Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 14:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to control CPU speed of Dell D600?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Softwaregurl

Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 49
Location: a state of mind

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 23:04    Post_subject:  

Awesome. makes me wonder if something in /sys or /proc could convince it to charge the battery? I hope to get back to my script some time. By using min_freq instead of max_freq you could still have some scaling. I started writing it because many older processors only work with the performance module. ttyl
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 23:38    Post_subject: DELL D600 no longer throttled
Sub_title: acpi-cpufreq and echo performance
 

I do not need the cpufreq_ondemand module to always
run the cpu at maximum frequency, nor do I need
to echo anything to max and min frequency.
/root/Startup/start_cpu_freq

modprobe acpi_cpufreq
echo performance /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor

It now runs at 1.6GHz all the time. I have no reason to run it slower
since the laptop does not overheat, or charge the battery. The two
Windows programs that override the BIOS frequency setting do not fix the
charging problem so I doubt cpufreq can help there.

This is immensely easier than in Windows. The module is 7K.

I wonder if my K7 HP does ondemand - it tends to overheat and turn off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 01:15    Post_subject: cpufreq in wary 5.5
Sub_title: setting to 'performance' (max speed always)
 

Edit /etc/init.d/wcpufreq
Change ondemand to performance.
Or change minimum to match maximum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 01:39    Post_subject: cpufreq not working for me in wary 5.5  

Depending whether I select performance or acpi-cpufreq,
/etc/initd./wcpufreq tries to modprobe one of two non-existent
modules. cpufreq-acpi-cpufreq or cpufreq-performance.

If I manually try to imitate what works in puppy 4 in start_cpu_freq and
echo 1600000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpufreq_min_freq
it remains at 600000. Running the cpufreq wizard ends by telling me that
I have a fixed frequency of 600MHz instead of the desired 160000MHz.

I tried choosing ondemand and selecting 1600000 as min. It keeps reverting to 600MHz. I tried removing cpufreq. That did not help either.

Which means I can use Puppy 4 on this computer but puppy 5 is not very useful. I loaded it to try gtk-youtube-viewer, which works at 600MHz but the sound is out of sync. It would work better at 1.6GHz.

Is this a bug or am I neglecting some step? Did someone putting together wary assume that the frequency at which the computer boots is the maximum available
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 21:03    Post_subject: cannot change values in scaling_min_freq  

In puppy 4.1.2 and 4.3.1 and 4.3.2 when I modprobe acpi_cpufreq then manually echo 1600000 > scaling_min_freq or scaling_max_freq (which is what the wizard sets wcpufreq to do) the file contents change from 600000 to 1600000. In wary 5.5 they remain unchanged. These files are writable by root. When i run the cpufreq wizard no matter what I do it ends up telling me I have a fixed frequency of 600.

XP also lets me adjust the speed up to 1600000.

Is there any way around this or should I give up on wary puppy on my D600, which has some messed up hardware and reverts to its lowest cpu speed unless prodded by software to do otherwise? Do precise or racy have this same problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0478s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]