Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 23:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
CUPS for older Epson D78 printer
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
prolerat

Joined: 15 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 16:17    Post subject:  CUPS for older Epson D78 printer
Subject description: Difficulty when displaying printer and admin pages
 

Hi , I had no probs getting CUPS printing to work in OpenSUSE and Ubuntu but in the livedisc Puppy Slacko I gt after a spell returned the following pages, for admin or printe or any of the other tags I hit,
"The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection. Please try again."
I tried with the firewall down just in case this was the problem but to no avail.
I tried the following from your help pages,in the rxvt terminal emulator (the only terminal I can find)
#cups-config --version
it returned
1.3.11
then
#/etc/init.d/cups status
it returned
cups:scheduler is running
then
#/etc/init.d/cups start
returned
cups:started scheduler
I have no idea what any of this means as I am a newbie.
Can you assist in solving the problem please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 16:38    Post subject: Re: CUPS for older Epson D78 printer
Subject description: Difficulty when displaying printer and admin pages
 

prolerat wrote:
#cups-config --version
it returned 1.3.11

Slacko has CUPS 1.4, NOT 1.3.11.

You said that you are running off the Live CD. Does that mean that you also have a savefile somewhere? I'm going to assume that you have installed CUPS 1.3.11 for some reason and your printing system is corrupted.

When you boot off the Live CD, use the boot code "puppy pfix=ram". Reinstall your printer and verify that it still works.

Once you mess up the printing system, the only safe way to fix it is by starting a new savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 16:49    Post subject: Re: CUPS for older Epson D78 printer
Subject description: Difficulty when displaying printer and admin pages
 

rcrsn51 wrote:
prolerat wrote:
#cups-config --version
it returned 1.3.11

Slacko has CUPS 1.4, NOT 1.3.11.

You said that you are running off the Live CD. Does that mean that you also have a savefile somewhere? I'm going to assume that you have installed CUPS 1.3.11 for some reason and your printing system is corrupted.

When you boot off the Live CD, use the boot code "puppy pfix=ram". Reinstall your printer and verify that it still works.

Once you mess up the printing system, the only safe way to fix it is by starting a new savefile.


Please be aware that `command-config' normally means a script like ` pkg-config ' that is used for compiling mainly by configure scripts to check for versions .

cups-config should be part of the devx.sfs i think : /mnt/devx_430.sfs.9387/usr/bin/cups-config ..

This might indicate a cups mismatch of the slacko_devx.sfs OR the wrong devx.sfs is loaded (forced by renaming the .sfs OR accidentally by sfs_load_on_the_fly/initrd.gz) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 16:53    Post subject: Re: CUPS for older Epson D78 printer
Subject description: Difficulty when displaying printer and admin pages
 

Karl Godt wrote:
Please be aware that `command-config' normally means a script like ` pkg-config ' that is used for compiling mainly by configure scripts to check for versions .

cups-config should be part of the devx.sfs i think : /mnt/devx_430.sfs.9387/usr/bin/cups-config ..

This might indicate a cups mismatch of the slacko_devx.sfs OR the wrong devx.sfs is loaded (forced by renaming the .sfs OR accidentally by sfs_load_on_the_fly/initrd.gz) .


@Karl: Did you try typing the command yourself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 00:25    Post subject:  

I have upgraded on my Puppy-4 installation :
3. CUPS 1.3.9 stable release :http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=286823#286823
Code:
cat `which cups-config`

#! /bin/sh
#
# "$Id: cups-config.in 6649 2007-07-11 21:46:42Z mike $"
#
# CUPS configuration utility.
#
# Copyright 2007 by Apple Inc.
# Copyright 2001-2006 by Easy Software Products, all rights reserved.
#
# These coded instructions, statements, and computer programs are the
# property of Apple Inc. and are protected by Federal copyright
# law. Distribution and use rights are outlined in the file "LICENSE.txt"
# which should have been included with this file. If this file is
# file is missing or damaged, see the license at "http://www.cups.org/".
#

