connected to wifi anyway if you don't have the password.
Quote:
- More cursor themes - currently I don't see that app is starting.
Nothing to do with the cursor themes, more to do with the application itself.

Quote:
- VMware integration drivers - just to make it easy to try/test.
We cannot redistribute commercial software.
Quote:
- TuxCommander - in my opinion it's the best dual-panel file manager for Linux. BTW, it has advanced search. http://tuxcmd.sourceforge.net/description.php
Executable for Debian works right out of the box, no libraries needed.
http://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=tuxcmd
Yes, nice to have. Perhaps we should just repackage it as a pet.

Quote:
- How to add items (applications, control panel items) to Desktop, how to remove?
All you see in Desktop is "shortcut". You can see all the applications in /usr/share/applications. Drag and drop from there to desktop. You can also drag-and-drop any files / document / folders to the desktop, they will be created as shortcuts to the corresponding files/document/folders.
To remove, right-click and then choose "remove item".
Quote:
- I see appname.desktop files under /usr and /.usr, can I use them to create Desktop items?
No.
Quote:
- How to create a pet out of existing (debian) package?
Plenty of information in this forum and the wiki, I will not repeat it here again. Please search for it.
Quote:
- Which directories would survive FatDog update, and which go to a savefile?
Depends on how you run Fatdog and how you perform the update. Generally speaking, Fatdog does not delete anything.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10514
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 12:21    Post subject:  

What can this error message be about?
I tried to activate the FatDog PPM and
it shows this message

I wanted to install the Pup-Advert-Blocker
that Stu91 recommended it is usually
available on Puppy? I have never used it before
but wanted to try it on his recommendation.

any suggestion what to do. I never reached PPM

I have a rather late FD 64 600

on a Acer Netbook D255 Frugal install on NTFS.
gtk error.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  gtk error.jpg 
Filesize  89.83 KB 
Downloaded  344 Time(s) 

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 15:24    Post subject: very urgent warning against Fatdog 600  

very urgent warning against Fatdog 600

I did loose 10 minutes before 32 GByte important personal data because of the totaly silly dilly names of the drives and partitions in Fatdog 64.

fatdog does NOT FOLLOW the Puppy linux usages in this matter Idea or creating the save file!

you can't save you dates as usual! it is very very very dangerous for your work:

Fatdog renames export and destinations partitions or USB so, that you can't not recognize them any more!!!!

it is non sens pure!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 17:47    Post subject:  

explanation

Naming of the traditional "home" partition of frugal installations:

if your frugal installation is on /dev/sda3

and you work with an external usb memory on /dev/sb1

number of drive can be an other in your case

and hit on the sb1 icon available on the screen, the window being opened by this hitting is named correctly /mnt/sb1

and following subdirectories open affiliated path names (for ex. /mnt/sb1/my_subdir)

if you hit on the sda1 partition's icon available on the screen, the window being opened by this hitting is named correctly /mnt/sda1

and following subdirectories open affiliated path names (for ex. /mnt/sda1/my_subdir)

but not on your traditional puppy /mnt/home (in my case /dev/sda3)

the windows will not be named /mnt/sda3
it will not be named /mnt/home
it will not be named home
it will not be named /initrd/mnt/pup_ro2 as appearing in some puppy's

but

fatdog601 did introduce a new confusing name /aufs/devsave and then /aufs/devsave/my_subdir !

Creation of savefiles:

I have now 2 fd64save.ext?

why?

and they are not in the subdir attributed to fatdog but in the root of the partition! hm Twisted Evil

I did create the first one in ext3 because I will access to all parts of the system not only with new puppy's but with each other old puppy or other linux versions

after newstart, fatdog did not recognize the fd64save.ext3 and did require the creation of a new one

why?

I don't know?

- the save file is too big? (3 Gb as 64 bit things are more heavy as 32 bits one are)

- I did attribute my usual laptop network name (I don't understand this unusual complication making the result uncertain as I am constating now!)

- and password of course, as the puppy world is not using only one password (of course, I know today woofwoof! but what is the matter after 1/2 year?)

certain is: the creation of the first file containing data did happen, but it was not recognized by fatdog.

for the second one, I did let all the proposed values as they were but it is nonsens to ask for other values and make only irritation of the user, if you are not free to give other or uncertain after that, that the file is valid!

and I can't really see which one of both save file fatdog601 is really using though I can see to icons in rox with the special symbolic "savefile"!

(suppl. info: I did start using Grub2 without event. parameter for savefile.
suppl. remark: it is bad to name initrd differently as in other puppy's: to have a transparent menu for Grub2, I never introduce new puplets into the menu. I only change the name of the directory into «puppy», what else, and have so only 2 entries for puppy in that menu: the actual puplet in use, always named «puppy», and the last version published by Barry Kauler itself working without problem on the one PC I am actually using, desktop or laptop, as «puppy recovery» on a very little separate partition (so that it is possible to use gparted without restrictions on the big partition where the other puppy's are, and rename the actual puplet directory having to be named «puppy]. If the name of initrd is exceptionally not the same as usual, this very organisation practicable organisation not possible any more and if each puplet creator does that, i will need again a Grub2 menu with extension!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10514
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 03:50    Post subject:  

Now I am as my name say a noob and not on your level.

