Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 15:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Internet problem -- can Ping but No Browse
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 508

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 10:41    Post subject: Re: Internet problem -- can Ping but No Browse  

cOdePuppy wrote:
Hello,

I'm new here.

I can't connect to the internet from my Puppy Linux.
It can ping yahoo,google but not browse.

How to get internet on this?


Thanks.


Do you get that the connection or session was interrupted?

If so, you may be on one of those ISPs that requires you to sign an agreement before you browse. They trap all attempts to do HTTP and redirect you to the page where they say "click here to agree". Unfortunately, many of them are not doing it right and some browsers see it as an error and don't take you to the page for you to agree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cOdePuppy

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 20
Location: precise-5.7.1

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 23:58    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
.......
I wonder if your ISP is blocking the browser? Also, there are settings in the browser that may help, see the preferences in the browser menu.

..... You'll have to dig around to find those though as many links will be broken.


Installed Firefox 2 from package manager. Not browsing. It's not even browsing ISP's webpages which usually can connect without Internet connection.

Have downloaded some files outside of Puppy packages by gftp, they do download.

Not sure if any special setup require at browsers preference.

Moose On The Loose wrote:

.......Do you get that the connection or session was interrupted?......


It just shows nothing. At bottom left "Waiting for www.google.com..." ... same for other websites.

Does this anything to do with net browsing?
Code:
# netstat -ntlp
Active Internet connections (only servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q    Local Address   Foreign Address      State   PID/Program name
tcp      0     0        0.0.0.0:631       0.0.0.0:*   LISTEN       cupsd

or, the file networks?
Code:
# cat /mnt/etc/networks
loopback  127.0.0.0
puppynet  192.168.1.0

I don't remember anything assigning as puppynet/192.168.1.0 Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0428s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]