Please help me make a custom puppy os

Booting, installing, newbie
Gary Flynn

Please help me make a custom puppy os

#1 Post by Gary Flynn »

I am a linux newbie. I installed puppyos and it seems very promising, but I have not been able to make a custom puppy installation.

I am trying to make a bare bones (for me) puppy installation and I have had serious trouble so far.

I want a system with only the latest versions of:
An administrator account that either boots directly in or needs no password
Open Office
Firefox
+a pdf viewer
+flash
+java
+some extensions that I'd like to choose
Some DVD/Video/Media/Mp3 player
An emule client
A bittorrent client
Preset for my internet connection
With the ability to add new packages as I choose.

Even if the easiest way to get this is difficult, I would like to do it if I can get moderately clear instructions.

Thanks in advance

Sit Heel Speak

#2 Post by Sit Heel Speak »

(Deleted by poster. Too snarly. I've had a rough couple of weeks.)
Last edited by Sit Heel Speak on Fri 19 May 2006, 06:07, edited 1 time in total.

Gary Flynn

What I'm running

#3 Post by Gary Flynn »

I hope this is easier than the other thread.

I am running an amd 2800 processor and a radeon video card. I'll check on the exact model.

750megs of ram.

I have a linux ext3 partition on an external hard drive 10gig (sda2)
And a 1 gig swap drive (sda3)

sda1 is a vfat 190 or so gigs that I can share between my main xp system.

I do not want to dual boot.

When I say I installed it, I meant I booted into puppylinux from the live cd.

The goal is to make a livecd that boots to my system.

slvrldy17

A custom puppy...

#4 Post by slvrldy17 »