Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 14:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dpup Wheezy. Woof-CE built debian wheezy 7.2 packages used
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 46 [686 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1775
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 05:06    Post subject:  

pemasu, fonts in Wheezy look a 'lil bit different.

I got them to look like Xfce's default, by deleting /etc/fonts/local.conf and using this ~/.Xdefaults:
Code:
Xft.antialias: true
Xft.rgba: rgb
Xft.hinting: true
Xft.hintstyle: hintslight


I removed the DPI line, because auto-detection works fine - I see no reason to force it.

Also, adding 70-no-bitmaps.conf to /etc/fonts/conf.d seems to solve font issues with Mozilla applications.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 05:26    Post subject:  

Iguleder. Thanks for you input and thanks for testing and visiting here. I always feel grateful for your work and input.

I tested your changes. I believe you meant .Xresources not .Xdefaults ?
.Xresources is the place whery woof2 ( Barry K ) creates the forcing dpi value.
Code:
DPILINE="$(grep '^Xft\.dpi:' rootfs-complete/root/.Xresources)"
DPIVALUE=$(echo -n "$DPILINE" | tr '\t' ' ' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 2 -d ' ')
#if [ $DPIVALUE -lt 96 ];then
 echo
 echo "rootfs-complete/root/.Xresources has this line:"
 echo "$DPILINE"
 echo "which sets the displayed size of fonts on the screen (but not bitmap fonts)."

Mozilla ie Firefox seems much better. Otherwise I have noticed that what is good font outlook for one....can be not so good for other. I am not the best to evaluate with my presbyopia. I need big and fat font so that my eyes wont tire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1775
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 05:41    Post subject:  

Here's a sample, it's a 64-bit Wheezy-based distro.

It doesn't matter which file you use (.Xdefaults or .Xresources), as long as you don't have conflicting settings.
fonts.png
 Description   
 Filesize   35.7 KB
 Viewed   519 Time(s)

fonts.png


_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 06:18    Post subject:  

Pemasu, concerning my report that I have to type xwin during startup .... I
didn't realize that it was actually requiring xorgwizard and my selection of
video driver. That info was not on the screen. Once I set it up for my ATI
driver and selected screen resolution, everything was ok. The initial
startup screen needs a bit of clarification work. The odd thing is that it
seemed to be selecting the ATI driver without my intervention so it didn't
occur to me to run xorgwizard at first.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 06:26    Post subject:  

Artsown. You could report or give url link to your post to the Barry`s blog. I am sure he is interested how it goes with different graphics and what suggestions people have.

For me it goes straight to desktop with intel graphics.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3786
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 07:08    Post subject:  

Hi.

Hopefully, this is not a repeat of someone else's post.

I get a long description of my video card at the top of my xerrs.log file (see attached). Why is it there? Is it an error?

Also, it seems that I am running a 64-bit WheezyPup on a 32-bit machine? How is this possible?

xerrs.log, generally, is scraping up a lot of non-errors as well as errors.
For example, errors concerning older gtk themes that work perfectly.

Which makes you want to debug your Puppy, of course, even if some things do not need to be de-bugged.

Obviously, one could save a lot of time NOT trying to debug NON-errors.

Also obvious: a big error file is not good for Puppy's reputation among new users.

Not to mention that some Puppy-ists with not enough knowledge about Puppy will jump on your code and on your back saying "haha, you committed errors", when maybe there are none.

So, this xerrs.log thing is a human relations and image thing as well as a technical thing. In any case...

I'd be grateful for any clarification. Thanks in advance.

musher0

PS. There is no need to answer the part about the presence in xerrs.log of the report-video in French. I asked don570 already, since he is the author.
xerrs.log.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  xerrs.log.zip 
Filesize  2.12 KB 
Downloaded  65 Time(s) 

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 07:33    Post subject:  

Quote:
I get a long description of my video card at the top of my xerrs.log file (see attached). Why is it there? Is it an error?

I get the usual xerrs.log report about xorg and graphics. I havent hacked any of woof2 scripts to provide more reports. The kernel has the usual verbosity lowering patch and so on...
Quote:
Also, am I running a 64-bit WheezyPup on a 32-bit machine? How is this possible?