But wanted to comment on this one

"I did start using Grub2 without event. parameter for savefile. "

I've asked the Devs of different Puppy variations about Puppy
and Grub2 and as far as I know all of them say that of one want
to use Grup 2 one are on ones own. Officially it is not supported?

But I can be wrong about that one. It is what I remember
and FatDog is it's own policy I guess so maybe them
are into supporting grub2.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 06:56    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
What can this error message be about?
I tried to activate the FatDog PPM and
it shows this message

I wanted to install the Pup-Advert-Blocker
that Stu91 recommended it is usually
available on Puppy? I have never used it before
but wanted to try it on his recommendation.

any suggestion what to do. I never reached PPM

I have a rather late FD 64 600

on a Acer Netbook D255 Frugal install on NTFS.


Yup, the fatdog package manager is a little brittle. If you use foreign packages, things like this can happen. I've attached an updated package manager pet, please install this and see if it fixes your problem.

It it doesn't, then I'm interested in your copy of /root/.packages/user-installed-packages.
fdpm-update.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fdpm-update.pet 
Filesize  6.64 KB 
Downloaded  320 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 07:03    Post subject:  

slackfan, I'm sorry to hear your data loss. Did you read the first page of this thread, though? Fatdog is a little different from other puppies.

Nooby, Fatdog is boot-loader-agnostic. As long as the bootloader is capable of booting linux, it should be able to load Fatdog. I don't use Grub2 myself so I can't help here.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10514
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 08:57    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
...
Nooby, Fatdog is boot-loader-agnostic.
As long as the bootloader is capable of booting linux,
it should be able to load Fatdog. I don't use Grub2 myself
so I can't help here.


Yes I trust that I do get it on that level but that is not what I talk about
but I agree that my text could be very misleading so maybe
we can just drop it as highly derailing this thread.

Thanks for the pet. But maybe I need to ask if FatDog does have
the Pup-Advert-Blocker and Grandr at all?

No need to go to PPM if these two are not there?
I've solved it using Lupu instead so overkill to
also solve it with Fatdog. I am more used to Lupu.
see this solved problem
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81501

Hacking audio using Lupu. I wanted to test FatDog to see
if that solved the hacking audio.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alexei

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2012, 18:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
Quote:
After installation of ATI catalist screen resolution went out of range.
If your laptop is too new then you just have to wait until AMD releases better Catalyst driver. Does the standard radeon driver work for you?
Catalist works fine. The problem was that it set max resolution video card is capable of and it was too high for the monitor. So, I rebooted with vesa kernel option, and changed display resolution. To eliminate this hassle Catalist-pet should update catalist settings to the screen resolution that is current when it installs.

Quote:
Quote:
Help on boot options should be visible at startup (I don't have it after HDD installation).
It is always there. Point your browser to /usr/share/doc/home.html.
I don't have browser at bootup (in the situation above I had to go to another computer to find how to specify vesa option).

Quote:
Quote:
After installation of the LXpanel "Add to Desktop" does not work.
I don't understand what you mean.

Without LXpanel-pet right click does not give an option "Add to desktop". When LXpanel-pet is installed, I get this option, but it does not add to desktop.

Quote:
Quote:
It's not possible to get only IP from DHCP server and specify DNS IP manually.
It is possible but there is no GUI for that. You have to edit some stuff from /libexec/dhcp-run-hooks.
Thanks for the suggestion. Others have it, please add GUI for this / modify existing.

Quote:
Quote:
Max screen DPI is limited to 108.
Edit .Xresources in your home directory. You can put any dpi value you wish.

Thanks for the suggestion. Others have it, please fix the GUI.

Quote:
Quote:
No GUI to set WatCom tablet, though it somehow works anyway.
Yup. In my experience you only need GUI for tablets (ie, for calibration). For anything else, you can use "xsetwacom" or "xinput".
Thanks for the suggestion. As it's rather rare hardware, making GUI for it can wait, but not forever Smile

Quote:
Quote:
Better description of pets - currently we can see short info and only as a tooltip.
What do you have in mind?
Additional Description0-column in the Pets-table, preferably searchable.

Quote:
Quote:
Click on desktop background should unshade currently shaded icon(s).
This is controlled by openbox. If you can find how to make openbox behaves that way, let me know. (Not that I'm going to do it by default, but we can probably make it as a pet).
I'll let you know.

Quote:
Quote:
Click on desktop background should close "start"-menu.
It does.
It does, unless you switch to double-click desktop.

Quote:
Quote:
HDD installation - copy existing savefile and prompt for boot options.
???
What I meant is that installation better ask if user wants to keep SaveFile contents, change its size and options. It's not unusual that user desides to do HDD installation when he "played" with FatDog for a while and and already has a lot of changes applied.

