Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 03:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko 5.4 - FINAL 2 Dec 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 33 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1667
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 20:19    Post subject: Java that works ih 5.4  

http://208.109.22.214/puppy/posting.php?mode=reply&t=62939&sid=2c118f768e1738708db151daa3f448b8
works fine in Slacko 5.4 on bootable USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2054
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 02:42    Post subject: Slacko - beta2 [5.4]
Subject description: slacko 5365 non pae on emachines laptop
 

Manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive running on an emachines
D620 laptop pc.
Report Video 1.4 - Tue 30 Oct 2012 on Slacko Puppy 5.3.6.5-Linux 3.2.31-4g i686

Chip description:
5.0 VGA compatible controller:ATI Technologies IncRS690M[Radeon X1200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS690 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1280x800 pixels (338x211 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor X.Org R300 Project
Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
48 frames in 5.1 seconds = 9.421 FPS
53 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10.572 FPS
56 frames in 5.0 seconds = 11.169 FPS
Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Memory 1812MB (101MB used)
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY

The FPS is really low but videos play fine in VLC and GnomeMplayer.

EDIT: It is working great on this laptop.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   63.15 KB
 Viewed   1776 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 16:19    Post subject:  

Billto - Beautiful picture on above post. Can you provide link. I would like to add to my collection

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2054
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 21:24    Post subject:  

majorfoo wrote:
Billto - Beautiful picture on above post. Can you provide link. I would like to add to my collection

thanks


Hi majorfoo, here's the link:

http://nature.desktopnexus.com/wallpaper/1222684/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 31 Oct 2012, 02:37    Post subject:  

Thanks, Bill. With enormous restraint, I'll resist the temptation to make the obvious suggestion. However, judging by recent feedback, a lot of correspondents are going to thank you for this link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 02:49    Post subject:  

Had another old box off the shelf so...... Slacko 5.3.6.5 live..... P3..... 256 mb ram ......no swap.

Sound,internet and display working on boot. A bit slow booting but not bad once loaded.

# report-video
Report Video 1.4 - Thu 1 Nov 2012 on Slacko Puppy 5.3.6.5 - Linux 3.2.31-4g i686

Chip description:
1.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)
oem: Intel(R) 8xx Chipset Video BIOS
product: Intel(R) 8xx Chipset Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver used: intel

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (321x241 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz

-Computer-
Processor : Celeron (Coppermine)
Memory : 253MB (146MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 01 Nov 2012 01:32:15 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on softpipe
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH


-Processor-
Name : Celeron (Coppermine)
Family, model, stepping : 6, 8, 6 (Pentium III/Pentium III Xeon/Celeron)
Vendor : Intel
-Configuration-
Cache Size : 128kb
Frequency : 797.50MHz
BogoMIPS : 1595.46
Byte Order : Little Endian

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 253220 245672 7548 0 19684
-/+ buffers: 225988 27232
Swap: 0 0 0
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 02:59    Post subject:  

Nice test, James. They don't come nastier, cheaper and slower than an 800Celery, esp. with Intel graphics. Somewhere around here I've got an A850. I'll give it a spin in the coming weeks, but I've avoided discrete Intel video cards, so we'll see if we get any nV or Radeon issues! Hope for the future now that AMD have formed an alliance with ARM. Only commercial and mobile stuff initially, but who knows...
[Generally, as reported elsewhere, Precise has also been better than average on my tests. Those default graphics are doomed to send away neophytes, though; it's an unnecessary distraction for those of us who know how to change them.] Slacko & Carolina are shaping up really well, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
withoutpity

Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 04:01    Post subject:
Subject description: Lxpanel and Xfce4-panel 's menu not work
 

Hi micko, I compiled lxpanel and xfce4-panel in this slacko version, but got confused. Some menu items got multiple lines, while in slacko beta1[5.4] both are fine .
I have not get any idea about it . And libunique can not be compile in neither this slacko version or precise puppy 5.4. Maybe woof 's error ?
capture11606.png
Description  xfce4-panel
png

 Download 
Filename  capture11606.png 
Filesize  125.92 KB 
Downloaded  324 Time(s) 
capture709.png
Description  lxpanel
png

 Download 
Filename  capture709.png 
Filesize  111.74 KB 
Downloaded  307 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7781
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 05:10    Post subject:
Subject description: Lxpanel and Xfce4-panel 's menu not work
 

withoutpity wrote:
Hi micko, I compiled lxpanel and xfce4-panel in this slacko version, but got confused. Some menu items got multiple lines, while in slacko beta1[5.4] both are fine .
I have not get any idea about it . And libunique can not be compile in neither this slacko version or precise puppy 5.4. Maybe woof 's error ?

