Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 21:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko 5.4 - FINAL 2 Dec 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 08:33    Post subject:  

Billtoo

I know you have the wbar setup but I have a menu quick fix;
Code:
for i in /usr/share/applications/kde4/* ; do sed -i 's| -caption "||' $i;done
Run that in a terminial; then..
Code:
fixmenus
Then they run. Will work in precise too.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 08:39    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Billtoo

I know you have the wbar setup but I have a menu quick fix;
Code:
for i in /usr/share/applications/kde4/* ; do sed -i 's| -caption "||' $i;done
Run that in a terminial; then..
Code:
fixmenus
Then they run. Will work in precise too.


I applied the fix, switched to jwm and kde games launch from the menu now.
I'll give it a try in precise later, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 10:32    Post subject: Slacko - beta[5.4]  

Full install - non PAE version to ext4 partition

Removed Opera
Installed Seamonkey 2.13-beta6
Added following
Wbar
Abiword 2.9.1
Audacious
Xscreensaver
Roxterm
Pupclockset
Shermans Aquarium
Puppybrowser
Flashplayer
Bibletime
Tcl-8.56
Tk-8.56
Libreoffice 3.60
missing libraries libgnutls.so.26 and libtasn1.so.3

Boots very fast and all additions working - no problems to report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 11:01    Post subject: Slacko - beta [5.4]
Subject description: Seamonkey script
 

In your release notes you mentioned a script to download the latest version of seamonkey or firefox. Where can I find copy of this script?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 11:28    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Mine says 27 degrees all the time, in both versions of slacko and precise, no matter how much is going on so it can't be working.

Have you installed the lm_sensors package?

What processor do you have? Some CPUs don't provide any useful temperature info to Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 12:35    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

peebee, good one, plenty will like chromium. Thanks for heads up on the flash work around too, even though the version I included is the older 10 version, it's the one woof grabbed automatically, worked for me so I never gave it a second thought. There is a later 10 version I can force in woof, which I'll do.


I just installed Chrome Version 22.0.1229.79.

Another way to get rid of the outdated Flash message is to simply disable it (the older Flash) in "about:plugins" which allows the use of the native Chrome Flash.
Chrome 22.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.25 KB
 Viewed   887 Time(s)

Chrome 22.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 13:38    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
Mine says 27 degrees all the time, in both versions of slacko and precise, no matter how much is going on so it can't be working.

Have you installed the lm_sensors package?

What processor do you have? Some CPUs don't provide any useful temperature info to Puppy.


It's a 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz
I just installed your CPUtemp-1.5.pet and it gives more info now but it's still stuck on 27 degrees it seems

EDIT: I ran CPUtemp in the terminal and it is working now.

thanks
capture750.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.44 KB
 Viewed   836 Time(s)

capture750.jpg

cputemp.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.06 KB
 Viewed   825 Time(s)

cputemp.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 14:48    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
EDIT: I ran CPUtemp in the terminal and it is working now.

You probably didn't have lm_sensors installed. On the next reboot, you may have both temperature applets running in the tray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 14:54    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
EDIT: I ran CPUtemp in the terminal and it is working now.

You probably didn't have lm_sensors installed. On the next reboot, you may have both temperature applets running in the tray.


Yes, I do, thanks again.
flames.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   4.18 KB
 Viewed   800 Time(s)

flames.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 20:57    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

I have messaged radky bigpup. I'm sure he'll set me straight as to whether he can add something or I need to add something for PupControl. It will get sorted.

This was the same problem using PupControl in Lucid Puppy. I think playdayz had every item, in preferences, have something selected by default. (if there was something to select) Not sure if anything was done concerning preference items that there was no program for. It at least made most of the stuff show in the main tabs of PupControl.
This is only a problem when you first use PupControl and have not set preferences.
Thanks for quick response to issue.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 21:23    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.3.6.0
frugal + save file on HD

menu->Graphics->Utilities->MtPaint-snapshot screen capture not working.
No response when selected.

From change log
Quote:
removed mtpaint-snapshot.sh

Why did you do this?

This seems to prevent using MtPaint to edit images. If you try to open an image with MtPaint, it says it needs mtpaint-snapshot.sh

I use this program a lot. Probably too much!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 21:43    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.3.6.0
frugal + save file on HD

Pcur cursor selector

Says you need to install some cursor themes.
Run PPM and look in Desktop category.

I look in PPM, but see no cursor themes to install.

Just an observation about PPM.
For a new user, not sure if it is a good idea to give them any repository choices in the beginning. Just have puppy slacko as the only one showing.
They can configure to show others when they understand how to use PPM.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 21:54    Post subject:  

PeasyScale isn't showing up in the menus. The correct category is X-GraphicUtility. The PET here has it right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5373
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 22:02    Post subject:  

From the change log
Quote:
added ??? (surprise)

Nice. I like it! Shocked Very Happy Cool Idea Smile Exclamation Exclamation

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 22:30    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Pcur cursor selector ..
I'll remove it

bigpup wrote:
Just an observation about PPM.
For a new user, not sure if it is a good idea to give them any repository choices in the beginning. Just have puppy slacko as the only one showing.
I did have it like that mainly because of a bug. I fixed that bug and it was accepted upstream. I think I'll leave it, but I'll try and have the slacko repo first, note that many progs wont work as I haven't uploaded compatible ones yet, waiting on a resolution for a different issue from upstairs.

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
removed mtpaint-snapshot.sh

Why did you do this?.
Because screeny is better. It will open a snap in mtpaint (may make that default) and it will take window shots, and it will auto scale for forum compatibility. Screeny will be mapped to 'print screen' key, and it was oversight to leave in the desktop file for mtpainsnapshot.sh

rcrsn51 wrote:
PeasyScale isn't showing up in the menus. ..

Oh.. I updated my entire woof tree, forgot that.. thanks

bigpup wrote:
Nice. I like it!..
Me too.. it's only 13M gz compressed, just a printing bug to resolve.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0957s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0100s) ][ GZIP on ]