VERSION="1.3.9"
APIVERSION="1.3"

prefix=/
exec_prefix=/usr
bindir=/usr/bin
includedir=/usr/include
libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
imagelibdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
datarootdir=/usr/share
datadir=/usr/share
sysconfdir=/etc
cups_datadir=/usr/share/cups
cups_serverbin=/usr/lib/cups
cups_serverroot=/etc/cups
INSTALLSTATIC=

# flags for C++ compiler:
CFLAGS=""
LDFLAGS=""
LIBS=" -lssl -lcrypto -lz -lpthread -lm -lcrypt "
IMGLIBS="-ltiff -ljpeg -lpng"

# Check for local invocation...
selfdir=`dirname $0`

if test -f "$selfdir/cups/cups.h"; then
CFLAGS="-I$selfdir"
LDFLAGS="-L$selfdir/cups -L$selfdir/filter $LDFLAGS"
libdir="$selfdir/cups"
imagelibdir="$selfdir/filter"
if test ! -f "$selfdir/cups/raster.h"; then
ln -s ../filter/raster.h "$selfdir/cups"
fi
else
if test $includedir != /usr/include; then
CFLAGS="$CFLAGS -I$includedir"
fi

if test $libdir != /usr/lib -a $libdir != /usr/lib32 -a $libdir != /usr/lib64; then
LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS -L$libdir"
fi
fi


usage ()
{
echo "Usage: cups-config --api-version"
echo " cups-config --cflags"
echo " cups-config --datadir"
echo " cups-config --help"
echo " cups-config --ldflags"
echo " cups-config [--image] [--static] --libs"
echo " cups-config --serverbin"
echo " cups-config --serverroot"
echo " cups-config --version"

exit $1
}

if test $# -eq 0; then
usage 1
fi

# Parse command line options
static=no
image=no

while test $# -gt 0; do
case $1 in
--api-version)
echo $APIVERSION
;;
--cflags)
echo $CFLAGS
;;
--datadir)
echo $cups_datadir
;;
--help)
usage 0
;;
--image)
image=yes
;;
--ldflags)
echo $LDFLAGS
;;
--libs)
if test $static = no; then
if test $image = no; then
echo -lcups $LIBS
else
echo -lcupsimage -lcups $IMGLIBS $LIBS
fi
else
if test $image = no; then
echo $libdir/libcups.a $LIBS
else
echo $imagelibdir/libcupsimage.a $libdir/libcups.a $IMGLIBS $LIBS
fi
fi
;;
--serverbin)
echo $cups_serverbin
;;
--serverroot)
echo $cups_serverroot
;;
--static)
if test -z "$INSTALLSTATIC"; then
echo "WARNING: Static libraries not installed!" >&2
else
static=yes
fi
;;
--version)
echo $VERSION
;;
*)
usage 1
;;
esac

shift
done

#
# End of "$Id: cups-config.in 6649 2007-07-11 21:46:42Z mike $".
#

Code:
cups-config

Quote:
Usage: cups-config --api-version
cups-config --cflags
cups-config --datadir
cups-config --help
cups-config --ldflags
cups-config [--image] [--static] --libs
cups-config --serverbin
cups-config --serverroot
cups-config --version

Code:
cups-config --version

Quote:
1.3.9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prolerat

Joined: 15 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 12:47    Post subject: CUPS for older Epson D78 printer  

Thanks for all your help.I made a new version of puppy and it worked as you said .I think I must have corrupted the original cups by trying to download over it.I am ne wto linux and haven't a clue with command lines.I intend to play about with some of the newbie instructions to get familiar with this.I am kinda old so needed to be able to print stuff for reference as I forget what I have already done.
Problem solved now thanks for all your speedy assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8554
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 13:12    Post subject:  

Glad to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0657s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]