In /usr/share/applications delete the kde4 symlink, it was a bad idea and is going in the next version. That might fix your menu woes.

As for libunique.. what errors are you getting trying to compile it? As long as depends are satisfied I can't see why it wont work. Take a look at slackbuilds,org and see if a slackbuild exists. They work fine but they don't build a final slackware package unless you install pkgtools from the PPM.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4970
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 22:31    Post subject:  

Slacko beta2 k3.2.31 [opera, NO PAE]

PupRadio

Select help button.
Get no response, nothing.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2054
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 19:18    Post subject: Slacko - beta2 [5.4]
Subject description: slacko 5365 non pae on acer netbook
 

Manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive running on an acer aspire
one netbook pc.
Report Video 1.4 - Fri 2 Nov 2012 on Slacko Puppy 5.3.6.5 -Linux 3.2.31-4g i686

Chip description:
5.0 VGA compatible controller:ATITechnologiesIncM880G[Mobility Radeon HD4200]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS880M 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver used: fglrx

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
Version 3.3.11653 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
7228 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1445.563 FPS
7606 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1521.170 FPS
7265 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1450.555 FPS
Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Memory 1812MB (155MB used)
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n
No problems.
EDIT:I made some changes, kept jwm but added wbar and some other stuff then copied it all to a 16gb flash drive.
screenshot3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.09 KB
 Viewed   864 Time(s)

screenshot3.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.29 KB
 Viewed   978 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Sat 03 Nov 2012, 07:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
withoutpity

Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 21:22    Post subject:
Subject description: Lxpanel and Xfce4-panel 's menu not work
 

01micko wrote:

In /usr/share/applications delete the kde4 symlink, it was a bad idea and is going in the next version. That might fix your menu woes.

As for libunique.. what errors are you getting trying to compile it? As long as depends are satisfied I can't see why it wont work. Take a look at slackbuilds,org and see if a slackbuild exists. They work fine but they don't build a final slackware package unless you install pkgtools from the PPM.


Yes micko,after deleting the kde4 symlink in /usr/share/applications, ether menu items in lxpanel or xfce-panel are corect now.
Libunique still can not be compiled. I found the slackbuild and run configure with parameters in the slackbuild, but still failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7781
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 21:53    Post subject:
Subject description: Lxpanel and Xfce4-panel 's menu not work
 

withoutpity wrote:

Libunique still can not be compiled. I found the slackbuild and run configure with parameters in the slackbuild, but still failed.


It can if you use the SlackBuild Wink

You will find in /tmp/SBo a dir with the name libunique-package or similar and in it will be the compiled code, unless you install pkgtools from PPM in which case you will get a tgz package in /tmp.

NOTE: the SlackBuild tarball contains a critical patch, probably why it would not compile for you.

SlackBuilds have a very high success rate for me. If I ever get stuck it's the first place to look.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
withoutpity

Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 03:04    Post subject:
Subject description: Lxpanel and Xfce4-panel 's menu not work
 

01micko wrote:

It can if you use the SlackBuild Wink

You will find in /tmp/SBo a dir with the name libunique-package or similar and in it will be the compiled code, unless you install pkgtools from PPM in which case you will get a tgz package in /tmp.

NOTE: the SlackBuild tarball contains a critical patch, probably why it would not compile for you.

SlackBuilds have a very high success rate for me. If I ever get stuck it's the first place to look.

Oh thank you micko, with two patch in slackbuild I compiled libunique. Many thanks to you !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4970
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 17:41    Post subject:  

Shutdown problems when not saving to a save file.
Saving to entire partition.

Barry has posted a fix.
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00006

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 33 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1012s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0130s) ][ GZIP on ]