Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 21:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Which Puppy should I choose?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2944
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 11:55    Post_subject:  

Well, that's not what Puppy *says* in the shutdown screen.

@ggg: you sound like a bot.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2944
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 28 Aug 2012, 00:11    Post_subject:  

Any more suggestions, for Puppies I might try?
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 28 Aug 2012, 01:09    Post_subject:  

Les Kerf wrote:
starhawk wrote:
... and CD save files don't work on laptops with Slacko....


Hmmm.... I'm running Slacko 533 on my Acer ASpire laptop from a live CD with the save file on the CD. It seems to work fine.
Les


Some laptop drives can't cut it when saving back to CD/DVD. I haven't tried it for awhile but I think Barry has a warning about that.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2944
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 28 Aug 2012, 11:58    Post_subject:  

Well, the drive in this laptop is not the original -- which was failing when I got it -- but one I got off eBay to replace it.

The current drive is a TSST* TS-L532M, apparently originally from an HP DV1000. It's a DVD burner.

*TSST = Toshiba Samsung Storage Technologies Corp.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2944
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 29 Aug 2012, 13:15    Post_subject:  

Trying this --> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79737

My first experience of Linux was with Ubuntu 7.08 Embarassed I ran it on an old Toshiba -- it was a Satellite 1415-S173.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2944
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 29 Aug 2012, 16:43    Post_subject:  

^By "trying" I meant "downloading" Embarassed Posting from within it now, and I am quite impressed.

...a few issues. This particular puplet is originally French and the locale information does not transfer over to English cleanly -- SlickPet still has a French entry in the menu, for example. The "Classic" Network Setup (aka Barry's / Dougal's / Complex Network Setup) is completely broken; a file is missing. The Frisbee option in the Connect Wizard asks to install a pet for what appears to be the latest beta.

Also (about to test this issue in this puplet, will edit this post with the results) when I install ImageMagick from the Pet I found (mentioned earlier in this thread) and then Xara Xtreme, Xara does NOT detect ImageMagick's various files, even though the version requirement is met (Xara needs ImageMagick 6.* or higher). This is a problem because it disables certain features. Can someone provide a more recent PET that is "known good" for Slacko 5.3.3?

I will probably be reporting that behavior as a bug to the Xara team... but I'm concerned that they may say "hey, that's a problem with your distro, go talk to those people" and refuse to help -- which would be very bad.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2944
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 29 Aug 2012, 16:51    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
[snip]
Your safest bet is probably the sfs here
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/XaraXtreme
[snip]


Just now clicked that link. According to the Xara Xtreme website (my OP) that is the latest / beta / "unstable" version.

If there's a PET or SFS of Xara Xtreme 0.7 beta rev.1692, that would be the /stable/ version. Aw heck, I'll try both, since I just downloaded the stable as a tarball...

EDIT: nevermind! The beta/"unstable" version appears to work quite nicely. At least, it recognizes ImageMagick (or simply does not display the error, I'm not sure) -- the "stable" version is completely broken and does not run properly.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2012, 23:28    Post_subject:  

Just wanted to thank all for this thread and whoever made the pet in that link (didn't need the sfs or anything else). Fast download and installation - 'just worked'. Congrats Slacko 533. Don't know if i will install on my regular puppy - it's too easy to just start with a fresh puppy off cd, download the package again and start using it. Don't really have a need at the moment but couldn't resist trying it out. Very intuitive if one is familiar with Corel and that type of drawing (can't recall the name - vector? ). I remember the first time I saw it - drove me nuts (was used to Autocad) until a kind soul explained it.
Thanks again.

_________________
1. Dell Dimension E521, AMD Athln 64, 2 GHz 1.93GB ram,
Puppy 533 on CD, accesses flash drive only,
FFox Nightly12.0
2. Compaq P3 733Hz 375RAM
Printer: Oki C3400 > LAN

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0570s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]