Because Dpup Wheezy is 32 bit build. So it do run fine in 32-bit machine.
Quote:
It seems that xerrs.log, generally, is scraping up a lot of non-errors as well as errors. Which makes you want to debug your Puppy, of course, even if some things do not need to be de-bugged.

None of that is my doing. I havent added any extra error reporting. It comes to individual apps and scripts how they do suppress the verbose reporting.
Quote:
Obviously, one could save a lot of time NOT trying to debug NON-errors.
Also obvious: a big error file is not good for Puppy's reputation among new users.

I concur. Do you have a suggestion how to accomplish this. I am more or less stressed if some repetitive error pollutes the xerrs.log so that it growths to several Mb`s in size.
I have now uptime over 6 hours and xerrs.log is 5438 bytes....not kilobytes or megabytes. So....I am not stressed.

And thank you of the feedback. It sounds like you got the Dpup Wheezy booting to the desktop.

My neighbor had hell of the party last night lasting to the 9.00 am. I have slept 3 hours last night (not participating but listening the tremendous noice). I dont have my usual tolerance today....so forget what I post today.....I am also filling tax papers even though my head is full of smoke and haze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:09    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu, here's some more stress to you, have a look at it at your convenience.
Fresh boot, pfix=ram, upgarded flash via flashget, below is my xerrs log: strange that it's trying to open "libvdpau_nvidia.so" - this eeepc doesn't have nvidia, it's Intel based. Why icewm menu is being updated? Why there's an icewm folder in the root directory, I'm quite happy with jwm.
Code:
X.Org X Server 1.12.4
Release Date: 2012-08-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.32-5-686-bigmem i686 Debian
Current Operating System: Linux puppypc14648 3.5.2-dpup #1 SMP Mon Aug 20 20:32:41 AST 2012 i686
Kernel command line: video=640x480 psubdir=Wheezy3526 pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram nosmp
Build Date: 17 April 2013  11:13:16AM
xorg-server 2:1.12.4-6 (Julien Cristau <jcristau@debian.org>)
Current version of pixman: 0.26.0
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sat May 11 13:31:39 2013
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
FATAL: Module fbcon not found.
ls: cannot access /root/.pup_event: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/jwm
cat: /root/.packages/user-installed-packages: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/quicksetup: line 878: 11751 Terminated              yaf-splash -bg orange -fg black -placement center -close never -fontsize large -icon /usr/share/doc/puppylogo96.png -text "$WELCOMEMSG"
/usr/sbin/quicksetup: line 1512: 13362 Terminated              yaf-splash -bg orange -close never -fontsize large -text "$(gettext 'Processing, please wait...')"
/usr/sbin/delayedrun: line 193: welcome1stboot: command not found
Playing Sparc Audio '/usr/share/audio/2barks.au' : Mu-Law, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
killall: acpid: no process killed
++ cat /etc/acpi/turbo-brightness
+ BRIGHT=9
+ echo 9
/etc/acpi/turbo.sh: line 6: /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness: No such file or directory
+ which acpitool
/usr/bin/acpitool
+ [[ 0 != 0 ]]
+ cpufreq-set -g performance -c0
+ cpufreq-set -g performance -c1
Error setting new values. Common errors:
- Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
- Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
- Trying to set an invalid policy?
- Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
   for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
   or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?
+ cpufreq-set -g performance -c2
Error setting new values. Common errors:
- Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
- Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
- Trying to set an invalid policy?
- Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
   for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
   or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?
+ cpufreq-set -g performance -c3
Error setting new values. Common errors:
- Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
- Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
- Trying to set an invalid policy?
- Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
   for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
   or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?
+ echo turbo
EXIT="Exit on timeout"
VIDEO REPORT: Dpup Wheezy, version 3.5.2.6 Chip description: VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03) Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03) Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf: Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x600 Depth (bits, or planes): 24 Modules requested to be loaded: synaptics dbe Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log): Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb fbdevhw glx kbd mouse record synaptics Actual rendering on monitor: Resolution: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters) Depth: 24 planes ...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
+ gtkdialog-splash -timeout 3 -placement top -bg lightblue -text 'Switching to Low Power Mode'
EXIT="Exit on timeout"
++ cat /etc/acpi/powersave-brightness
+ BRIGHT=9
+ echo 9
/etc/acpi/powersave.sh: line 7: /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness: No such file or directory
++ tr -d :
++ cut -f3 '-d '
++ tail -n 1
++ grep 'analyzing CPU'
++ cpufreq-info
+ CPUS=0
++ eval echo '{0..0}'
+++ echo 0
+ for i in '$(eval echo {0..${CPUS}})'
+ cpufreq-set -g powersave -c0
+ echo powersave
cat: /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/model_name: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/petget: line 350: kill: (16411) - No such process