Quote:
Quote:
I had to install Grub4Dos to specify boot options.
(particularly savefile=direct:device:sda1)
That's why they are called "boot options". You need to specify them from your boot-loader, whatever your choice of boot loader is.
As FatDog provides a feature to do Installation (including setting up some boot loader) it would be natural if it would ask about boot options and put them in the right place.

Quote:
Quote:
Choice of single/double click mode should be available at R-click menu on the desktop.
Unfortunately that's not how Rox works.
I switched my desktop to double-click.

Quote:
Quote:
In the new releases, please verify that it is possible to disable IPV6, especially for the wireless.
IPv6 is disabled by default. You need to explicitly load "ipv6" module to enable it.
I'm glad Smile Please keep it this way.

Quote:
Quote:
"Windows"-btn should open "start"-menu.
Alt-F1 opens "Start" menu.
You can change the key to anything else by editing /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml (if you are running as root).
Thanks for the info. It would be nice to have as default (in addition to Alt+F1?).

Quote:
Quote:
Click on CPU usage in the toolbar should open Task Manager
Yes, nice to have, but probably won't happen unless someone re-writes the CPU usage applet.
I thought it could be handled by OpenBox or something like that.

Quote:
Quote:
Installation should ask if Wifi autoconnect is OK.

You won't be connected to wifi anyway if you don't have the password.
Not really. I got connected to my neibhor's "Guest" wi-fi. Potentially it's security risk, and sometime it's rather inconvenient.

Quote:
Quote:
VMware integration drivers - just to make it easy to try/test.
We cannot redistribute commercial software.
If you have FatDog running in VmWare player (freeware) you can click Install VMware Tools and get VMware CD mounted in your VM as /mnt/sr0 . CD contains VMwareTools.someid.tar.gz and What I would love to have is to start something, which would take care of the rest Smile

Quote:
Quote:
How to add items (applications, control panel items) to Desktop, how to remove?
All you see in Desktop is "shortcut". You can see all the applications in /usr/share/applications. Drag and drop from there to desktop. You can also drag-and-drop any files / document / folders to the desktop, they will be created as shortcuts to the corresponding files/document/folders. To remove, right-click and then choose "remove item".
It works, though each time after dragging from /usr/share/applications I have to right-click and "Edit Item" to remove ".application" from the name - not good.

Quote:
Quote:
How to create a pet out of existing (debian) package?
Plenty of information in this forum and the wiki, I will not repeat it here again. Please search for it.
Before asking I read http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/pet-package.html and did not find the answer to my question. Let me re-phrase: what are exact steps to make a pet out of debian package file (deb)? Can such conversion be automated/scripted?

FatDog64 comes very close to being perfect. My concern (and I hope yours) is to make it free of concerns/problems/difficulties. I tried several Linux distributions and found FatDog the best (both conceptually and in its implementation).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3616
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2012, 19:53    Post subject: GParted missing a key feature.  

@Fatdog Developers

Should the next FATDOG be contributed, would you please add the GPArted feature for Partition Recovery, please. It has no negatives or downsides. But, I sure you agree, this has potentilal "But-saving" benefit. This feature should be OOTB, for no user should be confused why it doesn't work or is missing.

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alexei

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2012, 00:39    Post subject:  

Click on desktop background should close "start"-menu.
Sorry, I double-checked - it does work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2012, 06:44    Post subject: Re: GParted missing a key feature.  

gcmartin wrote:
@Fatdog Developers

Should the next FATDOG be contributed, would you please add the GPArted feature for Partition Recovery, please. It has no negatives or downsides. But, I sure you agree, this has potentilal "But-saving" benefit. This feature should be OOTB, for no user should be confused why it doesn't work or is missing.

Thanks in advance.

gpart is now in the pet repo and will be built into next release of Fatdog if / when it is released. Please note that I have not tested whether this tool works - for all you know it may cause worse corruption! Unless you have personally tested this tool and confirmed that it works, please do not advertise it as a working recovery tool. I got the source from Debian as the original author stopped maintaining it long time ago.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 136
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2012, 08:15    Post subject:  

Hello Kirk & jamesbond

If you do an updated Fatdog, could I request an update to VLC, please?

VLC 2.01 has a bug which is a bit of a nuisance. From time to time something in it grabs the keyboard input. Then spacebar opens the media menu rather than pausing the video, and the keyboard navigation stops working.

Oddly, it also caused a problem typing URLs in Opera. It turned out that Opera was loading the VLC plugin. Disabling the plugin fixed the probem in Opera.

I think the bug was fixed in VLC 2.02 because it has this in the changelog: * Fix for key events and focus loss

This week they have released VLC 2.04

Fatdog + VLC is my favourite way of playing back my recordings from satellite.

With XRANDR panning and gamma and the updated lxpanel to autohide the taskbar, I can almost get VLC to do sizing/cropping/centreing the way I want it, for both HD and SD recordings.

Thank you for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 23 [332 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1469s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]