Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Greek Polytonic Keyboard Layout Bug on Slacko 5.3.3?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
paokman


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Athens / Geneva

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2012, 03:22    Post_subject:  Greek Polytonic Keyboard Layout Bug on Slacko 5.3.3?  

I have a Slacko Puppy 5.3.3 save. I went to Setup / Mouse/Keyboard Wizard / Advanced Xorg Keyboard Configuration / Layouts / Add / Greek
and

Layout Variants / Polytonic

and used the alt+shift combination to switch between English US and Greek Polytonic.

Everything works, but, supposedly, when you push shift+either ; or ' and, after that, a vowel you are supposed to get psile or daseia, but that doesn't appear, although I have the proper fonts. The funny thing is that all the other accents (ᾶάὰ) and signs (ᾳ) appear normally.

Can you think of any solution to this problem? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Burunduk

Joined: 21 Aug 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 00:54    Post_subject:  

This is yet another problem with the outdated symbol files in Puppy.

Try to edit the /etc/X11/xkb/symbols/pc/gr file in the Ubuntu way:

Code:
117,118c117,118
<     key <AC10> { [   dead_acute,      dead_horn   ] };
<     key <AC11> { [   dead_grave,      dead_ogonek   ] };
---
>     key <AC10> { [   dead_acute,      dead_psili   ] };
>     key <AC11> { [   dead_grave,      dead_dasia   ] };

(i.e. replace horn with psili and ogonek with dasia.)

Then choose a different layout variant, apply the changes and choose the polytonic layout once again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paokman


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Athens / Geneva

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 08:50    Post_subject:    

I just did what you said and it works fine! Thank you!

ἀἁἄἃᾶἆ etc.

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0460s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]