(firefox:23799): GLib-GIO-WARNING **: Failed to execute child process "update-desktop-database" (No such file or directory)
x="1"
y="2"
EXIT="done"
EXIT="OK"
EXIT="ok"
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.2.202.280/install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
NEWVERSION=11.2.202.280
/usr/sbin/getflash: line 39:  5215 Terminated              LANG=$LANG_USER gtkdialog-splash -fontsize "large" -icon $MYICON --placement center -bg $BGCOLOR -timeout $TIMEOUT -close never -text "$@"
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
/usr/sbin/getflash: line 39:  5701 Terminated              LANG=$LANG_USER gtkdialog-splash -fontsize "large" -icon $MYICON --placement center -bg $BGCOLOR -timeout $TIMEOUT -close never -text "$@"  (wd: /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins)
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

It is induced by Firefox. Seamonkey creates the same error in Precise Puppy, Upup Precise and Upup Raring also.
Nothing I can do for it. Ignore it as much as you can. I have done so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:50    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
my head is full of smoke and haze.

You mean tobacco smoke, not something our American friends are smoking? Them gringos chew their tobacco and smoke plants, they grow in their backyards. Go figure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
You mean tobacco smoke

Nope, no dope. I mean mental smoke induced by sleeplessness. Or insomnia due to terrible noice called heavy music.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3786
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 10:25    Post subject:  

Thanks pemasu for taking the time for feedback and info. (For the other problem: will some aspirin work?)
Yes, I boot to the desktop, and everything else is fine in WheezyPup. As I said previously, WheezyPup 3.5.2.5 is the most stable Puppy since Puppy 4.31 adn dpup 4.84, IMO.

Thanks anikin for re-assuring me that there is "more than one person in the bathtub" ! The more we are in the bathtub, the less we are likely to drown! Smile (Sarcastic proverb in my country)

I get mostly the same thing as you in my xerrs.log.

Three cheers for errors real and imagined ! Twisted Evil

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3786
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 10:55    Post subject:  

Hello, again.

pemasu wrote:
(...) Do you have a suggestion how to accomplish this. I am more or less stressed if some repetitive error pollutes the xerrs.log so that it growths to several Mb`s in size.
I have now uptime over 6 hours and xerrs.log is 5438 bytes....not kilobytes or megabytes. So....I am not stressed.


One suggestion is to insert the word "quiet" just after vmlinuz in the boot command. Like this:

Code:
title Wheezy 3.5.2.5
root (hd1,1)
kernel (hd1,1)/wheezypup/lancement/vmlinuz quiet pmedia=satahd root=/dev/ram0 pdev1=sda2 psubdir=wheezypup psave=chr130213.2fs max_loop=14 ramdisk_size=192000
initrd (hd1,1)/wheezypup/lancement/initrd.gz
boot

(excerpt from my grub4dos)

With this little extra command, the xerrs.log starts at 3883 bytes instead of the double.

Thanks again for your orientation.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 11:14    Post subject:  

I have hunted the scripts with "set -x" inside. In /etc/acpi several scripts had it.
Okay...removing "set -x" from those scripts removes a lot "noise" from /tmp/xerrs.log.

I will go through all scripts now with search functions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 11:33    Post subject:  

Okay. I hunted most left over "set -x" debugging command included scripts. Not many....but at least those /etc/acpi scripts produce quite a lot verbose messages which accumulate to the xerrs.log. They are not errors, but disabling that "noise" cleans xerrs.log a lot.

I noticed that libpoppler was left out. It was due to my experimenting pdf readerless build. Using Firefox inbuild pdfreader. But....Cups...Abiword...LibreOffice....heaven knows what else needs it. You cant live without poppler...if you want to print.

I will create 3.5.2.7 version this evening and upload it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 46 [686 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1003s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]